We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the medevial town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends booked through Expedia and it was fab. We had a lovely room with a terrace which was great..the decor is in keeping with the location and it is really close to all the great bars and restaurants in town. We are planning our next visit for may when the weather is better...have a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_hotel_donjon, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Le Donjon, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,
Merci d’avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience au sein de notre établissement. Nous sommes ravis de voir que vous avez apprécié votre séjour ainsi que les services proposés. Nous tentons de mettre tout en oeuvre pour que séjourner au coeur de la Cité Médiévale soit une expérience inoubliable pour nos clients. Des commentaires comme celui que vous avez pris le temps d'émettre sont pour nous une vraie récompense.
La direction de l'hôtel ainsi que toute son équipe vous remercient et espèrent vous revoir bientôt parmi nous.

Hermine Pujol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed in Le Donjon for four nights in April, booking through expedia. The hotel was all that we could have hoped for. We had an amazing room, and have a feeling we had been upgraded (room 39) which was actually a suite. It was clean, comfy and nicely decorated. With a lounge bed in the sitting area, so you could have three stay in it. The bathroom was lovely and warm and had a shower and separate bath. It is in the heart of the medieval city which we really enjoyed. It was great to step out and be right in the history. The restaurants close to it were nice and we preferred them to those in the bastide. The staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming.
Breakfast was an option of 13 Euros, and was quite nice, with a couple of hot options as well as the usual continental choices. We enjoyed breakfast twice. Their are cheaper options outside though if you'd prefer. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. It was worth the price. My only point would be that 2/3 nights is enough, unless you have a car. We didn't, and the stay was a day too long (it was cold weather). We made the most of the local bus and cheap regional train though. The bus from the airport is good (five Euros) and drops you at the main gate, so easy access to the town and hotel.

Room Tip: Room 39 is lovely (the biggest)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDeeinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_hotel_donjon, Gérant at Best Western Hotel Le Donjon, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013
Google Translation

Chèrs clients, Je tiens personnellement à vous remercier pour la gentillesse de votre témoignage!
Les commentaires de nos clients sont très importants pour nous car en plus de la reconnaissance qu'ils peuvent nous apporter quand ils sont positifs, ils nous permettent aussi d'améliorer notre service dès que cela est nécessaire.
En espérant vous recevoir très bientôt à l'hôtel Le Donjon.
Hermine Pujol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel has a great location within the Cité walls of Carcassonne. Hotel is well decorated and looks good. Only downside is that the room was TINY! We were just staying one night and were out most of the time, so it wasn't a problem and everything else about the hotel was nice. However, if you are planning on spending a lot of time in your room, or if you like a lot of space, then maybe try elsewhere. Also one receptionist was quite rude, while the other one was lovely - so be prepared for somewhat abrupt service depending on which you speak to!

Room Tip: Maybe ask if they have larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holly_gl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_hotel_donjon, Owner at Best Western Hotel Le Donjon, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for having let us know your feeling about you stay in our hotel.
First of all, I woulld like to apologize for the incident regarding " the quite rude receptionist".

We work every day with the only objective: to satisfy you by offering you a warming welcome and good services, but sometimes in spite of efforts we setlle in everyday life, incidents can arise.
Anyway, I took the measures in order thistype of incident would not happen anymore.
Be sure that our guest comments are really important to us; It is one of the best way to check if we matched our customers needs.
I thank you very again for your comment and hope to have the opportunity to receive you again in our Hotel Le Donjon, in Carcassonne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed one night at the hotel, very pleased with service. Highly recommend u stay within the city walls if possible, so charming to walk the streets late at night, almot transported to a different time/place. Staff was very helpful and spoke excellent English. There is a large free parking lot just outside the city walls and then u are shuttled in to the city in a small vehicle driven by an experienced navigator. The streets were tiny but our driver was blasting through like a ace car driver, very exhilarating and impressive. We got a room in the rampart building, just a 2 min walk from the main part of the hotel. Room was clean, adequate size. Very quiet as we faced away from the main walkways. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a hotel inside the city walls. Good value too!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jrscgsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staying inside the fortress was great. In the evening the crowds disappear and the lights illuminate the towers and walls of the ancient city. The Best Western is charming and comfortable. Especially the public places, although our room was a bit oridinary.

Breakfast was not included in our reasonable room rate ($100 per night!), but is was fairly priced at 13 euros and it was simple, but very good. We love to have good coffee and the automatic expresso machine, nice cheeses, juices, lovely breads, fresh cooked eggs and sausages were perfect.

The Wifi can be a bit slow, but it is included :-)

The front service desk was very personable and professional, It is nice to see people smile and enjoy taking care of thier guests. Bravo!

We would Highly Recommend staying in this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RTVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had stayed at Hotel Le Donjon 23 years ago before our kids were born and we wanted to return and take them with us. The hotel is as we remembered it. Very nice to be inside the walled city. Our room was lovely and had a nice view of the town. The breakfast buffet was huge and we had just about anything we wanted to eat. The only negative was trying to make a dinner reservation. A staff member suggested two places but both were closed and she didn't realize it. Part of the problem was that in March some restaurants are closed but I would think she would have known that before recommending them to us. We ended up eating at an okay restaurant but the next night we had a great meal at a Michelin restaurant recommended by the groom!
All in all, it was fun to be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_hotel_donjon, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Donjon, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013
Google Translation

Cher client
Cher client,

Je tiens personnellement à vous remercier pour avoir témoigné sur votre séjour passé à L'hôtel Le Donjon. Mon équipe et moi même attachons une importance particlière aux commentaires de nos clients car ils sont pour nous un des moyens d'améliorer le service ainsi que la satisfaction de nos hôtes.
Je vous informe que j'ai bien pris note qu'une des réceptionnistes vous a recommandé 2 adresses de restaurants qui étaient les 2 fermés à cette date. Soyez assurez que la remarque a été transmise au service afin que cela ne se reproduise pas.
Merci encore pour la gentillesse de votre témoingage,
En espérant vous revoir très vite à l'Hôtel Le Donjon.

Coridalement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights on a room only basis in a privilege room and what a beautiful spacious room it was too. We stayed in room 10 which was full of character with exposed beams and q view of the castle. Opting for room only enabled us to experience local cafes pattiserie produce including delicious pain au chocolates for €1.30 along with a cappuccino (from the 1st cafe on the right as you enter la cite).

If you visit the castle take your passports to receive discounted entry and be sure to walk all the ramparts.

The bassilica by hotel la cite is worth a visit and take note of the beautiful stained glass.

As for restaurants the set menus are excellent value. La plo serves a lovely confit if duck and delicious pistachio creme brule! If your contemplating a Cassoulet take note it is extremely fatty and greasy!

If you wander into down town Carcassonne the Celt Irish bar is worth a visit serving a huge range if drinks.

If your wondering how to get from the airport the shuttle is the cheapest and easiest option dropping you off outsise the le cite gates where you walk straight up tge main street to the castle then take a left to the hotel.

Overall a great stay in Carcassonne abd Hotel Le Donjon. Staff especially Virginie are friendly and helpful and make you feel very welcome!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_hotel_donjon, Gérant at Best Western Hotel Le Donjon, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
it is with great pleasure that I have read your feeling regarding your stay spent in our property the Hotel The Donjon, unique 4 stars Hotel situated in the very heart of the medieval fortress... Make feel our hosts as real city-dwellers is there all our wish!
Sleeping inside the walls ot the medieval Citadel is a unique privilege for which we work hardly every day to implement everything so that it can be an unforgettable experience, mixing the charm of past with the modern comfort nowadays!

Thanks to you again fore your nice comment, and We hope to see you soon again

Best regards
Hermine Pujol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
510 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Le Donjon

Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel le Donjon)
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: $120 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Le Donjon 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the medieval city of Carcassonne, Best Western Le Donjon is surrounded by the city’s ancient ramparts. The hotel features a restaurant and bar. It is divided into 3 buildings. Free WiFi is provided throughout. The rooms are individually decorated and include a flat-screen TV. They overlook either the citadel or the hotel’s garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Le Donjon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing