We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, modern, comfortable”
Review of Bloc G

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bloc G
Ranked #24 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

After touring the medieval city of Carcassonne, it was a total relief of the touristy crowds to return to this oasis. The food was divine for dinner, and the breakfast included in room rate. All was perfect including a parking lot right in front.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qiconsults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Bloc G
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was looking for a hotel near Carcassone castle, and I found this B&B accomodation.
Wether it s centrally located, it s a bit tricky to arrive by car, however it was easy to park near b&b once I found it. Much better than an hotel. Place is very quiet, guests have entry key to the building and to the room. There is a restaurant open to the public downstairs.

Charming place within walking distance of the castle. Extremely friendly staff, charming place. Excellent breakfast with coffee, tea or hot chocolate available. Also cured meats, ham, cakes, croissants,... There is no TV in the room, but anyway who needs it while in Carcassone

Lots of restaurants arround and also within 20 minutes walking to channel du Midi and train station.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a bit bigger and has a bathtube and separate shower
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Galo_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This B&B is situated just outside the city walls by the old bridge. It should be noted that the proprietors run a restaurant on the ground floor. We had lunch on arrival but unfortunately my husband was ill shortly afterwards so we cannot recommend it.The decoration of the spacious room was atypical/spartan but we found it pleasing enough. Going down to breakfast in the morning we found no sign of life at 0830 so we went for a walk. On returning after 0900 we telephoned - no reply. We were about to leave when the breakfast person appeared, full of apologies for oversleeping. By 0930 we had been offered a cup of coffee and some fruit juice. A commercial bun was presented but there was no sign of bread, butter or croissants so we paid a reduced price and left.

Room Tip: The rooms looking onto the walled city must be best. Ours looked onto a building covered in scaffold...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a comfortable stay at Bloc G, which is ideally located between the fortified old town and the Bastide and next to the pedestrian Old Bridge. Our room was large and light, with interesting minimalist decor and a good bed. There is a free carpark in front of the hotel and we were able to find a space there, though it was quite full most of the time. The restaurant was closed on the night we were there so we couldn't try it, but the included breakfast was good.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kirkw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Spent 2 nights at Bloc G and loved the individuality of the rooms. Had a large room with a comfortable bed and huge walk in shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. it is in a good location with free parking in front of the hotel. In easy walking distance of the old town and castle and worth a walk into the new town in the evening as we found a lovely town square with lots of bars and restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margho_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed there for Bastele day, location was amazing right next to best place to watch fire works! 10 min walk into town and 10 min walk to Castle. Staff were nice and helpful even know they were extremely busy getting ready for the big night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Bloc G. It was a bit hard to find Bloc G at first as our Tom Tom didn't recognize the number of the building. It would have been easier had we know that Bloc G was at the very end of rue Barbican and at the foot of the Vieille Pont adjoining a large car park. The car park is pretty full during the day, but opens up a bit in the evenings. We got a space right in front of the hotel. There is no charge for parking here.

You enter the hotel through the restaurant. The staff is very friendly and all speak English.

We were shown to the apartment which is on the 1st floor. There is a large entry area with 3 windows that look up to la Cité above. What a lovely view.

There is a very large kitchen, dining, sitting room. The seating area has a sofa and 2 lounge chairs. There are also 2 twin beds on the sides of the rooms. TheTV is small but we certainly had no interest in watching it with such magnificent views.

The main bedroom has a king-size bed. There are bedside tables and good lighting for reading. There is a very large porcelain sink sitting on a counter in the bedroom. The shower stall is also in the bedroom which was fine for us, but if you had people staying in the other room it could be a bit awkward. The WC is in a separate room next to the shower.

Breakfast which is included in the room rate was very good. The tables were set with croissants already on the plates. There were baguettes, lovely home made jams, yoghurt, ham, cheese, a variety of fruits, different cakes and pastries each day. I had to laugh at a review I read on a hotel that was much more expensive, saying they were pleased that their €9 breakfast (each person) included yoghurt at no extra charge, since ours was included in our rate.

The location is great sited between the walled city above and the bastide area across the river. I really liked the contrast of the stark, modern interior against the medieval surroundings. We would stay here again on our next visit to Carcassonne.

Room Tip: The apartment is much much larger than the others rooms, so if you are here for a longer stay you ca...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BVIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Espace Cite
Hotel Espace Cite
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
785 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Vieille B&B
Maison Vieille B&B
#22 of 53 in Carcassonne
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc G? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc G

Address: 112 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: $106 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the "Trivalle" historical area,two steps away from the medieval castle,the old bridge and five minutes walking distance from the city center,this guesthouse is a design address.Bloc g is an unique concept which puts forward a restaurant, a wine bar,a lounge with a fireplace and on the first floor 5 contemporary rooms with private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bloc G reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing