We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something else”
Review of Bloc G

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bloc G
Ranked #27 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Something else”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We loved our stay at Bloc G. The atmosphere, furniture, room decorations - all are different from the usual hotels. The lady who runs this whole enterprise ( both the hotel and the restaurant). Was very helpful and friendly. We would recommend this BB for a short stay near the wonder town of Carcasonne.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvivaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    58
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
85
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a family run place and all the better for that with friendly service and quality home made food. The decor is a 'minimalist' and a welcome contrast to the Disney-esque Medieval town that sits above it - tourist hell ! That said, the room we were in was ‘’odd’ very large and stylish but not much usable space - but that’s nit-picking. The only down-side for me of this hotel was noise (our room was facing the main road up to the old city) and the scooters that buzz up and down the road are very noisy (there's no double glazing) and the bar next door was noisy on the night we stayed too. Try and bag a room at the front.

Room Tip: Avoid the road facing rrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truereviewer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

The food was absolutely excellent and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. On the other hand, the decor of the whole place looked like an IKEA Factory and EVERYTHING I recognised was from that same place. The room was more of an apartment, with a large room which acted as a twin bedroom, kitchen, living room etc. It was open plan and led to the master bedroom which had the only toilet in the room as its ensuite. This meant that those staying in the living room/bedroom had to walk through the master bedroom to use the loo. Also, the shower walked straight out on to the master bed's side and so some embarrassing situations were caused when the shower curtain fell down and various other things I'm sure you could predict.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank luca01324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Then your wish can be granted at Bloc G. This is a unique and stunning property. We had a superior room that was huge with loft like ceilings. The bed was fabulous (we stayed at Westin the night before and this one was much better, with finer linens as well). There were some amazing art albums in the room. The bath was very unique, almost existential, with a ladder with no apparent purpose other than to emphasize the black & white, almost psychodelic tiles (to that effect, it worked perfectly!:) The shower was a spacious rain shower, but of course, as with some modern designs, the functionality of having to cross the wet shower floor when using the toilet was somewhat questionable, but of course, that was not a big deal as beauty demands sacrifice. The breakfast was one of the best ones we had in France: lots of variety and the homemade jams were to die for! (So sorry the restaurants was closed for dinner when we stayed there, I bet it must have been great, judging by their food in the morning). The ladies running the place are very sweet, but it's a small operation, so if you arrive outside normal hours (our train arrived at 5:30 am), you have to let them know in advance--otherwise you'd be stuck outside until the place opens. The location is very close to the castle and also close to the newer town, so the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrizantema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the last week they were open for the season and the location was great. We could walk to the cite quickly and were very glad we didn't stay in the cite proper as it was so crowded even in a slower season that we would have hated it. The room and bathroom were immaculate and cleanly designed, (the provided bath salts were great since the bath was HUGE and you could soak in it). My husbands only complaint was no TV- but I loved that fact!
The proprietress was very informative and likes to travel in off season, so also fun to talk to about different countries.They have a great lounge area with design and art books and a fireplace right off the dining room that was relaxing. We ate in the restaurant for dinner one night and it was very good. The breakfast was good but not out of the ordinary, a buffet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarloweTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This Hotel is about a fifteen minute walk from the Train Station. It is located close to the Cite. It is a very clean Hotel with lovely welcoming staff. The rooms are very large and nicely decorated.The breakfast is decent enough but it wont exactly set you up for the day. I would recommend the restaurant Chez Fred near to the train station for an evening meal, it is first class.I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyaslarryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

You could easily miss this little hotel because it looks like a little bar and is quite minimalist in design, but it is one of the nicest long weekend places we have stayed. Our room was a great size and the bathroom was almost as big! We overlooked the foot of the old bridge which was busy with people but not a noise problem. Clean, bright and spacious room with a good bed, quality linen and fresh towels. I would strongly recommend you eat here too. We had lunch and dinner here at times over the course of our 4 day stay and the food was fantastic. We struggled to get into restaurants in the town as they seemed to all require booking and really none of them were as good as Bloc G for quality of food. You might well get a better price at Bloc G for your stay if you phone to book rather than go through a website. The owners speak English.

We came in on a cheap direct flight from Glasgow for a long weekend and I would recommend you catch the local bus from the airport instead of a taxi. It isn't very far to the town and the cheery bus driver made it his personal goal to deliver everyone on the bus to the door of their hotel and was a great welcoming ambassador for Carcassone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Espace Cite
Hotel Espace Cite
#15 of 39 in Carcassonne
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#17 of 39 in Carcassonne
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc G? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc G

Property: Bloc G
Address: 112 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the "Trivalle" historical area,two steps away from the medieval castle,the old bridge and five minutes walking distance from the city center,this guesthouse is a design address.Bloc g is an unique concept which puts forward a restaurant, a wine bar,a lounge with a fireplace and on the first floor 5 contemporary rooms with private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bloc G reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing