We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service and very attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent service and very attentive staff”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Spent a long weekend here for a special anniversary. Had a beautiful suite with a private patio overlooking the garden. Also ate in the hotel restaurant where the young, female sommelier was very helpful in choosing a good, local wine to accompany our menu choices. We cannot fault the service and very attentive staff. Yes, Carcassonne is "touristy" but during May is not too overcrowded and we applaud the fact that it is car free. This may mean that there is a little inconvenience in reaching the hotel but this is a minor problem. Our room was spotlessly clean and consumables replenished daily. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quiet and worth the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenfingers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    323
    101
    33
    15
See reviews for
305
854
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The experience of having to park outside the city walls and take a tiny hotel car in through the narrow streets is actually very charming, but we had just come from a relaxing country town so this felt cramped and crawling with tourists.
The hotel itself is nice and the room was quite large and well maintained, but because the hotel is built in a medieval town, the central air is also very old. We happened to be there towards the end of October when they had just switched the system over to heat. It was 85 degrees that day and no cool air could be turned on. We could also not open our window because there were no screens and pigeons kept trying ot come in! Very hot and uncomfortable.
We actually ended up only staying 1 of 2 nights and leaving early because of this. The management was not understanding and we were still charged for the full extra night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Checked in to a junior suite yesterday. The place is old and tired, which is forgivable since it's in a medieval structure I guess. The carpet in the public areas is very dirty. The room was nice, comfortable bedding, nice bath. But... We left for dinner and put the sign on the door for turn down service. When we returned, turn down was complete. However someone had also made use of our toilet, leaving large remnants of #1 and #2 on the seat. Need I say more?

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank chicagolover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We live in France all summer, so we have visited the hotel for drinks on many occasions. But for our wedding anniversary so decided to stay at the Hotel with the children and have the 8 course meal with accompanying wine (140 euro).

The room was very very hot, and due to technical issues, the heating takes two days to convert to air con. I was offered a fan....which just blew hot air around the room. After dinner we retired to the room (street facing) and opened the windows. At 5am the street cleaning and rubbish collections started......

Now the dinner, this is a Michelin star restaurant, and I was expecting spectacular wine. The sommelier informed me that the wine could be bought for about 5 euro a bottle.....The food was good, but the service was poor. I do not expect to have to keep asking for my glass to be filled with water.

Also, rather bizarrely we had two puddings and no cheese! No cheese, in France!!!!

I did complain in the morning, and Edwige was very apologetic and took 150 euro off my bill. This is the only thing that would make me consider going back.

The week before we visited Dubai, and the service everywhere was 1st class....

This unfortunately was not.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank spencermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbonturi, Operation Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

Regarding your recent review on Tripadvisor, I am saddened by your disappointment which is obviously not the image I wish you retain of your experience at our property.

We thank you to share your feedback with us. It helps us improve our operations and we have now taken into consideration these comments:
- Cheese is now included in our Tasting Menu, instead of being proposed or not.
- Regarding the service at Barbacane restaurant, our restaurant manager has been informed about your comments, and he and his team are dedicated to improving service standards.

Air conditioning or heating is always delicate at this time of the year when temperatures are changing greatly from one day to another and since the nights are still cooled we prefer to keep the heating system on until we pass the Saints de Glace.

Please rest assured that the comfort and satisfaction of our guests are our primary preoccupation and that is what Hotel de la Cite aspires to provide to all our valued guests despite being in a century-old building, in a UNESCO heritage listed monument, and in the heart of a small village that is not comparable to Dubai.

Hoping to hear from you, I remain at your entire disposal,


Adelaide PUJOL
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The location of the hotel is fabulous, inside the castle. From the car park to the hotel it is a 5 minute walk, but there is an option to go with the hotel car. The rooms were very nice, quiet and clean. Staff in the reception area very helpful. The views from the breakfast area/dining area overlooking Cacarssone are quite spectacular. Breakfast was very good (a bit pricy) and the person in charge set us up very quickly with a nice table next to the window with the nice view.

I don't give the hotel a 5 star rating because for dining there is only the fancy restaurant. We had been travelling all day and were tired and were looking for something quick to eat in the bar, but to our surprise there was nothing available. We ended up going somewhere nearby which was fine, but I think the hotel should have some alternative.

All in all a very nice experience. Would definetley return if I have the chance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a night during our stay in Carcassone. We often stay in historic hotels or hotels attached to Michelin star restaurants so I will use those as reference. We also ate at the Restaurant (la Barbacane) but I will write a separate review of that dinner.

The building
The hotel is an integral part of the Cite de Carcassone. It is a very nice medieval looking hotel from the outside but with very nice spacious rooms. You have to go through a maze to get to the rooms (as the hotel was built around the existing construction) but it is not a problem because it allows you to discover places within the hotel.

The room
We had room 247; a spacious room on a corner so very nice because you didn't have any noise from next door rooms and had a very nice open feel with windows surrounding it. The bathroom is large with a separate toilet and a walk in shower (and separate tub). The toiletries were high end (can't remember the brand but just think nice :)). Overall a spacious comfortable room with a great bed and a decent TV. Only minus was that the AC was not yet turned on (probably too soon in late April) but the temperatures were quite high...so would have been nice to have it...

Location
Although there are other hotels in the Cite this is the only 5 star; so the place to go if you like nice hotels. The location is very good and although the endless flow of tourists can be somewhat annoying, they leave fairly early and you don't see many early morning either.

Breakfast
I would say that the breakfast is better than most small 5 star hotels but probably not at the standard I would have expected for a hotel annexed to a Michelin star restaurant. You get a somewhat standard buffet although with more fruit options and some decent pastries. Don't expect the "menu decouverte" that you get in other "Michelin star restaurant hotels"

Overall a very nice hotel - don't expect extravagant luxury but it is a very nice hotel with comfortable rooms in a very picturesque setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvidela4791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, staff on the whole very helpful, really lovely breakfast. There were some stumbling blogs. We could not check in until 1600, which is very late especially as the checkout time is 1200! We then had to wait until 1700 as our room was not ready, not great with 2 tired children. Room 235 was ok although it was far too hot and very close to the road outside. This mean it was very noisy until 2300 and the bin lorries thundered past at 0600, not a good night for sleep.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing