We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambres le Grand Puits
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Going to Carcassonne and staying outside of the Citè is a bit of waste. But so is staying inside the Citè and spending an eye and a leg. Madame Nicole's rooms were all i could ask for and even more. The Citè is frankly very small so it's not really a matter of distances or anything, but having a terrace, a nice view from the room and the possibility to get out even in the middle of the night and experience the mesmerizing atmosphere of the empty Citè is priceless.

Or maybe it isnt. Cause you can get all that for a very, VERY affordable price. I booked the Orange room which was too big for a single traveller (two single beds and a double one), had a small but very functional bathroom with a shower,a small kitchenette (which i didnt use) and a fridge with a bottle of juice, some yoghurt and the stuff you 'd need to have breakfast in the room.
The owner, madame Nicole,is a perfect host.She is as helpful as it gets and she wont invade your privacy. You have your keys,you can do whatever you want.

I was absolutely satisfied with the Chambres le Grand Puits and the day I ll visit Carcassonne again I have no doubt about where I ll stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 64 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family of five shared 2 rooms over New Years Eve this year. Nice enough rooms in a perfect location. Hotel does not take credit cards. Rooms have small kitchenettes which we put to use. Host stocks pantry with coffee etc which saved us a couple euros.

Room Tip: Host very accommodating. Tell her what you are looking for and she will try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We wanted clean, budget accommodations within the fortress walls of Carcassonne. This was perfect. We had the huge Orange room with a small balcony on the third floor, and loved it. It is right around the corner from everything in the old city. The only thing I can add to the other reviews is to be careful when parking in the hotel parking area. In our efforts to find an open space, we missed the sign directly in front of us showing hotel parking was to the left. We went to the right (area closest to the city gate) and found a ticket waiting for us when we left two days later. We had to hike back to the hotel and pay Nicole the 17 Euros for the ticket: a silly and costly mistake on our part.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in the Orange room. I don't know where to start. Everything is right about this room. It's spacious, airy, open, and clean. The bathroom is well appointed, the kitchenette-closet is exactly what you need for a space like this and no more and no less. The location is incredible, right in the heart of the walled city.
But the best thing about it is the owner and the level of care she brings to everything. She's positively eager to make sure your stay is the best. She's always at the little store, waving and smiling and greeting her guests. We went by her little store to buy drinks before walking around for the day, she said "oh no, included in the room price." We arrived after a day of buying gifts for our unfortunate friends who couldn't come with us, and she saw our bags and offered help carrying them up.
I will go back to Carcassonne again some day, and I will never even consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get the orange room! The Balcony-with-a-view is unbelievable. NOT TO BE MISSED!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qqpwpqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A funky but fun little hotel above Nicole's gift shop. Unbelievable location, in the heart of the medievel city. Could walk to everything we wanted to see. We stayed in the yellow room. It was funky and unique. Small bathroom (we found this to be typical of France). Very noisy at night as there are several street sweepers and large vehicles that clean the streets of the old city.
Very nice owner. She gaves us an excellent recommendation for a local restaurant and also recommended what to see on the night walk. The night walk is tremendous. Carcassone is beautifully lit at night and you dont see this if you daytrip to Carcassone. Owner also speaks good English. Hotel has a tremendous value considering its location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

parking: offsite, preferred parking but it takes 10mn to roll your luggage inside the town to your hotel. That's true for most places there.
AC: none, we opened windows, but it got us noise
Room: not very big but homy and functional. We liked it.
Noise: outside was noisy, especially with windows opened for temperature. We didn't sleep so well as a result.
bed: good
internet: worked well
staff: very nice lady who works in the store next door (check what her hours are, she isn't there 24/7 to check in). She got us al setup. Note that there are only 3 rooms and it's cash only.
breakfast: you have everything to make breakfast in your room. It's quite well equipped.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank marcmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staying in Le Grand Puits was definitely a good choice. Recommended for those on a budget, but want to stay within the city walls of Carcassonne. My family of four adults, speaking almost no french, enjoyed meeting Nicole and owner, who was very friendly and warm. Breakfast is self serve, so you can eat anytime. Has eggs, juice, cereals, coffee, and a few other unique breakfast items that are included in the price of the room.

You simply can't argue with the location, staying anywhere in this city is an absolute treat, something we will remember forever. We stayed in the blue room with the extra apartment room for an additional fee that really allowed our two adult couples to have 2 seperate rooms. This would be a fun place to take a family to with children.

The only negative we noted was a slight "musty" smell in the room, though after a few minutes we hardly noticed it anymore. There was wifi but it was spotty for us, but allowed us to access the internet as needed.

Overall we recommend staying here, as the location doesn't get any better and Nicole was a wonderful hostess. This location was recommended by Rick Steves as a budget option, and he was right!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#28 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
520 reviews
1.1 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La C...
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambres le Grand Puits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres le Grand Puits

Address: 8 Place du grand Puits | Medieval City, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne Center
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 rooms located in the heart of the Medieval City in a Renaissance-style house ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing