We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in the Walled City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October and highly recommend this hotel. Believe me this is not like any US Best Western I've seen. The rates were more than reasonable, the rooms were comfortable, clean and well appointed and the staff was wonderful. I ended up getting sick while there and they quickly found me a local doctor in town. The room also included a wonderful breakfast buffet. The day I visited the doctor I got back too late for the breakfast but they still arranged for tea, eggs and toast for me to have in their lobby! It is a beautful city and I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Overall I was pretty satisfied with this hotel.
We stopped over while cycling the Canal du Midi and the staff found a safe location to store our bikes without any fuss.
Pleasant room (no 11 in the annex close to the main hotel building and bathroom but see below re: noise).
Decent breakfast although it can get very crowded in the dining room as the tables are packed in.
My only real complaint was the level of noise outside the room from around 5:00 in the morning. The description does state that a quiet room cannot be guaranteed but I didn't realise that this was because the laundry man was going to be loading up his (very noisy) metal trollies right outside our room and that this would go on for around one and a half hours (from 5:00).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

First I would recommend if you visit Carcassonne, and I urge you to do so, that you stay inside the walls. And if you do, stay here. BW Hotel le Donjon is very centrally located and you can reach any part of the walled city by walking for 10 minutes or less. It seemed that which ever way we walked, we eventually arrived back at the hotel. It makes it hard to get lost.

The hotel itself is fresh and clean but has the usual small, small rooms with small, small bathrooms. WiFi was satisfactory. The staff was friendly and professional. There is no restaurant on site. They do serve breakfast and there are several fine restaurants just a few minutes away.

The big surprise is the delightful garden area at the back of the hotel. It is calm, cool, clean and the perfect place to enjoy your picnic or just relax with your own wine. It was such a pleasure to sit here recharge ourselves. A perfect place.......

A word about parking and getting to the hotel. It is not possible to drive to the hotel or even see it from any place out side the walls. The system is that you are directed to a parking lot outside the walls. And all you see are walls..... There you are checked in as being a hotel guest and make a decision as to whether you want paid or free parking. Paid is in the same location but guarded at night. We parked free for two nights and had no security problems. A small shuttle van driven by a very helpful and competent driver then runs you and your luggage to the hotel. The ride itself is an awesome experience what with all the hairpin turns and through blind corners in the old city. Its a good system and works efficiently, it's actually an adventure. Our GPS directed us to the proper parking lot but at first pulling in to it seems counter intuitive. You just don't want to believe it because it is so different.

Stay here. It's fun, convenient and you will love Carcassonne after dark when most tourists leave and you are alone with the haunting illuminated architecture.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room on the side of the hotel. The window opened on to a street with fairly hi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maranasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We loved the ride from the car park in their tiny car that seemed to squeeze through impossibly small lanes and alleyways in the old city. The room was big enough to accommodate all 4 of us and we loved breakfast in the garden. The old city is lovely to wander round if very busy and touristy. It quietens down later in the evening. Staff helpful and cheerful, we enjoyed playing bridge while awaiting the return to our car the following day as we were using this as a stop off on the way from northern Spain to Provence.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunflowerLavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Would definitely recommend staying within Cite Medievale and this is a great place to do it. Very nice room with little walk out private terrace with table and chairs. Breakfast was very good. Would certainly stay here again. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We were upgraded to a garden suite which was very roomy and quiet, however it did lack a little atmosphere and the air conditioning did not work. We were supplied with a portable heater which was sufficient. The breakfast was adequate but with limited hot food available (really not much more than a continental breakfast). That said, the bed was comfortable and the room clean, staff were most helpful and free parking was available just outside the cite. The location was excellent and we would be happy to stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We wanted to stay inside the walls of the old city. So we booked the Best Western. We had trouble locating the free car park, so here’s how we did it: we pointed the nose of our car at the main gate to the city, then turned left, went up a small hill, following the city walls. Soon we saw the car park on the right, with a barrier and attendants. We could enter because our name was on a reservation list. The attendants helped us with our luggage and took us in a small van into the city, which was a wild ride through the old streets!

We booked a twin room, which was adequate with 2 twin beds, a small bathroom and toilet compartment. Our room had one window, which overlooked a neighboring restaurant, and some of the street. Our room had no safe for storing valuables. So our room was nothing special. But it was clean. The hotel’s lobby area and bar were attractive. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful. We enjoyed our breakfast, in a room that was too small for the number of people wanting breakfast. We stayed only one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts

Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel le Donjon)
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: $120 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of the medieval citadel of Carcassonne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing