We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and unhelpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
London
114
Reviewed July 19, 2005

Our own fault, we didn't check our reservation properly and so were annoyed with ourselves on checking in that we'd booked one of the rooms in the grounds of the hotel at Euro420 a night. However, had the room in any way warranted this price tag we wouldn't have minded but it resembled a provincial gite rather than a luxury hotel room with annoyances such as a very weak shower. Our reservation was for 7 nights but when we asked to cut our stay short we were told that we would be invoiced for the full week. The general impression was very unhelpful. Rooms in the main hotel may be cheaper and nicer - we didn't get the chance to find out, but paying nearly £300 per night for a distinctly unluxurious room rather spoiled our holiday.

Stayed: July 2005
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Le Domaine d'Auriac
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 339 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2005

Domaine D'Auriac was an exceptional place to stay while visiting Carcassonne and the surrounding area.

We were traveling with our 8-year-old daughter, so we took full advantage of the property's outdoor amenities: swimming in the pool, running on the rolling green lawns, watching the ducks on the river that runs behind the lawns, visiting the the large fishpond, and lounging on the private deck adjoining our room.

The property contains a wonderful restaurant, with service available either indoors or on a terrace overlooking the grounds and the river. Families should note that the restaurant is very welcoming to children. Our waiter immediately proposed a simpler, smaller selection of courses that--while still elegant--was perfectly in sync with a child's palate.

From Domaine D'Auriac, it is just a five- to 10-minute drive to the Carcassonne parking lot. We enjoyed our time in Carcassonne, but appreciated being able to unwind in the serenity of Domaine D'Auriac.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lmlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2004

One of the best hotels we've stayed at - great for grandparents, parents and 2 year old, who really didn't fit in with the atmosphere but was doted on by the attentive staff.

10  Thank CWN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 9, 2002

You really don't get better than this. 2* Michelin food with really great service (if you ask a few interesting questions!!) and a super sommelier. Expensive, both worth every farthing.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank manelj752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dtm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
785 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine d'Auriac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine d'Auriac

Address: 2535 route de Saint Hilaire, 11009 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: $260 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Domaine d'Auriac 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquil Domaine d'Auriac Relais et Châteaux, welcomes its guests to calm and comfortable surroundings.It is set a mature 3000 years old park, an idyllic haven of greenery on the Mediterranean doorstep encircled by the black mountains and the stunning southern region of the Corbières.The are two smooth-watering restaurants "Bernard Rigaudis" and "Le Bistrot d'Auriac" available for food lovers.An 178 holes golf course, swimming pool and tennis court will all go towards making your stay both an enchanted and relaxed one.It is a stunning location at the foot of the "Cite de Carcassonne" with the "Canal du Midi" nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Le Domaine d'Auriac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing