We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superlative Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Hotel de la Cite for 6 days in July, 2013 and had an amazing experience. The staff was uniformly charming (especially Natalie, whose welcome at the breakfast room each day was delightful), breakfast was amazing, and the room was luxurious. We did not dine at the fine dining restaurant, but did happen into the related restaurant across the street (Jardin de l'Eveque) which was charming and delicious and less formal. It was a treat to swim in the hotel pool and see the wall of the church right next door, and cocktails in the garden overlooking the ramparts were also a treat. If you are looking for a lovely, luxurious base of operations for your travels in Carcassonne and environs, definitely spring for this hotel. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens of the hotel. If you are going during the summer rock concer...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2650chicagotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your very warm review of our hotel. We're truly so happy to learn of all the details, big and small, that you noticed and gave you such pleasure. Your very kind comments about our staff (and of course Nathalie) have been passed on to them - thank you on their behalf! It's true that relaxing by our pool in the shade of the high wall of the neighboring basilica is quite an interesting experience - Our hotel was built on the site of the former (and long demolished) bishop's palace, which explains why it's adjacent to the basilica. We hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back whenever you next visit our region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,563)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were staying with friends locally and decide to 'do Carcassonne' and what better place to stay than within the walls.
The appearance and appointment of the Cite was everything we expected (given the prices: 500 Euros + for our suite, and 200 Euros for our teenage girls) , but not more, which was a shame. You expect the top end to wow you. However great pool in a stunning location with views from every angle. Polite staff, who do just enough.
However, the reason we chose the Cite was the Michelin star restaurant. If we could not have booked a table for the night, there were plenty of other places to stay, with better reviews and less costly.
Dinner was a disaster! In fact we never got past the canepes and that was second time around.
We arrived, all smartened up and ready for a treat at 7:50 for an 8:00pm table. Committed to do the 'taster menu'.
The only table in the ante room for four people had been occupied. There was no welcome, no hello, just a barman that ignored us. We sat, we waited and we left after 15 minutes with the following words...." we are going next door to a local bar and will be back in 20 minutes, perhaps you will be ready for us by then".
Calm, specific and reasonable in the circumstances, given the plate price of 150 Euros for the Tasting Menu, and then drinks would have added another 75 Euros per head. So we were in for 900 Euros minimum territory! That should buy some sort of welcome? Some sort of recognition as a customer?
Well, guess what, when we returned ( having in the meantime also given a 'heads up' to the front desk and duty manager) imagine our surprise when after 15 imnutes ( and admittedly this time some drinks and canepes did arrive) the Maitre D and menus were no where to be seen? Was it an off night? Was there a disaster in the kitchen? A force majeure in progrees? As a Restaurant owner. As a cooffee shop owner my wife and I are used to service standards, we have a 'welcome in the first 30 seconds' as a standard. Michelin restaurants have 'a rhythm', but not at the Cite. I asked for the Menus. They arrived with a man who I assume was the Maitre D. He was rude, he was curt, he was arrogant and completely oblivious of the issue, he was not a Michelin starred Maitre D. However this was clearly his space, his rules and his way of working. I'm staggered that the Michelin Inspectors, his Management, the Owner or more importantly the Head Chef put up with him. I was not prepared to appease him, and asked for an alternative restaurant recommendation. Quelle Surprise! I had his attention, at last! I took him to one side, so not to cuase a stir, after all we were in hallowed ground, and gave him some quiet feedback and we left. The restaurant he recommended was closed - permanently, perhaps a family concern?
We found a great alternative, not Michelin starred but Michelin standards, especially the Maitre D, who rescued our night. Sadly I do not have a record of the name.
I had the obligitory meetings on check out with the manager, and as I found out later the owner, but looking back at the reviews doubt if their promises are genuine, because it appears our friend the Maitre D is a serial offender! Offering discounts cuts no ice, get it right first time.
So the moral of the story is that Michelin stars are not a guarantee of service. I strongly recommend the Michelin inspectors check out this restaurant. Also that the Chef gets a grip of the front of house, especially the Maitre D, as there were signs of excellence.
Given the French labour laws I suspect he is 'bullet proof', now theres an idea!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the walls.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josephoreily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité.
As they had done so when speaking to you personally, the management and owners once again offer their sincere apologies for your unhappy experience at our restaurant La Barbacane. You had every right to expect a high level of service with personalized attention and every reason to complain about the indifferent treatment you received that evening. Our senior managers also deeply regret that, in spite of the frank & open discussion they had with you immediately following your complaint, they could not persuade you to dine at La Barbacane. However, we're very glad to know that you enjoyed your dinner at another of our company's restaurants.
Your remark that we should "get it right the first time" is well-taken. From the large majority of positive reviews we receive, we believe that this is generally the case. By mentioning this, we're in no way attempting to minimize your own disappointing experience but simply to point out that we do indeed “get it right the first time” not just by chance and occasionally, but to the satisfaction of the great majority of our clients. It’s to our great and sincere regret that we slipped up and didn’t manage to do so in your case.
Thank you for bringing up the positive aspects of your stay at Hôtel de la Cité – this allows us to hope that perhaps you may one day give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We only popped in for a looksie and a reconnoitre. What we found is an exceptional space with gothic-corridor-gallery leading into the lounge. Antiques,suits of armour and artworks litter the heavy wooded interior.
But it is the garden,that is the knock-out. It is astride the city walls with a captivating view over the entire Carcassone valley and beyond.
We had tea under a massive tree near the pool and lounging chairs. The staff were exceptionly pleasant and even let us have a peek at room 308 ,with its four-poster bed, amazing furnishings and superb views. The hotel boasts a world famous restaurant... la Barbacane.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to Hôtel de la Cité. We're glad to know you liked the neo-gothic touches that we still maintain from when the hotel was built in the early 1900s. We're also happy to know you enjoyed a quiet moment relaxing in our secluded garden with its view of the castle and the ramparts. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff and of course, for your kind recommendation of our hotel. We hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to our part of France.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As a special treat booked into hotel for birthday celebration. Room was fantasic with true luxury feel. Staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating. Breakfast had everything you could ask for and staff made sure everything was well stocked up. Bar staff were very attentive and we enjoyed sitting listening to Pianist and relaxing in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laings11c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our hotel. We're very pleased to know that you chose our hotel to celebrate a birthday and that you had an enjoyable time. Thank you for your nice remarks about our staff and facilities - we certainly hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back for another celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a traditional luxury hotel in a fabulous location in Carcassone. The prestige restaurant is outstanding - lunch is fantastic value.

HOWEVER, despite charging luxury rates, the management of this hotel operate it like a discount chain hotel. Our first evening we sat in the bar for a (very expensive) cocktail. For 30 minutes a procession of staff squeezed by us transporting large dining chairs into storage. Admittedly we did get one apology for the disruption, but no remedial action was taken. We later discovered that the room being vacated was not in use that evening - in other words the chairs could have been moved at any time - say 1am when the bar was empty?

On the Sunday the outside seating area was being powerwashed on and off from 11am until around 4pm. So guests were denied comfortable seating throughout a sunny afternoon. Again, why was this not done at the guests' convenience rather than the staffs'?

I could go on - suffice to say that hotels that aspire to luxury status need more than high rates.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building and not an annexe
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SCOENGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to our hotel.
Before anything else please accept our sincere apologies for the annoyances that you had to put up with while you were staying with us. We truly regret the thoughtless behaviour that led some of our staff to carry out their tasks without due consideration for the presence and the comfort of those guests who, like you, were bound to be disturbed by so much obtrusive activity.
The management has spoken with various heads of departments to ensure that all members of staff, even those not usually in direct contact with our guests, understand the high level of guest-oriented service we require so that such behavior will not recur.
In spite of the irritations you were subjected to, you were kind enough to make some positive notes on other aspects of your stay and we wish to thank you for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A great experience smooth checkin, great room, excellent dinner and drinks, until it was time for breakfast, 530am the kitchen kicks into action. If your in 110 it feels like your working for your breakfast as you are awoken by the staff and deliveries. Reception are well aware of the problem, you just have to be unfortunate enough to draw the short straw and get this room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 110 unless you want to help cook breakfast when the deliveries and staff arrive at 530 am
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ansteyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to our hotel. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, except for being so rudely woken up early in the morning by noise from the street. Please accept our sincere apologies for this occurrence. Your stay was at the time of the 14th of July firework celebrations, which are quite spectacular over the citadel where our hotel is located. Afterwards, the streets are usually littered with the fireworks debris that the town council's cleaning service clears away as quickly as possible, starting early in the morning. This was the noise that so unfortunately woke you up. As a matter of fact, the only kitchen staff at work at 5.30am is our baker, in his basement bakery, located in another part of the hotel. This fact obviously isn't meant to make your unpleasant experience easier to accept, but simply by way of information. We're very sorry your otherwise pleasant stay was marred by this incident and hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice room ,great view.Smell on entering Hotel like a badly run old peoples home.Air conditioning in room noisy-it eventually broke down on very hot night (not just in our room).It happens quite often apparently no fans offered.Internal door did not close. At one stage room service removed flannels and soap and did not replace despite this being pointed out to reception.Gardens and pool very nice.
For the price it was disappointing although it was in an excellent location.Definitely needs refurbishment and the Air con needs replacing it is on its last legs!

Room Tip: Ok for one night purely for location and garden.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We're sorry you didn't fully enjoy your stay and apologize for the various shortcomings you had to put up with. We're also very sorry that you were bothered by the smell of the beeswax we use throughout the hotel to polish and maintain the extensive woodwork – staircases, wall paneling, furniture. It is indeed a scent very evocative of old polished wooden interiors - and is part of our hotel’s "sensory" signature. With regard to the air-conditioning at the time of your stay: there was indeed a problem that evening. After several very hot days with continued extensive use, there was inevitably a strain on the air-conditioning system. A technician was at work repairing it till about 1am. Our air-conditioning system is regularly checked to ensure overall smooth functioning. In spite of the lapses you noted, we are truly glad to know you did appreciate our private pool and garden, as well as your room and the views. We hope we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
785 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
311 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: $246 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing