We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived to Carcassonne by car quite late, and I found out that I had accidentally booked the wrong night in this hotel (we stayed in 5 hotels in 7 nights...). The staff couldn't have been more helpful. They got us a room and went to loads of hassle to cancel the incorrect reservation (as we had booked through Hotels.com, it was a bit complicated to cancel the wrong night booked). They even rang down to a hotel in the city to ask them to stay open for us to get dinner. The room was gorgeous - it was like staying in Hogwarts, and instead of pay-per-view, they have a complimentary dvd library with a decent enough selection. We got to tuck in in our gorgeous bed, after a long day, and just watch a movie. The following day they were massively efficient with the bags and the shuttle service back to our car. I would go there again for a week, and am planning on sending my parents as a gift.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    319
    100
    32
    15
See reviews for
300
840
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

the most exciting is to be in a very quiet place inside the cité of carcassonne which is always very crowded...the service is top class, the building, gardens,pool are wonderful...perhaps as a small downside, the room we had in a new refurbished area was relatively small and very dark as overlooking a little street. The breakfast if a truly enjoyable experience with the head of breakfast ensuring that you have everything you need

Room Tip: ask for a room in the old builiding
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruno t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. I can't recommend it highly enough. The building and gardens are beautiful, the location is great and the standard of service is first class. I'd go as far as to say that it's the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at. It's easily the best hotel in Carcassonne; the Barbacane restaurant holds a Michelin star and, having eaten there, it's easy to see why.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the garden side. It costs more, but it's completely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finance23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Located directly in the old part of Carcassonne, this hotel is an absolute gem. Lovely, gracious interior, some of it dating back to the early 20th century, it appears to welcome you back into the past. Very romantic, beautiful, a place that enchants children and adults alike.

The rooms are decorated beautifully, everything is clean and well-kept, staff are attentive and friendly. We very much enjoyed our stay here, and I would recommend the place whole-heartedly.

It's just a shame that the breakfast was slightly disappointing. For example, I found a rotten strawberry in the fruit salad, which was rather off-putting. While I do believe that this was just an oversight, I think that something like that should not happen in a hotel of this category.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days during our week long holiday in France. Stunning hotel and just the most amazing place to visit. Such a privilege to stay in the centre of the old city. The place (Cite) is heaving just like Disney, but the location of this hotel allows you to get out early before the crowds and escape when it gets busy. I love taking photos and my early morning jaunts allowed me to get some fab pictures without the crowds.

On arriving the porters meet you at the car and promptly take you to the hotel. It was all very painless.

The hotel is beautiful, our rooms 112 and 114 were gorgeous and had balconies from which you could access a really lovely pool. 114 was a suite but not much bigger than my daughter's room which inter-connected.

We were given water every night and castle shaped chocolates....a nice touch.

Bathrooms were stunning, a pleasure to use with beautiful toiletries.

We ate in the hotel restaurants for all 3 nights, the Michelin star one was probably one of the best Michelin star restaurants we have eaten in and would have happily eaten there every night!!!

Breakfast was very good, which isn't always the case with French hotels. A good choice of fruit, pastries and cheese.

There is no gym but if you get up early you can run round the Cite and rack up a few miles quite easily.

I can compare the experience to Chevre D'or but would say this is a mcuh better hotel by a long way. I would not hesitate to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigilebonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This has to be the best place to stay in Carcasonne, right in the heart of the citadel, ranged along the ramparts. You arrive by golf buggy from the secure carpark below, driven through impossibly narrow entrances. The hotel is full of character and the garden room we had with a small terrace was beautiful. The gardens are a feature of the hotel and the swimming pool area just perfect. We had dinner in the restaurant outside on the terrace. Sadly we were near the service area. It appeared as though there was no maitre d' and the organisation in chaos. It spoiled the meal, but I suspect it is in danger of loosing it's Michelin star

Room Tip: Book the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sooots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Managr at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions after your recent stay at our hotel. We were glad to know you enjoyed your room and the facilities our hotel has to offer but sincerely regret that your dining experience was not up to par. Please accept our apologies for the disappointing moment you went through and rest assured that your remarks were taken seriously by the service concerned. We hope we'll have the occasion to welcome you back to our hotel whenever you are next in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We can't say enough about how much we love this hotel and I don't know why I waited so long to review it. The location is amazing, being right inside the walls of La Cite, a unique place in the world. We have stayed here numerous times over the years and it has always been a wonderful experience. The first time, we were on a bike tour from Agens to Narbonne, and this was one of our stops. What a treat! Eventually, we bought a house in the region where we now live part of the year.
We still stay at Hotel de la Cite even though our house is only about a half hour away! (so we can enjoy wine at dinner and not have to drive home) For the last several years we have stayed twice a year at the hotel---on our anniversary in the summer, with a package that includes breakfast and a delicious dinner at La Barbacane, and on Christmas eve when they have a great package deal with breakfast, which includes an always amazing "tasting menu" dinner at La Barbacane.
If you drive to La Cite, they have a special parking area outside the walls. After they check your reservations, security will call someone to come and gather you and your bags in a very tiny van that fits through the narrow streets. The drive to the hotel is just a few minutes, and kind of fun. That particular parking is free but they do have private parking as well. We've never had a problem.
Once you enter the hotel, the atmosphere is so calm and peaceful compared to what is going on outside with all the hustle and bustle of the tourists. (except in winter when it is extremely quiet)
We are always upgraded. I think it is their policy. In fact I don't think we have ever had a room looking out to the street, (the less expensive ones), but are always given a garden view, except the one time at Christmas they gave us the fabulous room over Chez Saskia, looking out at the Basilica of Saint-Nazaire. And last Christmas we stayed in a suite, with a separate sitting room. Very luxurious!
The hotel is run very professionally, we are always greeted warmly and welcomed back. If there is a problem, like a safe that doesn't work, they get to it fairly quickly. All the rooms we have stayed in have been nice, with very comfortable king-sized beds with wonderful sheets, and all the accoutrements of a good hotel---fridge, safe, desk, flat TV, bottles of water by the bed etc.. Before the ownership changed, we used to get quite the elaborate welcome with (depending on the time of year) a bottle of the sparkling wine from Limoux, a brioche, chocolates etc.. We still get the chocolates, thank goodness!
Depending on which floor one is staying on, there might be a balcony or deck-- or not. We only stay for one night at a time, but if one were to stay longer and have time to hang out on the decks, with the lounge chairs, it would be lovely. The views are fabulous of the lower town of Carcassonne, day and night. We love the old-fashioned fixtures in the bathrooms.
The grounds are quite nice, and one can stroll around, and then sit and enjoy a drink in the garden. We have never used the pool but it looks pretty nice. After dinner, on a sultry evening this past July we walked over and sat by the pool for a while and it was magical.
We always enjoy having our aperitifs in the elegant Library Bar before dinner. It is a comfortable and pleasant way to peruse the menu before being seated at our table. After ordering, we ask the sommelier to suggest a wine. It is always local of course, meaning very good value, but always perfect with dinner. They are very knowledgeable about the wines. Take advantage.
Breakfast used to be served at Chez Saskia but now it is in the dining room of La Barbacane which we actually prefer, even though Saskia was very nice and cozy, as well being such an historical building. This summer, because of the change, guests were able to eat breakfast outdoors which I think is an improvement. The breakfast is super, they have an amazing variety of food, and the service is great, considering that several of the servers were working until all hours serving dinner at La Barbacane! (which I will review separately) The new ownership is almost invisible.. except for the change of breakfast venue. Otherwise, things seem to be "as usual", so we are happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salnanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Managr at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your very comprehensive review of the different occasions you've stayed at our hotel. Your observant comments were read with much attention and interest - and of course, your thoughtful praise and obvious enjoyment of our hotel were greatly appreciated by all the staff. We look forward to your next visit and to making your stay equally pleasant and equally memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing