We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay in Carcassonne”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hibiscus House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful fully equiped spacious kitchen leading to the pool area Comfortable seating with plasma TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Beautiful fully equiped spacious kitchen leading to the pool area
Comfortable seating with plasma TV
King size double bed with crisp white bedlinen
Secluded garden
Beautiful maintained garden area
Light and airy kitchen
Private sun bathing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AileenWhi...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Carcassonne”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment I was welcomed by Wendy till I bid farewell I had a marvellous time in Carcassonne. The gite is every bit as comfortable as it appears in the photos and the kitchen has to be one of the happiest places on my trip through France. Made you want to cook. The gite has all the facilities you need plus more with a beautiful garden to sit out and enjoy the sunshine and a glass of rose kindly left for me by my hosts. And the location couldn't be better. This will definitely be my place to stay when I'm next in Carcassonne.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and access to the town and La Cite
Liked least: Having to come home!!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephen B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A really lovely apartment”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this apartment for just over a week in July 2013 with my wife and 6 year old daughter. I found it to be wonderfully spacious and comfortable with a large lounge and comfortable sofas.

The bedroom is a small area which is effectively a corner taken off the lounge. Likewise bunk beds in the opposite corner. It was very hot during our stay but there was an air-conditioning unit provided that proved to be invaluable.

There is a relatively small but clean and tidy internal shower room which was fine. The kitchen though was very impressive and very well stocked as well with a good selection of glasses, plates, pots, pans etc. The kitchen opens out to a small eating area alongside the pool which proved to be a really nice spot for breakfast and other meals.

The pool itself was small but perfect for a dip at the end of the day. It is too small though for energetic swims but the there is an excellent lake with sandy beach within 3 miles of Carcassone.

If anything, the photographs of the apartment on the website do not do it justice. It seemed to be visually more impressive in the flesh.

The apartment is really well located between the Cite and the newer part of the city. We had a car, though, and found exploring other areas such a Toulouse, Montpelier etc. to be very worthwhile.

The owners, Paul and Wendy live in premises accessed by a path at the bottom of the garden out of the way so can often be on hand if needed. They were very nice and gave us some helpful tips about things to see.

All in all I could not really fault this place. It is so much nicer staying in a well cared for apartment like this in a residential area than a hotel and we were genuinely sorry to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness of the apartment
Liked least: The odd creepy crawly here and there
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roominess of the appartment and the garden/pool area
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephen W
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment - Wonderful hosts”
Reviewed October 9, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Hibiscus House surpassed our expectations. We'd been looking forward to getting away all summer and when we arrived we found the apartment was bigger than expected from the photos and the garden area was just wonderful, a little corner of peace where we happily spent many an afternoon reading and relaxing. The weather was glorious even in September and the pool a welcome chill area.
For anyone interested in cooking the kitchen is very well equipped (Oyster knife included!) and has a great gas cooker. Equally the living area is well equiped as can be seen in the photos.
Paul and Wendy, the owners, were friendly , helpful and generous. They were clearly committed to ensuring their guests enjoyed their time in Carcassonne, always on hand but never intrusive.
Location wise, the apartment is just a bridge away from the town and close to the foot of the cite. There are lovely riverside walks nearby and the canal is 15 minutes on foot. While there is traffic on the street outside at "rush hours" we heard little before 8.00. Relaxing in the garden at the rear we heard nothing and could have been living in the countryside.
We had thought about renting a car but there is plenty to do and see in the area. We found the locals friendly and helpful and aside from a train journey to Limoux we were happy to relax in Carcassonne. Love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frannymc
North West
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, spacious, well equipped apartment with delightful patio,garden and pool area.”
Reviewed October 3, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived following a 2 hour flight delay, and were warmly greeted by the owner with a welcoming bottle of Corbieres, and some useful information.
The apartment is very spacious and very well equipped - the kitchen was a delight to work in. The pleasing patio areas, pool and garden were reached via the kitchen, and included both sunny and shaded areas .
The apartment is well situated, within walking distance of the town, railway station,canal du midi and the cite. It is close to the river Aude, and it's delightful riverside paths - a great place for walking or cycling and wildlife spotting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness, facilities and outside areas
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HevWMalto...
Malton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Lovely Apartment, well situated, friendly owners.”
Reviewed August 15, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Being allergic to Ryanair we arrived via Toulouse airport. A very convenient bus takes you to the Railway station from the airport and getting a ticket on the TGV was painless. It was a 15min walk (on the flat) from Carcassonne station to the apt.
The apartment is in the area below the old town and a short walk over the bridge takes you into the new town. The apartment was lovely as was the small shady garden. I personally wouldn't recommend it for a family as it is open plan with no separate bedroom but other people may like that arrangement.
The Woodmans are very helpful, cheery people and we had an excellent holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Shady Garden
Liked least: No French TV only English stations
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing