We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Piece of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed for three nights at this magical hotel.

We had the hotel arrange our transfer from the airport to he hotel and it was seamless and a good start to the weekend, on arrival just the most helpful people and a wonderful reception.

Our room was a garden room with views of the ramparts and a very short stroll to the most wonderful terrace looking over the Aude and the town below.

We had a garden......... no literally with a fence and trees and everything, the oak bed in the room with marble bathroom oozed style and the finest furniture i have seen in a 5 star.

The bar does the best champagne and cocktails pre dinner drinks etc, bar staff are wonderful and attentive, the menu's in the restaurant to die for and again the service even down to bar snacks served with style and professionalism you expect from this level of Hotel.

i can't say enough about the whole experience truly wonderful and located in the best possible place within the old city walls, within walking distance to some great restaurants you must try.

We WILL be going back its worth every penny and more, just wonderful and please please please go you will not regret it.

Note to the Cite Hotel ................ your great please don't change.

Room Tip: Garden Room are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpencerNegus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wonderful hotel in heart of medieval city. Cobbled streets and endless sweet shops make you feel like you're in a Disney set. Nice, clean rooms and great service. Parking outside city walls but a car picks you up and races you through the castle gates and narrow streets heavy with tourists. Nice time of year to visit as I am sure it is incredibly busy in summer.

Room Tip: Lovely overnight stay in the medieval city of Carcasonne. Bit like staying on a Disney set and wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Spent a long weekend here for a special anniversary. Had a beautiful suite with a private patio overlooking the garden. Also ate in the hotel restaurant where the young, female sommelier was very helpful in choosing a good, local wine to accompany our menu choices. We cannot fault the service and very attentive staff. Yes, Carcassonne is "touristy" but during May is not too overcrowded and we applaud the fact that it is car free. This may mean that there is a little inconvenience in reaching the hotel but this is a minor problem. Our room was spotlessly clean and consumables replenished daily. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quiet and worth the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenfingers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The experience of having to park outside the city walls and take a tiny hotel car in through the narrow streets is actually very charming, but we had just come from a relaxing country town so this felt cramped and crawling with tourists.
The hotel itself is nice and the room was quite large and well maintained, but because the hotel is built in a medieval town, the central air is also very old. We happened to be there towards the end of October when they had just switched the system over to heat. It was 85 degrees that day and no cool air could be turned on. We could also not open our window because there were no screens and pigeons kept trying ot come in! Very hot and uncomfortable.
We actually ended up only staying 1 of 2 nights and leaving early because of this. The management was not understanding and we were still charged for the full extra night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Checked in to a junior suite yesterday. The place is old and tired, which is forgivable since it's in a medieval structure I guess. The carpet in the public areas is very dirty. The room was nice, comfortable bedding, nice bath. But... We left for dinner and put the sign on the door for turn down service. When we returned, turn down was complete. However someone had also made use of our toilet, leaving large remnants of #1 and #2 on the seat. Need I say more?

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank chicagolover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We live in France all summer, so we have visited the hotel for drinks on many occasions. But for our wedding anniversary so decided to stay at the Hotel with the children and have the 8 course meal with accompanying wine (140 euro).

The room was very very hot, and due to technical issues, the heating takes two days to convert to air con. I was offered a fan....which just blew hot air around the room. After dinner we retired to the room (street facing) and opened the windows. At 5am the street cleaning and rubbish collections started......

Now the dinner, this is a Michelin star restaurant, and I was expecting spectacular wine. The sommelier informed me that the wine could be bought for about 5 euro a bottle.....The food was good, but the service was poor. I do not expect to have to keep asking for my glass to be filled with water.

Also, rather bizarrely we had two puddings and no cheese! No cheese, in France!!!!

I did complain in the morning, and Edwige was very apologetic and took 150 euro off my bill. This is the only thing that would make me consider going back.

The week before we visited Dubai, and the service everywhere was 1st class....

This unfortunately was not.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank spencermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbonturi, Operation Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Sir,

Regarding your recent review on Tripadvisor, I am saddened by your disappointment which is obviously not the image I wish you retain of your experience at our property.

We thank you to share your feedback with us. It helps us improve our operations and we have now taken into consideration these comments:
- Cheese is now included in our Tasting Menu, instead of being proposed or not.
- Regarding the service at Barbacane restaurant, our restaurant manager has been informed about your comments, and he and his team are dedicated to improving service standards.

Air conditioning or heating is always delicate at this time of the year when temperatures are changing greatly from one day to another and since the nights are still cooled we prefer to keep the heating system on until we pass the Saints de Glace.

Please rest assured that the comfort and satisfaction of our guests are our primary preoccupation and that is what Hotel de la Cite aspires to provide to all our valued guests despite being in a century-old building, in a UNESCO heritage listed monument, and in the heart of a small village that is not comparable to Dubai.

Hoping to hear from you, I remain at your entire disposal,


Adelaide PUJOL
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The location of the hotel is fabulous, inside the castle. From the car park to the hotel it is a 5 minute walk, but there is an option to go with the hotel car. The rooms were very nice, quiet and clean. Staff in the reception area very helpful. The views from the breakfast area/dining area overlooking Cacarssone are quite spectacular. Breakfast was very good (a bit pricy) and the person in charge set us up very quickly with a nice table next to the window with the nice view.

I don't give the hotel a 5 star rating because for dining there is only the fancy restaurant. We had been travelling all day and were tired and were looking for something quick to eat in the bar, but to our surprise there was nothing available. We ended up going somewhere nearby which was fine, but I think the hotel should have some alternative.

All in all a very nice experience. Would definetley return if I have the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
804 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: $239 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing