We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab time in France”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Domaine du Renne

Domaine du Renne - the inviting pool!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Domaine du Renne - the inviting pool!
South facing terrace of both gites
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Domaine du Renne - the inviting pool!
South facing terrace of both gites
Entrance to the property.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geno270
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fab time in France”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

What a fantastic holiday we had. We had booked both villas for my family. We had three adults and one child in one villa and my parents in the other villa. The facilities are second to one with everything you need for a great stay in a villa. The pool and outside space is the best I have ever experienced and so quite. Brilliant BBQ and two seating areas to chill out if you need some alone time. Plenty of shaded area around the pool and house as it got up to 40 degrees when we were there but that didn't bother us as Hal has lots of fans in the villas to keep you cool.
Hal looks after you really well and is there if you need him. The local area is great to explore with fab towns and villages surrounding you on all sides.
I would go back in a heart beat but staying in Ireland this year with our new dog!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
It is always special to have Irish folk here, and better when they come from my old stamping grounds..! Hope to see you back - maybe at the end of a Six Nations one year..?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george s
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous in every single way”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

If like me, twelve months ago, you are looking for a fantastic holiday in France, then go to Hals place in the South of France. From the moment you arrive until you leave, you will be glad you made the decision to go to Languedoc Roussillon and stay at Hals outstanding gite. Situated in glorious vineyards in rural France, all of your needs are more than catered for. Red hot sunshine, terrific views, close to town with good choice of restaurants and supermarkets. Historical towns and cities right on your doorstep. The gite is 5 star and Hal goes out of his way to more than provide everything that you might need. Would we return? You bet 100 per cent , we had the most wonderful time ever. We did not know just what to expect, Hal is a great host and goes out of his way to make sure that you have everything you need to ensure that you get the most from your time in the area. Probably sounds a bit over the top but we cannot wait to do it all over again. Finally we drove down from Lancashire, totally brilliant experience.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babu_of_K...
Mosman, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great spot to relax yet close to many interests”
Reviewed December 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Mine Host, Hal Adams is very accommodating. Gite beautifully maintained, fully equipped and if you have not had time to source some basics, Hal will probably have something in his store room. Wife, Loraine was recovering from a fractured femur and underwent a complex hip replacement at Medipole Garonne in Toulouse ( a wonderful Hospital). The whole gite and swimming pool all level and she was able to hobble around on her crutches without difficulty. Closest boulangerie either Limoux or Alaigne, I preferred Alaigne and would ride my bike up to this rustic boulangerie in the centre of the round square. Yes round square, the village is of concentric circles and the bakery is the innermost along with a handful of houses and of course the church. a lively bar is in this village which attracts the local expats. You must allow time to explore and enjoy Limoux and Mirepoix

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Nestled in the hills with vineyards and farmland surrounding and yet close to all the amenties one needs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive D
Lymm, Cheshire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another wonderful few weeks in the sun- everything that we wanted it to be!”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Domaine du Renne for four weeks in July and August 2014, excited to be returning again after previous holidays there; and yet again we weren't disappointed!

The owner, Hal, provides a fantastic combination of great accommodation, peace in a beautiful, natural environment, and a welcoming atmosphere. The large pool was once again used every day to cool off in the 80 degrees+ heat, while we loved walking through the local vineyards or making the short journey to the local town of Limoux or to the many beautiful villages nearby with their markets, architecture, cafes and restaurants. As I cycle, it also made a great base from which to ride out to explore the countryside- hurtling past fields of sunflowers in the early morning sunshine made this 48-year-old pretend I was headed for Tour de France glory!

Hal had made several improvements to the property for 2014- new sunloungers by the pool, a new cooker and hob, a plentiful supply of new bathroom and pool towels, and a coffee percolator. When this is added to comfortable bedroom and lounge furniture, a gas barbecue, British TV(!) and free Wi-Fi, it really meant that we felt that we could relax immediately. Also provided, inclusive, were many of those kitchen essentials which can lead to added expense (and would often end up being left behind on leaving) just when you'd rather spend your money on local wines! So, there was foil, cling film, olive oil, salt, pepper, tea, coffee and sugar all provided- it's typical of Hal, as he did everything to make sure that our holiday was everything that we wanted it to be.

Thanks again, Hal and Louise, for a special few weeks. And to Milo and Matilda for providing splendid entertainment!

And, of course, we've booked again for 2015...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek R
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good gite - outstanding host”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Reviewers all remark on the good location and facilities at Domaine du Renne and I wouldn't disagree with a word of that. Indeed the equipment level here is probably the best we've experienced in many years of gite visits. What sets Domaine du Renne apart from the rest however is Hal, the owner who, apart from being a convivial host, is the most honourable man to do business with. We had to cut our visit short due to a sad family event which was not Hal's problem and I sought nothing from him but he was concerned to compensate us for the lost holiday, taking active steps to take the loss himself. This was not expected of him and shows that Hal truely is a gentleman and the most honourable owner you will ever be lucky enough to deal with.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken D
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We can't wait for Sept 2015 when we are booked to return.”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have spent holidays at du Renne for around ten years, on our own, with friends, also with relatives. Our most recent stay was for four weeks in Sept. '14. It was probably our best holiday there to date.
The fully equipped, comfortable accommodation has been recently upgraded and the pool area is a real bonus. Once the food shopping is done, the owner provides all you need for an enjoyable, relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in a secluded spot, in a lovely area of southern France.
Liked least: Having to pack up to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJaffe
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An idyllic Gites set in idyllic unspoilt France”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Hal & Louise's attention to detail makes makes these Gites an incredible destination. The spectacular views of the Southern Pyrenees while sitting by the beautifully maintained pool make for a very relaxing stay. The still clear nights allow for star filled nights on the terrace surrounded by vineyards. We only just began investigating all the walks we could do direct from the door and enjoyed trying to track the prints of the wild boar that live in the area. The nearby markets are always a bounty of irristable local produce and picnicking on the terrace is a simple pleasure. There is so much to discover in this beautiful part of France, but it will mean leaving Domaine du Renne, you may decide you have all you need right there for a relaxing and inspiring holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thought and care put into the beautifully and generously appointed gites
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing