We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic experience, so much to see and do.”
exterior view of the holiday cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior view of the holiday cottage
patio & bbq for long lazy lunches gite inside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
exterior view of the holiday cottage
patio & bbq for long lazy lunches
gite inside
gite fully equiped kitchen area
gite master bedroom
gite twin room
gite landing
Shaded sitting area for cool drinks on warm evenings
view of the village of Cailhavel
fabulous autumn colours of the vines
A view towards the Pyrenees
Canal du Midi, a UNESCO world heritage site
The Cité of Carcassonne, a UNESCO world heritage site
Limoux Carnaval, the world's longest carnaval
Excellent wines from the Languedoc region on our doorstep
Tour de Magdalene at Rennes-le-Château
The Bassin at Castelnaudary, a UNESCO world heritage site
View of the Lauragais
Poterie Not, hand made pottery near Castelnaudary
Limoux market, one of many local markets selling fresh produce
Local produce is available at many local farms
Château Lastours
Lagrasse Abbey, one of the 'plus beaux villages de France'
Chalabre
Abbey de St.Papoul
Vines near Carcassonne
Grotto at Cabrespine
Tourist Train from Axat to Rivesaltes
Château de Puilaurens
Mural
snails
sunflowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Richjjohn
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 617 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience, so much to see and do.”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We set out to experience the area around Carcassonne and found Chez Grady here on Trip Advisor. Our week long stay was far better than we might have hoped. Located in a cute village, Chez Grady is a completely renovated modernized home with unlimited fine touches that make life so comfortable. Deborah and Steve make everything so easy, from booking, well appointed furnishings, many helpful travel and touring ideas and most of all their hospitality make Chez Grady a home away from home. We truly look forward to returning soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern and clean with great hosts!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about not only us but also our wonderful region, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you'd like to return. We look forward to your next visit and we'll do our very best to make your stay as easy and as enjoyable as possible. Regards S&D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm C
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This property is situated in a small quiet village but shops and tourist locations are easily accessible. Deborah and Steve are attentive and knowledgeable hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble.
We went mainly to visit Carcassonne but were enchanted by the beauty of the countryside and the many other historical sites.
The accommodation is to a very high standard, well equipped with very comfortable beds. The outside area provides shade as well as sun and excellent barbeque facilities.
Prior to arrival e-mail contact with Deborah provided all the information we needed to make this a successful and memorable visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience
Liked least: cannot think of anything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit to this wonderful region of France, we're also very pleased that the pre-stay information contained in our guide enabled you to make the most of you time with us. We look forward to seeing again some time in the future perhaps.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius P
Stanwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely holiday!

It is the third time we’ve been there and we really enjoyed every time. The gite is located in a very nice and quiet village, in the heart of Pays de Cathars, very conveniently located if you want to visit the castles. It is equipped with all you need to make your stay pleasant, it is very clean and suitable for a family.

And then- for the grill lovers- it is that lovely BBQ outside on the terrace entirely yours!

Debby and Stephen are fantastic hosts – always very nice and welcoming, very much enjoyed their hospitability. Definitely a place to come back!

Cristina and Marius
Stanwell/ Staines-upon-Thames
UK

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2014
Many thank for your review, we're so pleased that you have chosen to stay with us for each of your visits and also we're delighted that you want to return to this superb region of France to continue to explore it's many treasures. Many thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W
Villemoustaussou, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely stay again”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was another return to this gite run by Debbie And Steve and yes as always it was a wonderful stay. Not just the weather but the gite and their care for their guests. If you haven't been yet you should do so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2014
Many thanks for this review, it's pleasing to know that we're still getting it right and that you want to come back! We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yesitsall...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accommodation with great owners”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A beautifully renovated property which was exceptionally clean and which had all we needed for a stress free holiday, including beach towels, linen change, BBQ, games, guide books, maps, well organised tourist information, etc. Greeted on arrival by the lovely owners Steve and Deborah who went through everything with us and who had even taken the time to provide a jar of delicious local snacks and to put a bottle of sparkling wine and a bottle of water in the fridge! Steve and Deborah were always available to provide invaluable advice on things to do and places to see when asked but never intruded. The village itself is quiet and fairly remote so don't expect to walk out in the evening for a bite to eat or a drink but, having said that, there are so many interesting places to visit and beautiful walks to go on in the region that we were rarely home before closing time anyway. A supermarket 10 minutes drive away had everything we needed and a petrol station too which was useful. All in all, a great place to stay with friendly and very helpful owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition, cleanliness, facilities, owners
Liked least: No (early) bread or food outlets in the village
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this positive review of your stay with us, you describe the village as it is and although there isn't a baker in the village we do offer an early morning bread delivery should you want it. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, many thanks once again for your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AD_lONDON...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, comfortable, convenient and hospitable”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I dont usually write reviews but I tried to write review for our stay on my return but it didnt complete properly. Trying again as we had a great time.
We were warmly welcomed by Steve and Debbie on our arrival. We were even invited to the town's astronomical gathering and saw Saturn and its rings for the first time.
The gite was well equipped and very clean. It had everything we needed and the kids loved that i had wifi.
The location was great for the many trips that we made using the gite as the centre. Steve and Debbie provided an array of useful information to decide where to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Comfortable, clean and peaceful.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenedeF...
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pristine, comfortable, conveniently located, delightful gite stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We arrived late in the evening and were met warmly by Steve and Deborah. Chez Grady was a haven of quiet comfort seemingly in the middle of nowhere yet only a short drive to many interesting towns, including the breathtakingly beautiful Carcassonne. The gite was very well appointed with everything you could need. It was spotlessly clean and has been recently renovated and tastefully decorated. Deborah and Steve were friendly and helpful with suggestions for day trips. WIFI and English-language TV were a big plus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite was squeaky clean and comfortable
Liked least: The village was so small it didn't have a boulangerie yet in all fairness a baker delivered baked goods daily
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing