We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This has to be the best place to stay in Carcasonne, right in the heart of the citadel, ranged along the ramparts. You arrive by golf buggy from the secure carpark below, driven through impossibly narrow entrances. The hotel is full of character and the garden room we had with a small terrace was beautiful. The gardens are a feature of the hotel and the swimming pool area just perfect. We had dinner in the restaurant outside on the terrace. Sadly we were near the service area. It appeared as though there was no maitre d' and the organisation in chaos. It spoiled the meal, but I suspect it is in danger of loosing it's Michelin star

Room Tip: Book the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Managr at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions after your recent stay at our hotel. We were glad to know you enjoyed your room and the facilities our hotel has to offer but sincerely regret that your dining experience was not up to par. Please accept our apologies for the disappointing moment you went through and rest assured that your remarks were taken seriously by the service concerned. We hope we'll have the occasion to welcome you back to our hotel whenever you are next in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    328
    103
    33
    15
See reviews for
311
872
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New City, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We can't say enough about how much we love this hotel and I don't know why I waited so long to review it. The location is amazing, being right inside the walls of La Cite, a unique place in the world. We have stayed here numerous times over the years and it has always been a wonderful experience. The first time, we were on a bike tour from Agens to Narbonne, and this was one of our stops. What a treat! Eventually, we bought a house in the region where we now live part of the year.
We still stay at Hotel de la Cite even though our house is only about a half hour away! (so we can enjoy wine at dinner and not have to drive home) For the last several years we have stayed twice a year at the hotel---on our anniversary in the summer, with a package that includes breakfast and a delicious dinner at La Barbacane, and on Christmas eve when they have a great package deal with breakfast, which includes an always amazing "tasting menu" dinner at La Barbacane.
If you drive to La Cite, they have a special parking area outside the walls. After they check your reservations, security will call someone to come and gather you and your bags in a very tiny van that fits through the narrow streets. The drive to the hotel is just a few minutes, and kind of fun. That particular parking is free but they do have private parking as well. We've never had a problem.
Once you enter the hotel, the atmosphere is so calm and peaceful compared to what is going on outside with all the hustle and bustle of the tourists. (except in winter when it is extremely quiet)
We are always upgraded. I think it is their policy. In fact I don't think we have ever had a room looking out to the street, (the less expensive ones), but are always given a garden view, except the one time at Christmas they gave us the fabulous room over Chez Saskia, looking out at the Basilica of Saint-Nazaire. And last Christmas we stayed in a suite, with a separate sitting room. Very luxurious!
The hotel is run very professionally, we are always greeted warmly and welcomed back. If there is a problem, like a safe that doesn't work, they get to it fairly quickly. All the rooms we have stayed in have been nice, with very comfortable king-sized beds with wonderful sheets, and all the accoutrements of a good hotel---fridge, safe, desk, flat TV, bottles of water by the bed etc.. Before the ownership changed, we used to get quite the elaborate welcome with (depending on the time of year) a bottle of the sparkling wine from Limoux, a brioche, chocolates etc.. We still get the chocolates, thank goodness!
Depending on which floor one is staying on, there might be a balcony or deck-- or not. We only stay for one night at a time, but if one were to stay longer and have time to hang out on the decks, with the lounge chairs, it would be lovely. The views are fabulous of the lower town of Carcassonne, day and night. We love the old-fashioned fixtures in the bathrooms.
The grounds are quite nice, and one can stroll around, and then sit and enjoy a drink in the garden. We have never used the pool but it looks pretty nice. After dinner, on a sultry evening this past July we walked over and sat by the pool for a while and it was magical.
We always enjoy having our aperitifs in the elegant Library Bar before dinner. It is a comfortable and pleasant way to peruse the menu before being seated at our table. After ordering, we ask the sommelier to suggest a wine. It is always local of course, meaning very good value, but always perfect with dinner. They are very knowledgeable about the wines. Take advantage.
Breakfast used to be served at Chez Saskia but now it is in the dining room of La Barbacane which we actually prefer, even though Saskia was very nice and cozy, as well being such an historical building. This summer, because of the change, guests were able to eat breakfast outdoors which I think is an improvement. The breakfast is super, they have an amazing variety of food, and the service is great, considering that several of the servers were working until all hours serving dinner at La Barbacane! (which I will review separately) The new ownership is almost invisible.. except for the change of breakfast venue. Otherwise, things seem to be "as usual", so we are happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salnanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Managr at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your very comprehensive review of the different occasions you've stayed at our hotel. Your observant comments were read with much attention and interest - and of course, your thoughtful praise and obvious enjoyment of our hotel were greatly appreciated by all the staff. We look forward to your next visit and to making your stay equally pleasant and equally memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a five-star hotel of grand status built in 1901 and is within the walled city of Cacassone, so guests are within the historic fortification which makes seeing the sights merely a walk away. Secure parking (within the first wall) is available for a E15 fee but we parked outside the wall, along it seems with most other guests. A small van takes guests and luggage from the car to the hotel - a tight path and now I know why the hotel’s vans are so tiny. Our room has a fabulous balcony that is huge, complete with lie-low chairs and outdoor furniture, garden beds and perforated walls to protect the outdoor area from the wind. The view from the edge of the balcony looks over the city and the parapets of the inner wall. Rain and wind meant we couldn’t spend a lot of time outside but in better weather would be a great place to relax. The hotel restaurant was fully booked so we ate at a small family restaurant within the city (there are about 10 to chose from). We had an excellent night’s sleep in the room. Loved the quality of the room, the expansive storage and the separate bathroom and toilet and of course the outdoor area. Our mistake was only staying one night. There is a lot to see - very professional tourist shows and tonnes of history in the chateau and ramparts - and lots of eateries and cafes. Staying within the walled city means you have access to all the sights when the other tourists are kicked out and the gates are closed.

Room Tip: Chose one with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilDPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Managr at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write at length about your recent stay at Hotel de la Cité. We appreciated your comments and are very glad to know you enjoyed the short time you spent with us. We too are very sorry you didn't stay longer as we would have been delighted to point out all the sights to see, not only in the medieval citadel but in the region around Carcassonne - rich in history and tradition, as you so rightly observed. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel, if ever your travels bring you back to our region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Loved this hotel. We stayed in the medieval suite which was a lovely room with added touches such as espresso machine. The service is excellent as you would expect, but also done with a real sense of pride, particularly the welcome at breakfast. The pool area is lovely when it is too hot to sightsee and the access from the hotel straight into the city is really good. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the terraces enjoying a glass of limoux and the view which is magnificent. The hotel has free parking which is fine and you don't really need to pay for the secure parking unless you have a very expensive car. The brasserie in the jardin de l'eveque is romantic and great for those who want less formality than the bar arcane restaurant. Only negative is that it is pricey for drinks and you might want to explore the Citie itself at the end of the day when most of the other tourists have gone home. A very romantic and welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: The country style rooms are more more historic and rustic but possibly more attractive than the trad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishmanandabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Managr at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel following your recent stay with us. It was very gratifying to read your comments on what you liked about our various services - we're very happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay here! It's very true that there is a distinctly romantic atmosphere in the hotel's private gardens nestling within the old ramparts, with its panoramic view (loveliest in the evening) - just right for quiet moments together. We certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for many more such moments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Excellent rooms reception staff and breakfast staff wonderful. Great location and would recommend staying in one of the rooms facing the square. Pool area great for swim after sightseeing. Evening outside bar staff not as helpful. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmtwbarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Managr at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our hotel. Firstly, we sincerely regret and apologize for the less than helpful attitude you observed in some staff yet are very glad to know that all the other members of staff were attentive to your needs. As you mentioned visiting Carcassonne "en famille", we hope you enjoyed not only our private pool but the various summer family activities available in the medieval citadel and in the area surrounding Carcassonne. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you wish for another family break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel de la cite fir 4 nights and it was very very nice. Staff were attentive and very happy to help with my non french speaking abilities. Rooms are very well appointed and are also very comfortable. I would highly recommend room 106 which has a small private balcony.

The michelin star restaurant was marvelous i definitely recommend going. The hotel being situated in the middle of the walled city is a huge bonus, and you really feel a part of it. As their are many thousands of tourists each day visiting, staying at the hotel gives you the opportunity to walk around the city early in the morning before the hordes descend giving you the chance to take pictures without having a dozen other tourists in it.

Over all this hotel is 5 star and it definitely gives you the feeling your money is well spent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manage at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your warm recommendation of our hotel and our fine-dining restaurant La Barbacane! It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your room, the hotel's location in the heart of the citadel and also a great satisfaction for all the staff to know you were pleased by the service. Our location right by the Basilica and close to the Castle (Château) allows our guests to have some amazing views of these buildings as well as a panorama of the countryside. You're right in observing that staying with us right in the heart of the citadel gives guests the chance to explore its nooks and corners in those hours when the crowds aren't around - in the late evening or early in the morning. We hope to have the occasion to welcome you back, perhaps to explore our region in another season...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a wonderful and relaxing hotel...staff were discreet but so helpful and attentive. Two minor things, breakfast was excellent (particularly being able to finish our coffee on the outside terrace overlooking the walls and the newer town) but why were the fresh meats on the buffet in the breakfast room not covered to keep the flies off? We could not keep any WiFi connection in our bedroom, my laptop found it but it continually crashed, the receptionist immediately aplogised and offered to come and help but it was a problem with the signal strength as I was able to easily connect in the main reception area. Our room was in the adjoining building over the little "bridge" and this was really nice.... shades of Venice came to mind, and it offered stunning views over the countryside.

Room Tip: We had room 220 which has stunning views away from the old medieval city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manage at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We were pleased to know that you enjoyed your room and its amenities. Yes, the windows on either side of the "bridge" passageway that connects the hotel's 2 buildings allow you a nice view of the basilica square on one side and the stunning panoramic view of the the ramparts and the lower town on the other. Please accept our apologies for the intermittent internet connection you had in your room. Thank you for your useful suggestion about a cover for some breakfast items. Many thanks also for your pleasant comments concerning our staff, which were very much appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hôtel de la Cité, whenever you are next in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing