We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cottage in a beautiful region of France”
other travelers have booked this property
Les Coquelicots
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Les Coquelicots
Relax in the Comfortable Living Room Les Coquelicots - The Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Certificate of Excellence
Excellent
20 reviews
Les Coquelicots
Relax in the Comfortable Living Room
Les Coquelicots - The Master Bedroom
Les Coquelicots - 2nd Bedroom with Doors to Balcony
Les Coquelicots - Modern Kitchen
Modern Power Shower
Stunning views from the balcony of the second bedroom
...or perhaps sit and unwind under the apple tree with a glass of wine...
Modern Kitchen with Dishwasher
Living Room
The Bathroom
Les Coquelicots - The Dining Area
The Back Door
The Peaceful Back Garden
Terrace - Ideal for Outdoor Dining
Early Summer Just Outside the Village
The Chateaux de Lastours 15 minutes away
Views of the Pyrenées from Above the Village
Canal du Midi - World Heritage Site
A walk in the autumn sunshine in the woods nearby
Market Day in Place Carnot, Carcassonne
The Cité de Carcassonne by Night
La Cité de Carcassonne - World Heritage Site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherilyn...
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a beautiful region of France”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Cuxas Carbardes is a small, quiet, very friendly mountain village with all necessary amenities, set in a beautiful part of France. It is a great base for exploring the Cathar castles and old Carcassonne. Las Tours is only a ten minute drive away.
The cottage is homely and the kitchen very well equiped. The owner; Marilyn and her contact in the village Sue, couldn't have done more to make sure we had all the necessary information to ensure that everything was hassel free.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your holiday. We aim to please and it is good to know we are hitting the mark !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish1966
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Write a Review ( * required )
Les Coquelicots was exactly what we were looking for to visit the area for a second time. The house was perfect in that it was extremely clean and well equipped for a comfortable family holiday. Every practical need was anticipated.
Cuxac Cabardes was a beautiful village and very friendly, so lovely to wake up in the morning to hear French conversations in the allotment across the street and a welcome 'Bonjour' when we ventured out.
The location is perfect with so many places to visit and so much to do, local restaurants were excellent and the local stables provided a first class experience for our two equestrians! Carcassonne is within 20mins drive and is an amazing place and this year we were able to experience the fireworks on Bastille Day which was fantastic! Settled in the Montagne Noir, Les Coquelicots has the benefit of a delightful cool evening breeze.
Thanks Marilyn for a terrific holiday bursting with great memories, a real pleasure to deal with you from our first enquiry, a holiday we will cherish and would highly recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No fuss, easy process and fantastic house and location!
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2013
We are so pleased you had a great holiday. Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is very satisfying to hear such super comments about our cottage, and to know that you so enjoyed some of the many activities in the area.

We fell in love with the beautiful views from the cottage, and its friendly people, and it seems so does everyone else.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to relax in a charming and friendly village.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The village is typically French and the local residents are very friendly and approachable. It's location is excellent with many attractions within a 30 minute drive. The cottage is perfectly situated in a quiet location, is very clean and has everything a family could possibly require. The wi-fi internet access was very useful and helped us plan our days out, as were the UK TV channels (to keep a 7 year old entertained whilst we were preparing for the day ahead!). The owner Marilyn was extremely helpful and friendly and provided us with plenty of local information in advance. We also used the very informative Welcome Pack and maps in the cottage. The village has 2 restaurants (La Diligence is excellent and run by an Irish family), baker, butcher, pharmacy and local shop and there a several supermarkets on the road to Carcassonne. Overall the week was a perfect combination of relaxation and plenty of nearby and varied activities to keep the kids happy. There is something for everyone here and I would thoroughly recommend it anyone - we plan to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high standard of property
Liked least: No negative points
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. How very kind of you to say such lovely things !! For our part, it is our pleasure to try to make your holiday special. Everyone works so hard these days, and a holiday is something to look forward to all year, so we do our best to go the extra mile to help you make those special memories that a great holiday brings.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to receive feedback and to know you enjoyed your holiday so much at Les Coquelicots. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.... and I really must try those merguez sausages.. you are not the first to recommend them !
Best wishes
Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural location
Liked least: Lack of smoke alarm but I have been involved in serious house fire so am anxious
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 20, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting outside on the peaceful terrace in the lovely sunshine.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 23, 2012
Thank you for your super review. We are delighted that you had such a lovely holiday, and that you were so pleased with our cottage. We too believe that the terrace is a lovely spot to sit and relax. The colours of the irises, wisteria, and especially the poppies after which the cottage is named, are probably at their best at this time of year. We would love to welcome you back – the autumn is a great time of year to come walking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Reviewed January 11, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: calm and lovely cottage that covered all necessities
Liked least: the weather ;-)
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2012
Thank you, Christian, for your kind words. We love the area around Carcassonne ourselves, and try to ensure that our guests have sufficient information to help them enjoy discovering the many things to do and places see in this lovely part of France.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$64
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing