We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as it used to be”
Review of Chez Fred

Chez Fred
Ranked #38 of 346 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $41
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant working fresh products and home-made, "Chez Fred " welcome you all year in its modern room with its oven , or outside(terrace), has the inside of a quiet and green patio in city center.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

we ate here twice on our last visit to Carcassonne so hurried back for our one evening ,its all different and was not very busy
our waiter left taking our order to hurry to great a lady and stayed to chat to her
he insisted in speaking his rather off hand english although we all do speak french well enough to order etc

it was obvious we were strangers and not ordering all the extras by his service, only one of us had wine and no starters were needed ,
as a retired restaurant manager I do know the way it should be

two ordered the cassoulet and one the half a roasted chicken all requiring 20 mins notice which was fine

he brought some dried up toast and a pot of something for while we waited
but it took 2 requests to have a little fresh bread, which was delicious when it came

the carafes of water were straight from the tap not chilled at all
due ring the evening some french couples and a party of four came in and were given a great deal of conversation and attention to their orders
the maels were very nice when they came and hot all very good
the three desserts were fine although my request for no cream was taken to be abnormal with the comment but it is our cream
and had to be returned just before service as he realised that it did have cream on
My daughter who lives in New Zealand and was on her first visit to Carcassonne offered to treat us and went up to the till she was left standing and ignored by the chap on the till while he chatted away to the same young lady who our waiter had dashed off to greet

all in all its very sad that such good food from the chef should be served by such staff , I will not be going back

Thank alicia71lunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezFredCarca, Gérant at Chez Fred, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour
nous prenons en compte votre constatation et sommes très surpris.Nous sommes désolés si cette fois ci cela ne correspondait pas a vos attentes pourtant ni équipe de salle , ni de cuisine n'a changé. Nous ne comprenons pas. Si vous êtes venus deja 2 fois , vous connaisse donc notre qualité et prestation. peut être était ce un jour "sans".Au plaisir
salutations Fred et son équipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 467 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

6 of us diner which was good, my mother was in a wheel chair and waiter was attentive (there where only 2 waiters and it looked busy) and keep us informed at all times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was recommended as being good for Gluten Free food and that's fine if you mean Gluten Free and bland. The salad I had to start was very nice but the duck I ordered as a main course came without any sauce and it was an unimaginative and boring meal. It was also the most expensive meal we had in Carcassonne. We were there for ten days and ate at various restaurants during our stay. If you are looking for a "sans gluten" meal you would do well to stay away from Chez Fred.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezFredCarca, Propriétaire at Chez Fred, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour, nous prenons en compte votre commentaire, nous sommes désoles que votre repas ne convenait pas à vos attentes.
Nous vous précisons que pour les allergiques au gluten, le client reste libre de son choix, nous adaptons nos plats en fonction de vos envies, et le client choisit, et dans votre cas, ce fut sans sauce.
Nous vous précisons que les prix sont affichés aussi clairement, et un plat commence a 11.00euros dans notre restaurant,et un menu à 14.00euros(midi) ou 19.00€uros, vous avez été libre de vos choix.Au plaisir d'une meilleure rencontre. salutations Fred et son équipe.

Hello, we take into account your comment, we are sadden that your meal did not suit in your expectations(waits).
We specify you that for the allergic to the gluten, the customer remains free of his choice, we adapt our dishes according to your desires(envies), and the customer chooses, and in your case, it was without sauce.
We specify you that the prices(prizes) are so clearly shown, and a dish(flat) begins has 11.00euros in our restaurant, and a menu in 14.00euros (noon)((south)) or 19.00€uros, you were free of your choices. In the pleasure of a better meeting. Greetings Fred and his team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Invited my friends for dinner and recommended by the B&B where I stayed. Had a nice big salad and dessert was excellent. Homemade white wine sangria. Service was good and quick.

Thank Marieke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezFredCarca, Propriétaire at Chez Fred, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your visit in our restaurant, and we are delighted that you have pass a pleasant moment in our company. In the pleasure. Greedy greetings. Fred and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was torn between giving chez Fred three or four points. I gave it four because the staff are excellent. If I had been marking just the food I would have given it three and a half (I know you can't give a half mark). I had aubergine stuffed with ricotta cheese as I love aubergine. It was disappointing though as it was too cold (I can understand that you need to keep food well chilled when the weather is very hot but it makes food tasteless sometimes) and looked very unappetizing as the ricotta cheese mixed with the aubergine flesh for the stuffing looked grey and lumpy. My main course of Thai-style pork was very tasty. My husband had marine pannacotta which he said was very good, but his main course of fish with olive oil and lemon was quite ordinary - the sort of thing we might have on a weeknight at home. We both loved the tiramisu though - it was the best bit of the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank papaver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezFredCarca, Gérant at Chez Fred, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013
Google Translation

Thank you for your visit and for your comment. We take into account your attention on this menu .Il seem that you are introduced in cooking, he would have been sensible to take a menu more raised(more brought up) in price(prize), to be able to benefit from a more developed culinary research and can be more adapted has what you looked for. Delighted by this exchange, we thank you for your comment. In the pleasure greetings.bets regards Fred's staff.

Merci de votre visite et de votre commentaire. Nous prenons en compte votre attention sur ce menu .Il semble que vous êtes initié en cuisine, il aurait été judicieux de prendre un menu plus élevé en prix, pour pouvoir bénéficier d'une recherche culinaire plus développée et peut être plus adaptée à ce que vous recherchiez. Ravis de cet échange , nous vous remercions de votre commentaire et prenons note de votre point de vue..Au plaisir salutations Fred et son équipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Fred also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Chez Fred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing