We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location plus”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Castillo B&B
Ranked #9 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Sydney,
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location plus”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed in this smart little b&b for 3 nights - far too short a time. Situation is perfect for exploring the castle and town and the little courtyard is a great place to have a quiet drink with the owners and other guests. The evening view of the castle walls and towers cannot be beaten. The owner Enrique and his wife Lola are perfect hosts, providing a wealth of information about the town and it's history as well as a very satisfactory breakfast. We would hope to return and can recommend to couples seeking a clean and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadSydney_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Helloo !
Thanks a lot for such a kind review and hope to see you again.
All the Best to you and take care :)
ENrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
188
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Enrique and Lola are wonderful hosts and Enrique is a mine of information on the city and the house. The views of the old city are stunning and access is only round the corner. Parking was also easy round the corner. Enrique made reservations for us at L'Escargot and then at La Marquiere - both excellent with extremely attentive service from Thomas at L'Escargot. Our room and bathroom were a good size with good view of the walls of the city. Breakfast was good and being the only guests we had full attention! We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissuekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por vuestra opinion. Seguimos tratando de dar lo mejor y lo mas agradable para nuestros huespedes.
Un abrazo
Enrique y Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hailsham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from what is his third time, and my forth [I went with three girlfriends last year for a weekend - this a great place for a girlie weekend], and once again, had a completely wonderful time! This time we stayed for a whole week so that we could explore more of this fascinating area.
The hosts of La Posada, Lola and Enrique, are truly wonderful and you would be hard pushed to find a couple so attentive and so tuned in to wanting to make your stay memorable - it really is important to them that you enjoy yourself and make the most of your visit - they are both a mine of information about what to see and where to eat, and we always discover new places that many tourists would never find out.
But it is not just this that makes La Posada such a great place to stay - the view of the walled city of Carcassonne from their terrace is dreamlike, and there is no better way to relax than soaking up the spectacle with a glass of Blanquette [the local sparkling wine] or cocktail made by Enrique.
Also, every room [they have four] is completely unique and decorated by Lola to reflect a theme of the area [we always stay in the Chevalier room]. So it is the whole package that keeps us coming back time and again - there is certainly no other place that I would dream of staying in when I visit Carcassonne, and I really can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated to high standard, but the Chevalier room is the only one that has a dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Bonjour!
Thanks a lot for your kind review. IWe try to do all what we can for our guests and we are so happy when they feel like being with old friends . To own a bed and breakfast have to be a real pleasure (you meet so many guests from everywhere in the world and sometimes they arrive really tired so we do all the best we can) in your case its always a pleasure !!!!! You are the perfect representation of the reason we do that :)
PS: The mystery of the Violette's continues.............
Avec toutes nos amitiés et remerciements
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked this in the light of the huge number of positives for the B&B. It certainly has splendid views from its terrace and the owners were very friendly and helpful but we felt that the actual accommodation was overpriced and average. The main problem was that the room we had (I can't speak for the other rooms) faced onto a fairly busy street which, although quite quiet at night, still had occasional traffic and other noise forcing us to keep the windows closed. Given that the weather was hot and humid and the fan was too intrusive to keep on for any length of time, it meant a less than satisfactory sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuxtonFestivalgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Bonjour,
You are the winner ! We don't know who you are (nobody these last months speak us about some problems that you talk about in this review and we don't have any customer with your name. If you have to complain it's really easy to give your real name. The only guests we have in June in this room feel so good that their friends lodging in another b&b spend a lot of time at La Posada and inside the room and leave us with a great smile and saying "we have a lovely stay".
I've decided to send a request to Tripadvisor to know who has decided to give such wrong informations about our beds quality (high standard) and with such a determination to harm.
Enrique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Enrique and Lola really are the most wonderful warm, funny ,informative and engaging hosts. Their love,knowledge and passion for their part of the world makes for a wonderful visit .Their beautiful home is situated in a quiet location just outside of the walls with breath taking views of this extraordinary city.
On Enrique's advise we dinned at two fabulous places including an excellent Tapa's bar. I wish I could remember the restaurant names but I'm sure Enrique will know !
Our hosts could not have been more helpful or welcoming and we would HIGHLY recommend.
Thank you so much for your hospitality Enrique and Lola.
Ann and Graeme. Kathryn and Dale.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwihamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Bonjour !
I still remember the name of the Tapa's Bar but you hav eto come back again so as I give you the name :)
Thanks for the review and thanks for being so kind.
We still remember the funny moments with you :)
Hope to see you again.
Take care and all the best !
Amitiés
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Believe all the good things you read about it. We spent three nights here in May and wished we had planned for a few more.
While the highlight here is the patio where you can sit and have a wonderful view of the castle, especially when it is lit up at night, spend time looking at the pictures and furnishings Lola and Enrique have collected. They are unique and part of the special charm here.
Enrique has a wealth of information regarding Carcassonne and the surrounding area and he shares it with enthusiasm. If you can, take time to travel the area to places he suggests. The countryside is beautiful!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiannaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Bonjour !
Thanks for your review and thanks for being so kinds.We keep in memory your stay here and send you our best "souvenirs" .
All the Best !
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful visit to Carcassonne, thanks in large part to the lovely La Posada del Castillo and its owners Enrique and Lola. Nestled at the foot of Carcassonne's ramparts this lovingly restored bed and breakfast is a few minutes uphill walk from the "backdoor" into the medieval centre of the city. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and well equipped. The views of the ramparts of Carcassonne from La Posada del Castillo's terrace were amazing and in the evening when the ramparts were lit up an after dinner drink on the terrace was magical. We were so happy that we choose to stay at this bed and breakfast where we could enjoy the marvellous views of the ramparts of the medieval city rather than in the centre of the medieval city itself. The breakfast at La Posada del Castillo was tasty and plentiful. Enrique and Lola were warm and inviting hosts and could not have been more helpful. Although there is no car park attached to the Posada, Enrique helped us to park our car in the small pubic square a few steps away from the Posada. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and if we return to Carcassonne will definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Siwa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Bonjour Canada !
We don't forget you and remember the story of the car park :)
We hope eveything goes right and well and hope to see you again.
We wish you the best in your life :)
Amitiés
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Castillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Castillo B&B

Property: La Posada del Castillo B&B
Address: 60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find this hidden gem tucked away in the picturesque quarter known as La Barbacane and it is here that visitors from all around the world choose to stay in the heart of Cathar country. Built on the site of the former barbican of the medieval City and at the very foot of the ramparts, both the City and the Bastide Saint Louis are easily accessible on foot. At the Posada del Castillo B&B , we are in a classified historical monuments' area so, although we do not have a swimming pool, we do have Carcassonne's Lake Cavayere 5 minutes away as well as the Mediterranean, mountain lakes, rivers and streams in close proximity. Although, being in a town and next to the Chapel of Saint Gimer, we do not have large grounds or parklands, we do have a cosy terrace and a private garden which offer our guests a truly unique view of the Cite. Indeed, the medieval walls, the Porte d'Aude and the Chateau Comtal are less than 100m away. It is the Porte d'Aude which evokes Carcassone world wide and it is this gate which is featured on all of the postcards and used as a backdrop in films and historical productions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing