We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights from 21st Sept. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the medieval city where there are plenty of touristy shops and nice restaurants to choose from. (Brasserie du Donjon and Au Four Saint Louis we would recommend).

Staff were friendly. Could have done with some dedicated bar staff as there is a nice area to sit in for a drink or two at the end of an evening but not easy to get service.

We had standard rooms, okay size, modern decor, clean and great walk in shower.

Overall a pretty good stay. We paid €143 per night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    692
    238
    63
    15
See reviews for
356
819
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Frankly I'm surprised one can find a hotel with decent parking that is this close to the old city but our tour group managed it and ours was one of 19 cars!

The hotel is in a great location and had all we could have hoped for in our one night stay.

The rooms are a good size and had everything we have come to expect of the Mercure group. A shame it was too cold to try the outdoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0llyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is located 2 minutes walk from the entrance to the Citadel. The cafes, restaurants and especially the history associated with the town are truly special. The rooms in the hotel are very large, very clean and very well provided. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant is excellent more American/UK than French. It's a shame the staff in the restaurant don't go on similar US/UK customer service courses - it's France what should we expect!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Typical Mercure formula, clean and comfortable rooms, rooms compact but absolutely fine if all you want is somewhere to sleep and you're out all day sight seeing. Chose the Mercure for its location: easy to find (we drove here) with free parking (if you can find a space) and situated about 5 minutes stroll from the old city. Not tried the in-house restaurant - there are numerous choices with plenty of atmosphere in the old city just a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

All inclusive B&B costing through travel tour company, we would have done better with the mid-price option, 100m down the road! Our room was too small for 2 friends on a 5 night stay, no drawers or bedside space, narrow gaps and poor mirror positions. Sheets and towels were changed daily and the hotel is very clean. Breakfast is a substantial buffet, plenty of choice. Bar often empty of both clients and staff, some of whom need a refresher course at charm school! Others were absolutely fabulous. It's in a good place to access the mediaeval cite, where there are ample places to eat, drink and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zipcooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. Very close to the old city and was about 5 minutes walk. Comfortable room overlooking swimming pool. Ate in the hotel restaurant and the food and service was excellent. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Good quality hotel well situated for the medieval castle, rooms were fine with all amenities. One niggle was the price of the breakfast an astonishing 14 euros pp for the resturant and even 8 euros pp for a "fast" version in the bar. Just walk to the old town for the same thing at a fraction of the price. Otherwise a comfortable stay with an inviting pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthPesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
419 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Property: Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing