We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting with Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting with Amazing Service”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have been travelling throughout Portugal, Spain and France the last two and 1/2 weeks and thought all of our hotels up to this point were beautiful however....this hotel was superior in service, surroundings. The Rigaudis family obviously take great pride in this beautiful family hotel. Thank you for our memorable stay. We were sad to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and quiet. I am sure. We had two and loved them both. Beautiful decoration...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecttm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    68
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
46
211
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We spent one night at this beautiful country house hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have done more to make us (and our dog) feel welcome. The room was spacious and comfortable and the grounds are lovely. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice. We at the Bistro by the golf course and enjoyed the meal. Breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine was gorgeous. Nothing was too much trouble and we wished we had booked a 2 night stay. Only 10 minutes from the Cite but you feel like you're in the middle of the peaceful countryside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to Le Domaine d'Auriac. The setting is wonderful (also has golf and tennis). Every detail is very carefully handled. Almost all of the staff speak some English. The gastronomic restaurant -- fine food, wines and service. We can't wait to return. (It is very reasonably priced for its quality!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at several Relais and Chateaux properties, this one being my least favorite. Rooms and bathrooms need some updating. Bathroom handle was broken off several times. Lack of outlets. Rooms just weren't that nice and certainly below what I'd expect from a five star hotel. Front desk was peculiarly acceptable of where our towels were one afternoon and had to be convinced that they had not been replaced that day. Breakfast was excellent. Didn't have dinner in their restaurant. Pool area was just OK. All in all, I was a bit disappointed and would probably not return.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank spinesrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed overnight on our way to Spain, so did not use the spa or other facilities, but enjoyed our stroll around the gardens. A very warm welcome and we were upgraded to a pleasant room overlooking the garden. The dinner menu was truly "Michelin star" - from the amuse bouche to the souffle for dessert.The Sommelier suggested an excellent local red wine and service was professional. The bill was eye watering, but we would do it again!

Room Tip: Garden and pool view was pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Carcasonne is an awesome city and Domain d'Auriac is the only place to stay! Beautifully located, the hotel is stylish, the staff professional and friendly and the rooms tastefully furnished. The food is extraordinary with the lobster menu delightful and varied. The wines were phenomenal and complemented the cheeseboard and desserts beautifully. A wonderful experience!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernestjdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

If I am honest I would probably have given this a 3 star review based on first impressions upon arrival. In our opinion, although fond of french country decor, we felt the room to be a little tired and in need of an update. I would note however this was a weekend away and we didn't splash out on a luxurious room and from what we glimpsed of other rooms they appeared far superior. However having spent a few enjoyable days here we changed our initial impression. The main building and grounds are what you would hope for in a boutique hotel with a well kept pool, tennis court and grounds. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. We only dined in the michelin restaurant once and genuinely enjoyed all of the food and service. I had a 6 course lobster tasting menu for 90 euros which was extremely good value in comparison to similar restaurants in London and certainly Paris. We would highly recommend the bistro. It is only open for short periods but is great value at 20 euros for 3 courses and is also extremely popular, if you want a simple french steak and chips this is certainly the place to come with a carafe of rose at a ridiculously cheap price. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a short relaxing break. If you do come for a week or more we would recommend hiring a car to explore the area as La Cite is very small. We would also suggest trying restaurants outside of la cite as menus tend to be identical for each restaurant and somewhat touristy. Please also note it is not possible to walk to the la cite as there is not a pavement and a taxi each way is 15 euros.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikkipa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
755 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
296 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
768 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine d'Auriac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine d'Auriac

Property: Le Domaine d'Auriac
Address: 2535 route de Saint Hilaire, 11009 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Domaine d'Auriac 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquil Domaine d'Auriac Relais et Châteaux, welcomes its guests to calm and comfortable surroundings.It is set a mature 3000 years old park, an idyllic haven of greenery on the Mediterranean doorstep encircled by the black mountains and the stunning southern region of the Corbières.The are two smooth-watering restaurants "Bernard Rigaudis" and "Le Bistrot d'Auriac" available for food lovers.An 178 holes golf course, swimming pool and tennis court will all go towards making your stay both an enchanted and relaxed one.It is a stunning location at the foot of the "Cite de Carcassonne" with the "Canal du Midi" nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Le Domaine d'Auriac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing