We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a ghost town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a ghost town”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Combined liquid soap was a nice change from other hotels, our room overlooked an abandoned building with a large number of feral cats roaming the streets and Carcassonne was eerie quite at night time. On the plus side it is about half-way between the cite and the TGV train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydAusous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    181
    244
    138
    35
See reviews for
104
358
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
359 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you have come here to stay in your room, the rooms and particularly the bathrooms are not huge.
If you want a comfortable base with a really comfortable bed, silence at night, effective shower and minutes from all the good stuff, then stay here.
OK bits are a bit tired but very clean, effective housekeeping, friendly reception staff who will fix you up with a great map, and did I say the best location?
Our air con was fine, wide choice of TV and radio channels, the building at the back is empty (therefore quiet- when I win Euromillions it will be my Grand Design!)
We didn't eat in the hotel as we never do- we like to share the love with all the other businesses in the area.
Square Gambetta is clean and spacious with a lovely art museum towards the new town.
Minutes to the Pont Vieux, great Vietnamese restaurant in the street behind, ideal for what we wanted and a great base to explore from.
I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glamourpuss1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Ten minute walk to La Cite and secure underground car park opposite hotel - location could not be better. Rooms quite small and bathroom would be called bijou by estate agents. In need of a spruce up - the carpets are getting threadbare. Breakfast reasonable although croissants were not fresh.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back - road noise and Saturday market make for early rising in front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our recent trip to France was complicated by the Air traffic controllers strike and we arrived ,very delayed and unable to get into our booked hotel. We found the Ibis open,welcoming and extremely helpful even at 3.00am. The room was clean and serviceable bed comfortable and all staff we encountered polite . They helped with parking, breakfast was fine , showers hot . Absolutely no complaints and would recommend it. If you are driving it is easy to find the carparks for the Cite, but possibly is at least 20 minutes to walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandjudycrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very hot day but no air con as following a sudden turn in weather the system needed time to fire up again.
Don't book rooms on the front or you will be disturbed by the traffic if you need to open the window which we did due to the heat.
Bar had no drink other then soft or bottle of beer.
If average build or above, impossible to use the room toilet as physically impossible. Plan on back of door shows that other front bathrooms all similar design.
Very disappointing and not the usual good experience in other Ibis'es.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank TrudyJHWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#31 of 39 in Carcassonne
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#36 of 39 in Carcassonne
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#25 of 39 in Carcassonne
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carcassonne Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carcassonne Centre

Property: Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Address: 5 Square Gambetta, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Carcassonne Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carcassonne Centre hotel is located downtown, a few minutes from the railway station and Tourist Office. The medieval city and Canal du Midi are a short stroll from the hotel for guests wishing to explore the charms of Carcassonne. As well as its 48 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, it has covered pay parking, a snack bar open 24/24 and Wifi wireless Internet connection for guests on a business trip. Restaurants are available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Carcassonne Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carcassonne Centre Hotel Carcassonne
Accor Carcassonne Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing