We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for La Cite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfect location for La Cite”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

First time at the Mercure. Stayed for three nights on bed and breakfast basis. Chose this hotel due to its proximity to "La Cite". Rooms modern, clean with huge bathrooms. Our rooms were on the first floor over looking the pool area and were very quiet. Breakfast more than adequate with hot and cold food choices. Outside in the garden there is a large patio area with seating available. Pool looked inviting although weather too cold for swimming. Would definitely stay here again if I returned to this area. Prices were reasonable for this level of comfort. The walk into the newer part of Carcassonne took about 10 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    692
    238
    63
    15
See reviews for
356
819
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed here for two nights recently. Really enjoyed the stay. Hotel is clean and very pleasant. It is very close to the walled city and about a twenty minute walk to the Ville Basse the centre of town. We had two adjoining rooms with a connecting door. Good view of the castle from one room but not from the other. Great breakfast including some hot food. There is a restaurant which we didn't try but we did use the bar. The staff were helpful and pleasant and there were no problems with check in. Carcassone itself is lovely . It has plenty of shops and cafés with polite staff. We took the Navette the local service bus from the airport and it took us right to the hotel. It cost £20 for the four of us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pjmccarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great position and stayed three times before, booked in advance and arrived in the rain with our little dog Brigette, went in and confirmed . Unloaded outside in heavy rain in massive and deep puddle outside reception, no help offered they just watched us get very wet and wade through . Well they will not get our money again , David Dawn & Bridgette

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank brigetteonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. Fairly convenient location for the walled city but note that the trees have grown considerably since the Mercure website pictures so there is only a restricted view of the walled city from some rooms. Bar prices are quite reasonable as are restaurant prices. The standard rooms are quite small, have very restricted storage space but they have reasonably good bathrooms.However there are some issues. The swimming pool is officially open from 1st June to 30th September. We arrived Friday but were unable to get into the pool until 1pm Sunday which also meant there were no loungers to relax in the sun. The pool itself is not kept particularly clean. The changing facilities were also not clean and from the smell and appearance are suffering water damage. Anothre issue is the air conditioning which only pumped out hot air. Apparently they change it from a winter setting to summer setting at some point but until then even though it may be hot you cannot cool the room. We had an unbearably hot night on the Friday night and consequently got little sleep. And finally the staff can be decidely unfriendly and rude, like the receptionist who kept insisting the pool was open and treated us like imbeciles when we couldn't open the gate. I did try and speak to the Manager but was told he was not available but the receptionist did reduce our bill by €10 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room on top floor to get a view of the garden and perhaps part of the walle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We are regular patrons of the Accor Hotel Family. This Mercure Hotel in Carcassonne was predictably very good. This is defined by location (very convenient), high speed internet (available and a strong connection), parking (safe and secure), price (very fair), and general appearance. The hotel was clean, but far from luxurious, which was expected. If you are traveling to this area, I would consider staying here. Not only is it ridiculously close to the fortress, the charming town is certainly walkable. Breakfast has a very good variety of food and an attentive staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aandskern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having stayed for 5 nights at the Mercure on a package holiday I would certainly consider this hotel if I was again in the area of Carcassonne. Although the standard room was a little cramped, it was comfortable, clean and more than adequate. The reception staff were helpful particularly when there was a (slight) problem with the bedroom safe. The restaurant was reasonable without being outstanding and was somewhat swamped on a (very) busy evening. Overall good value for money and very convenient for exploring the walled "Cite" which was a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somerset_man_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Location was very good for tourists as it was only a few minutes into the retail hell, or wonderland, depending on your perspective, of the Cité. The view from our bedroom window was superb, and the added bonus was the ease of parking. However, this was a businessman's hotel in a tourists setting and therefore lacked character. The dinner menu was good and competitively priced but a simple bar menu would have been an attractive alternative when we didn't fancy a full meal.

Staff were generally helpful but not especially friendly and my overall impression was that it was .... just another hotel, albeit in a great location for those visiting the Cité.

Room Tip: ASk for a room with a view of the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackandWillsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
419 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Property: Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing