We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate but with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate but with great location”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Everything about the hotel was fine as long as you don't want to swing a cat in the bedroom. Smallest bathroom I've ever used. If you sat on the toilet your head was in the sink. But we don't use hotels for the luxuries, just somewhere to sleep. Get a room facing away from the square if you can, otherwise it can be a bit noisy. It's selling point is it's location, 2 minutes walk from the Pont Vieux, 15 minutes from the Medieval Cite and 10 minutes from the centre of La Bastide-St-Louis, the Place Carnot. We also got a 3 nights for 2 deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    187
    255
    140
    35
See reviews for
106
368
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calpe, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I had requested a car parking space and when I arrived was told there was no spaces available. Although to be fair to the hotel, there was a car park within easy walking distance. The room was one of the smallest I have stayed in. The bed was next to the door with no room at all either side. The bathroom was very small and poor. The shower didn't work very well and the actual toilet was placed in such a small area it was not the easiest experience :). The room overall was probably the smallest I have ever stayed in
It was lucky I was travelling solo as the room, whilst it was a double, would have been almost impossible to share and enjoy. Unusual for an IBIS. Staff were OK, and the location was fine

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have been staying in lots of Ibis hotels around France and Belgium and this one was a real disappointment. Until we went to this hotel I thought all Ibis-hotels were quiet standard, not too expensive, not very luxurious, but having standard comfort and a nice and welcoming service.

First the room was small and old and the beds and bedsheets were of poor quality.

The bathroom even smaller and older, I had to fold myself in two in order to be able to sit on the potty and closing the door.

There were no alcoholic beverages at the bar because they don't have a license, so don't expect to have a relaxing drink in the "lounge" after a heavy day.

Also the price is quiet expensive for an Ibis-hotel, so we expected having more value for money than in other Ibis hotels I've been staying, not less.

The only good point about this hotel is the location, it's a 15min walk to the historic center of Carcassonne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hotel IBIS Carcassonne Centre
My wife and I have stayed at the IBIS Carcassonne Centre several times over the years. It lies just across the river at the bottom of the hill with the famous citadel (Cité). After riding for hours in a car, we enjoy the scenic walk of about 15-20 minutes up the hill to get to the Cité's front entrance. It’s maybe a little less time for the steeper climb to the back entrance (and, for your first time at least, that’s what I’d recommend—to get a real sense of what the medieval attackers were facing).

We like to have dinner at one of the several restaurants in the main square of the Cité (especially at the Bistrot Fruit). The hotel’s nearby location lets me imbibe to my heart's content during dinner and not be concerned about driving afterwards. Following a leisurely dinner, it’s just a refreshing evening walk back down the hill.

The hotel’s rooms are IBIS standard—clean, well-functioning and bright, but small and spare. But then, we don't spend much time in the room, except to sleep and shower, and the rooms are perfectly comfortable for that. The staff is pleasant and efficient, and they make us feel welcome. Being located at the edge of the "newer" part of Carcassonne city, the hotel has a convenient location for visiting there, too.

Finally, it's super-easy to find the hotel when driving into town, as it’s only a short distance north of the main road that runs along the southern edge of the town center (D119). If you come in from the autoroute at the Carcassonne-Ouest exit (exit 23), and head down D119, you can hardly avoid getting dumped into the Square Gambetta, on which the IBIS is situated. We always try to reserve parking in the hotel itself, but there's more nearby.

Room Tip: The back is quieter and has an interesting view over the ruins of an old monastery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#30 of 39 in Carcassonne
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#35 of 39 in Carcassonne
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#23 of 39 in Carcassonne
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carcassonne Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carcassonne Centre

Property: Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Address: 5 Square Gambetta, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Carcassonne Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carcassonne Centre hotel is located downtown, a few minutes from the railway station and Tourist Office. The medieval city and Canal du Midi are a short stroll from the hotel for guests wishing to explore the charms of Carcassonne. As well as its 48 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, it has covered pay parking, a snack bar open 24/24 and Wifi wireless Internet connection for guests on a business trip. Restaurants are available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Carcassonne Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carcassonne Centre Hotel Carcassonne
Accor Carcassonne Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing