We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge des Lices

Auberge des Lices
Ranked #8 of 329 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Though Le Cite is very commercial..locals appear to be the main people eating at this restaurant..wonderful local fare..not expensive..good wines by the glass. As a solo traveller they were very accomodating and helpful
Liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Super food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

With the exception of one other couple my wife and I were the only customers but that didn't worry us as the food was very good - the cassoulet was especially noteworthy. Good and reasonably priced wine list. The waiter was very pleasant and the absence of a common language (my poor French being matched by his limited English) didn't present too much of an obstacle!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Probus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    219
    45
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The wine was nice, but that was all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This restaurant suffers from the same indifference that a lot of the restaurant in La Cite do, the staff figure :they're tourists ,they won't be back, so who cares!

The Service: was irritating, having told the waiter I didn't eat meant they brought out a meat based Amuse Bouche, we had to ask 3 times for water, they brought the wrong cutlery for the lamb & cheese courses, the brought the wrong dessert and when I explained we hadn't ordered it he said we had and dumped it on the table in front of us, took ages to get the bill and we couldn't wait to leave.

The Food: I had the €28 menu three courses, my husband had the €39 menu 5 courses. It Was ok, it wasn't awful just wasn't particularily interesting or tasty , fish was very over cooked and especially tasteless vegetables were mushy and unattractively presented.

The Wine was lovely but thats becausea ll they had to do was open it!

Price was 95 with two half bottles of nice wine.

I shall never return

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank keltchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hiden Gem!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We got an recommendation from a local to this hidden gem! It is hidden in narrow and not so interesting street not far away from tourist trap restaurant. This is really nice, decent and excellent quality food restaurant. In my view they offer modern cuisine based on local fresh ingredients. We were such amazed!

We ordered basic 3 courses menu for 19.50€ and it is really fair price for what you get!

One minor drawback is that the waiter had quite poor English, but it was more fun and mystery with that.

Highly recommended, this is true restaurant visited by locals, not "tourist trap"...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal - good food, nice inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Popular with locals. Good amount of space aorund tables, not on top of everyone. Service quite formal and efficient. Menu was a bit more imaginative than some but I still went for the cassouelt which was pretty good. I would come back and eat here again sometime.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank saxonshore63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal at a very fair price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you like to eat and drink well without spending a months salary we recommend this classy, but reasonable restaurant in the old medieval city in Carcassonne. We dined here at our last night in Carcassonne and it was pure joy. We took the 29 € menu and got 3 cources, plus 2 small extras, from a chef who knew exactly what he was doing. Good quality products all the way through. We only had one glass of white wine, but it was fine. The portion-sizes might be a to small if you are very hungry...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank actdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge des Lices also viewed

 
Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Auberge des Lices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing