We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I was very impressed with this Mercure. It is a short walking distance from La Cite. Not only did we each get a complementary drink on arrival in the bar, but as there was a wine festival that weekend, we were also given a free bottle of wine from a Carcassonne vineyard. The room itself was lovely with a large shower, separate toilet, and direct access to the gardens. It comfortbaly fit our family of 4. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included. To get the free wi-fi, you need to ask reception for a udsername and password. They were kind enough to give us 4 separate passwords to accommodate each of the family's devices. Breakfast was fantastic as well. A great stay thoroughly enjoyed by all.

The only negatives were that despite the weather being quite mild, the pool was closed, to the disappointment of my children. Also, parking is available on-site, but the carpark was packed. We were lucky enough to get the last one but some other selfish hotel visitors had parked across multiple parks, whiich meant the next guest couldn't find a park. I heard later that you can ask reception to open up the staff carpark for you, so I guess it isn't really a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelliell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel is located a short walk to the old town of Carcassonne (just behind the public parking at the foot of the entrence). The hotel is nice and the breakfast very good. Considering the price, you get what you pay for (it is not a bargain but fair considering what you get). Parking is available on site.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonCuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The hotel is located a short walk to the old town of Carcassonne (just behind the public parking at the foot of the entrence). The hotel is nice and the breakfast very good. Considering the price, you get what you pay for (it is not a bargain but fair considering what you get). Parking is available on site.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonCuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Fantastic location for visiting La Cite - otherwise basically what you would expect from a Mercure - reasonable and comfortable accommodation, but nothing fancy. It did however have a nice pool and the staff were quite helpful. Definitely worth while if just visiting for a day or two. The restaurant looked pretty good, but given it is so close to the dozens of restaurants at La Cite, we did not eat here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed two nights here, and being only a short walk from the old city , the location is very good. Friendly staff, clean rooms , decent breakfast all added to the pleasure. We ate both evenings in the restaurant, the food is excellent,especially the fish dishes, and Mercure do try to add a little variation to their wine list , with a list of 'specials' I think the only failing of the hotel is that the restaurant does need a Maitre 'D' , on the second night after sitting at our table we waited 20 minutes for the menu, and when they did arrive I was surprised that we were not asked if we wanted an aperitif, which we did! The staff also double up with working at the bar, so it was not surprising to see people having to wander round to reception later on to try and find someone to serve them.The staff were rushing around but I got the impression that someone to take charge was needed.
Having said that , we would return there as the plusses far outweighed this little minus point.

Room Tip: Prestige rooms well worth the added cost.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaintesJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Great location with a good pool for the kids. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: They have rooms that open up straight onto the pool which is great if you have kids to keep an eye o...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LegItAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had one night at the Mercure Hotel after flying into Carcassonne. It was easy to find and so close to La Cite. There is private, secure parking, so you don't have an extra charge. The room was clean and modern and the bathroom was a great size for Europe. We had views of the turrets in La Cite, which was great and we faced out onto the swimming pool. As we arrived at lunchtime we decided to have the lunch special, which was 17 euros for three courses which I would recommend and we got a free glass of wine which was a nice touch. We came back to the hotel for a night cap and to get some water for the room, but we had to wait 40 minutes for the bar staff to serve us! We had to ask reception twice if someone could come and help. The bar staff were young guys and didn't seem interested, although there was only one other couple in the bar. It was a bit disappointing to be honest. Breakfast was ok, not the best compared to others I've been to, but it was perfectly fine. I would definitely recommend this hotel, despite our experiences in the bar, particularly due to the hotel. Oh, the waitress at lunchtime and breakfast was lovely!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarianneGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: $111 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing