We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Various and good menus”
Review of Chez Fred

Chez Fred
Ranked #35 of 344 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $42
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant working fresh products and home-made, "Chez Fred " welcome you all year in its modern room with its oven , or outside(terrace), has the inside of a quiet and green patio in city center.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We dined at 'Chez Fred' thursday evening. There is a large choice of various menus, clearly explained by the waitress. Service was very correct -also by the young unexperienced waitress- and food was very good. Large choice of correctly priced regional cuvées. Fred was present on the terrace and is clearly maintaining the level of his business with his own hands and eyes. Only minor point is that the terrace is enclosed by buildings and not the most nice place to be seated. But again, it's the food that counts, and that was more than alright. Apparently it is allowed in France to smoke, even on a semi-closed terrace. That's a pity, as it spoils the taste of the food.

Thank BDF1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandraC11, Gérant at Chez Fred, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Hello and thank you for your comment. We are delighted that At"CHEZ Fred" pleased you and that you spent a good moment in our restaurant.
Indeed in France, we can smoke again outside(in terrace) outside open, and to be pleasant to all customers we divided the terrace into a part smoker and one non-smoker, it is just enough to specify it, so that the moment is pleasant for all. Thank you greetings. Fred and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Chez Fred
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived without reservations early on Saturday evening. Four adults and two children (ages 7 & 11). The kids had good choices and the adults were treated to a wonderful French menu. The food, service and atmosphere were just what we wanted. It isn't easy to find, but your patience will be rewarded. Six of us ate dinner, including two bottles of local wine and desserts for all, for 164 euros. Not bad for the wonderful evening we enjoyed.

1  Thank DouginOriental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandraC11, Gérant at Chez Fred, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Good afternoong and thank you for your opinion.
We are delighted and reassured to see that we allowed you to spend a pleasant moment " at Chez Fred " you, adults, and your children. Your opinion restores us of the courage in front of situations which we find inequitable and inequitable .Thank for your help bets regards. Fred's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately meets this restaurant is not my expectations. Ratings lowered because of the over grilled chicken was very burnt. In addition, the owner treated me very unpleasant when I pointed this out!

Thank Björn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandraC11, Gérant at Chez Fred, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Good morning sir, we take into account your comment. As I explained it to you, I cannot accept your opinion. You ordered a chicken who is cooked in the wood fire, you ate your dish) and then you explained us it this was uneatable. I came to discuss with you to understandyour dissatisfaction and the only answer was this dish is not good and I do not pay 4 dishes of the table, otherwise I shall make for you a bad advertising(publicity). At Chez Fred, If a maincourse does not please you, we can change it if you will prevent us at the time of your meal (an error of our teams can arrive), on the other hand if you eat all and what you refuse to pay the bill of the table it is not possible at Chez Fted
If this refusal makes you say that I was not pleasant, then I understand we do not work of the same way. Sorry. Greetings sandra Chez fred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This restaurant is down a small alley across from a park and Canal Midi. They did a great job appointing the space with indoor and out seating. The service was extremely friendly, accommodating, and professional. The menu was easy with classics prepared to perfection. The family running Chez Fred sat and ate together near closing time. Hope to go back to Carcassonne just to try more of the menu and enjoy the welcoming dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank York476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandraC11, Gérant at Chez Fred, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Good afternoong and thank you very much for your visit in our restauran.We are very happy that the atmosphere and the plates enjoy you.
We will expect to you totaste anoothers flavours inside the restaurant. bets regards. fred's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Looking for a casual dining experience away from the hustle of L Cite and Chez Fred was the answer. Inside and outside dining, lots of locals and a bit away from the beaten track down the Railway Station end of town.

Food was excellent and service was pleasant and complete. Recommend to anyone.

Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezFredCarca, Gérant at Chez Fred, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour et merci de votre soutien.Il est vrai qu'il fautnous chercher et nous trouver en ville basse, en face square Chenier et sous un porche à passer....... mais c’est ce qui fait son charme comme vous nous l’écrivez si gentiment. Nous sommes ravis que cet effort fourni à venir Chez Fred vous ait ravis et valait la peine...merci de votre soutien.salutations gourmandes
Au plaisir Fred et son équipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Fred also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
 
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Chez Fred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing