We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Palmiers De La Cite
Ranked #16 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Les Palmiers for two nights at the beginning of June. We were made very welcome by Carole, our hostess. Carole speaks excellent English and gave us a map of Carcassonne on which she highlighted
restaurants and places of interest. This bed and breakfast is in a beautiful and quiet position and is lovely, very modern with en suite facilities and exceptionally clean.
The hotel is situated just outside the walls of the Cite and there is a wonderful view especially at night when everywhere is floodlit. Les Palmiers is a ten minute walk from the old Cite albeit a very steep walk.
However inside it is a bustling town with shops and restaurants. We had a lovely meal at one of Carole's recommendations which was very reasonable with good food and we had a lovely view from the terrace.
Carcassonne is a fantastic place to visit and made more special by staying with Carole at Les Palmiers. We hope to return one day.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    26
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
horsham ,west sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Les Palmiers lies in an oasis of green fields between the old city and the new town both of which are a 10 minute walk away. We shared a triple room between myself and two sisters. The bedroom and shower room were both modern and newly decorated with a lovely view over the fields. We had the swimming pool and gardens to ourselves . The breakfast of cereals, croissants and bread was served on the new covered terrace by Carole and all was amazing good value. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jttejn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs, colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Once found, the peacefullness and care shown to the traveler by Carole is extroidinary and far beyond any other place we stayed on our two week trip thruout southern France. Great sized room for two with about a 10 minute walk uphill to the old castle. Spectacular view of the castle from the front porch where I enjoyed a glass of wine and looked on at the lit castle at night and listened to the quietness of the countryside. Highly recommend with a wonderfull innkeeper to boot!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of September. Like others said, it is a bit hard to find, but no more than lots of places in Southern French villages. Having GPS helps to get around. The room was nice. Good size, clean, extras like a desk and free wifi. Breakfast was typical French breakfast with lots of wonderful choices. We ate outside. This place is nice because it is peaceful and rural but right on the edge of town and easy to walk to places as long as you are fit. It is a steep walk to the castle. I was hedging on some places to visit and Carole was helpful with that. She will offer any advice you need in English. I slept like a baby here. I did not feel unsafe walking in this area although it is a bit remote so walking alone might feel scary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during an exploration of southern France. It is a property with large grounds, and our room at least, was pleasant and spacious, with a large bathroom. Carole, the proprietress, was most helpful coming up to the time of the stay, with lots of tips. The property itself has a pleasant swimming pool, and ample parking. Carole serves a nice breakfast in the morning, which you can take at your room or in the dining area with other guests.
For the quirks. It is also a short walk, but moderately challenging walk to the medieval city. I would stay outside the Cite, but it means a steep climb (it was a defensive town after all) to get to the walls. Also, the last 80m to the property is along dark unlit road. Apart from it feeling a bit unsafe, my wife also stumbled on a pothole and sprained her ankle the second evening. There is also no airconditioing in the rooms, which could be an issue at the height of summer.

Overall I would recommend a stay here. The rooms are large and nice, the parking is a plus, Carole was very pleasant and helpful, and you are near to the Cite. But a couple of issues as mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent two nights in this wonderful city. Carole has a beautiful house in a great location below the Cite and within a short walk to the shops, restaurants and bars, with a lovely pool to relax in after spending time exploring. Carole shows you on a map all the sights and gives great tips on when best to visit. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Madame Carole is very welcoming, allowed us to leave our luggage in the room, even though it was not ready as we arrived early, she showed us where the main places where by marking them on maps of the old and new Carcassonne. Carole recommended couple of restaurants
and kindly booked one for us ( see review Auberge des Lices ). Location is really this B&Bs greatest asset in the middle of the new and the old, rooms are clean, good bathroom comfy bed, sun loungers, pool its got the lot. don't expect a big breakfast its continental all the way. The little road leading the Les Palmiers is very dark at night no street lights and on occasions was booby trapped with dog mess so a small torch may be useful.
Had a really nice 3 night stay, would and probably will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trent1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Palmiers De La Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Palmiers De La Cite

Property: Les Palmiers De La Cite
Address: Quartier de l Ile 240 Camin Dels Orts, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the medieval city and near the city centre, 4 contemporary and refined guest rooms, in a charming and quiet area, with a large garden and a big swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Palmiers De La Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing