We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional but could find better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Functional but could find better”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in the Ibis Centre for just one night and chose the hotel because wanted to be able to walk from the train station and also to the old city. Both of these were possible, though with luggage it was a bit far from the station really (about 15 mins, so fine if not carrying luggage). The hotel is positioned on a busy one way system, though the traffic cannot be heard from inside the rooms. The room was small and the bathroom tiny, but both clean and comfortable bed, as you would expect from the Ibis brand. Breakfast was fine and the staff were friendly and efficient.
Overall for a one night stop the hotel was ok, but with hindsight I think I should have chosen somewhere by the old city and taken a taxi or the bus from the station - could probably have found somewhere with a little more character and more conveniently located for exploring the old city in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leggs033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    185
    250
    139
    35
See reviews for
106
365
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here in july 2012. Location was good, about 15 minute walk to walled old city with good photo opps on way. It was nice to have a coin op laundrymat next door. The only complaint was that the bath was the smallest I've ever seen, in a 6.5 ft x 2.5 ft space there was a shower, basin, & toilet and bearly room for one person and almost nowhere to put anything down.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Well placed to visit the old city. Helpfull staff and Hotel very clean.
Not much around the Hotel to keep you occupied in the evening but a lovely walk to the Old City of about twenty minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagleslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

on a recent trip to France we stopped in Carcassone on our way to Avignon and we are gald we did. the hotel is very well located to walk to the famed mideveal village just over the bridge ( a 10 minute walk) the walk is takes along very quaint streets making the walk very pleasant and picturesque. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. The showers were hot bothe times I used it and great water pressure too.The breakfast was very good and included crepes which was a nice change from the typical meat and cheese you get at most breakfasts in europe. We only stayed one night but I would have stayed longer if we could have and would not hesitate to return and stay again in the future

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel is part of the Accor Chain like Etap at Euros 65 it is good value for money but my 2nd night was charged at Euros 85 and that is overpriced! you would be better off staying at the Etap la Cite for both price and location.
Ibis is situated half way between la Ville Basse and La Cite you can walk to both in 5 to 10 minutes. It is on a round about but surprisingly not noisy despite that fact.
the rooms are small, the beds large and confortable, the batroom tiny but well appointe. There are no coffee/tea making facilities and no fridge in the room.the air conditioning unit works well and is not noisy and the room has a flat screen TV with most international channels.
Breakfast at Euros 15 is overpriced you can walk to place Carnot in 5 mns and get the same thing for euros 6!
Ibis main attraction is its location.

Room Tip: ask when booking for a room which isn't on the round about if you are noise sensitive. Make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsaqueen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Worst hotel of our whole trip, small bare rooms with very small bathroom that would be impossible for larger people to use. Average breakfast. Location is good, for access to old town and also town centre. Laundromat next door and underground carpark beneath the park across the road.
Clean enough if you are desperate for one night, but not good value for the quality.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Steve36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
#17 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#30 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#36 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#23 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carcassonne Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carcassonne Centre

Property: Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Address: 5 Square Gambetta, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Carcassonne Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carcassonne Centre hotel is located downtown, a few minutes from the railway station and Tourist Office. The medieval city and Canal du Midi are a short stroll from the hotel for guests wishing to explore the charms of Carcassonne. As well as its 48 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, it has covered pay parking, a snack bar open 24/24 and Wifi wireless Internet connection for guests on a business trip. Restaurants are available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Carcassonne Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carcassonne Centre Hotel Carcassonne
Accor Carcassonne Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing