We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aragon(Carcassonne Center)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Chateau(Carcassonne Center)
$197
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel des Trois Couronnes(Carcassonne Center)
$126
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Astoria(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
$56
$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$226
$219
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon(Carcassonne Center)
$110
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Pont Vieux(Carcassonne Center)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Montmorency(Carcassonne Center)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,617)
Filter reviews
1,617 results
Traveler rating
488
774
271
70
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
774
271
70
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold cityprivilege roomwalled cityfree parkingswimming poolla citeminute walkgood sizebreakfast buffetnespresso machineexcellent locationcar parkstandard roomtea and coffee making facilitiesmain entrancelovely hotellarge room
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 1,617 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the location of this hotel, just outside the walls of the ancient cité, with a small but comfortable room, which opened out onto a grass terrace with views of the old city and the swimming pool below (although too cold in November to make use of this!). The room was clean and benefited from a good sized bathroom with actual bathtub. Five minute walk took us to the gates of the city. The hotel also has a secure car park. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 32-42 on the first floor all have views of the city and open onto the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccajago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed 3 nights late Oct 2013. Room small but adequate, clean and quiet. Room overlooked car park which is not ideal but was ok. Staff cheerful and helpful.Breakfast plentiful and very good. Only 5 minute walk to old City for numerous restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards the City are probably better
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a motoring tour of France. It's location is fantastic and our room had a view across to the walls of the Cite. The room was quite large and airy with a very comfortable bed, and as I had booked a premium room we had robes and slippers. We also overlooked the pool area and were pleased to see the pool being used as we arrived.
We ate in the hotel on the first night and were surprised how large the dining area was, though a lot of it seemed to be being used by a tour group. The menu was reasonably priced and we had the regional speciality of Cassoulet. The staff were efficient but disinterested, possibly because they had a large group to deal with in the other room.
The breakfast was served in the restaurant room and had the usual mix of hot dishes and continental food. The layout didn't seem to be very efficient and cutlery and crockery ran out on both mornings, though staff did eventually restock them.
We did use the pool in the afternoon and the sunloungers were very comfortable.Perhaps because it was towards the end of September the water wasn't warm, rather what we Northern Britons call "bracing", but it was a very pleasant area to lounge in on a sunny day.

Room Tip: We booked a premium room to give a view of the city walls. The room size, robes & slippers made this a good choice but it did come at a cost.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisGG1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Madrid, Spain
1213
Reviewed October 20, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed at the Mercure for 5 nights as part of a tour group. The best thing about the hotel is its location close to the citadel (approx. 10 minutes’ walk). We were allocated a small pokey room with dirty, stained carpets. Whoever designed the size of the room or chose the furnishings can’t have imagined that anyone would actually bring suitcases with them, as there was nowhere to put them! Had the bed been designed higher from the floor, we could at least have slid them under the bed. There was just a small hanging rail for clothes and no built in wardrobes or drawers to put anything in, so everything had to be stacked untidily in what limited space was available.

The room safe was operated with a key and involved aligning the 3 separate tumblers to lock or unlock. Our safe just happened to be faulty and we had to call in the manager to try to open it on 2 occasions. Even Parker from Thunderbirds would have struggled with it! Why not just install electronic safes like every other hotel in the world?

There are no supermarkets within close proximity only other hotels, so expect to pay top price for everything you need in the citadel or hotel itself.

On a plus point, you can actually get some hot food for breakfast rather than the continental type served up by other hotels - though the dining area is as cramped as the rooms - and it’s fair to say that the staff were generally friendly and efficient (with the exception of the night receptionist).

Won’t be rushing back!

Room Tip: Not sure there are any good rooms!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews