We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Castillo B&B
Ranked #10 of 59 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Wirral
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My partner and I just got back after four nights at La Posada and we can't recommend it highly enough. Enrique and Laurence gave us such a warm welcome and the place is so nice. The rooms are beautiful- real attention to detail, it's clear a lot of thought went into the decor. In fact the same goes for everything there- the place is clearly a labour of love for them and I agree with many of the other reviewers that you feel like you're staying with friends- just little things like when you come back exhausted and they appear with a cold drink for you, really kind. Breakfast was lovely- very relaxed in the garden and they'll pack up anything you don't eat to take with you for the day. As you can see from the photos the location is fab- so close to everything without being within the walls which I think could feel a bit claustrophobic. Enrique and Laurence are so pleasant and always around when you need them- we got loads of tips from them of places to see and tourist traps to avoid, and they really went out of their way to make sure we got good reservations for our evening meals (and then we got star treatment at the restaurants too!) Le Jardin d'ete in particular is absolutely gorgeous. We didn't have a hire car with us and they offered us lifts to the station and airport which made life so much easier. I'm sure there are lots of nice places to stay in and around Carcassonne but I doubt there's another Enrique or Laurence in any of them! (Thank you both for making our holiday so enjoyable!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldly_Wirralean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for all the compliments and as you now know, our idea of ​​a b & b is to make you feel at home(Any worries because we never forget that you're on vacation!). Also thank you to you for your kindness and good mood everyday. We sincerely hope to see you again and we wish you a Great and Happy summer !
On vous embrasse en vous souhaitant plein de bonheur,
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
188
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at Posada del Castillo for ten days in June. This B&B is superlative. The Carcassonne castle is a short walk (~10 min.) from the B&B. From the beautiful Posada patio there is a spectacular view of the Carcassonne castle. Enhanced with a glass of wine, this scene is particularly alluring at night when the castle is illuminated by floodlights. We were scheduled to stay only three nights after which we had a flight scheduled to England. However, because of an air controller strike in France, this flight was cancelled. By juggling other reservations, Enrique managed to extend our stay, which resulted in us occupying three different rooms. Each room was clean, comfortable and very well appointed. The showers are excellent. Lola’s artistic talents are evidenced by the appealing room decorations. Enrique and Lola are friendly, charming and most gracious hosts. They are always smiling and happy. At breakfast they initiate and engage in excellent conversation with guests (they speak several languages). Enrique was incredibly helpful in suggesting great places for us to visit. Fortunately, we followed his suggestions. This included a couple of outstanding restaurants. Enrique and Lola made us feel so at home that we sorely regretted leaving them at the end of our stay. After we returned home we received several nice e-mails from them, one of which included the comment that after we left their B&B seemed a bit empty without us. We are already thinking about when we can return to Posada del Castillo. The downside for us is that with stellar TripAdvisor reviews such as this we will need to book a room many months in advance! One word of advice: a GPS is highly recommended to guide you to the Posada del Castillo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moongok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
What a pleasure to read your comments about your stay at La Posada. When you return to Carcassonne we think you can easily find a job as a tour operator in the region. You too have been gracious hosts and with whom we have enjoyed sharing the "improvised" holidays. We became fans of "andalousite" and we really hope to see you again. Take care and "let's check it out !". We wish you a Great , Happy and Funny Summer ! Cheers
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful part of France, Lola &Enrique are the most friendliest hosts you could find anywhere, they make you feel at home. We had a lovely week in their b&b, didn't want to leave. Enrique is so happy talking about is lovely city,which he knows a lot about, and sweet Lola always smiling,no wonder they are the number 1on trip advisor.
Best wishes from Margaret &Brian

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret2648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Bonjour !
We are sincerely happy that you liked your stay at La Posada . You have discovered and visited the region and all such different places and this stay was perfect. thank you for the pictures (they are going to join our collection!). Make the most of your grand tour of Europe!
We wish you a Great Summer and don't forget to tell us whane you're at home.
Cheers
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our only regret is... We couldn't stay longer!
If you want the perfect location, with truly wonderful hosts, who couldn't be more helpful, also giving an outline of the local history.....then Enrique and Lola are unsurpassed.
The view from La Posada is breathtaking, especially when lit up at night.
Our room was extremely comfortable, with views of the castle.
We felt very welcomed and at home, regretfully, only for a short stay....if only we knew how good it was going to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Bonjour from Carcassonne !
Thank you for all the compliments that go straight to the heart. Thank you also for your kindness and good humor.
We wish you All the Best !
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Enrique and Lola are WONDERFUL hosts. I highly recommend staying here though I'm reluctant to say so as I don't want to share this secret! We arrived for a one night stay and immediately found parking on the street of the inn. Enrique greeted us with fanfare, warmth, and cheer. He is so delightful. he got us settled in our wonderful room and booked dinner for us so I could get my cassoulet (see review for Adelaide restaurant). He directed us up and into La Cite so we knew where we were going. He was very accommodating in the morning when we wanted to leave our bags at the inn while we finished our short tour of the city. Breakfast consisted of a little meat and cheese, lots of pastries & bread, and Lola's OUTSTANDING pear & choclate conserve. Enrique ate breakfast with us (a delight) and packed up the left over breads for us to enjoy on our journey onward. He also gave us two bottles of water! The room was very comfortable- white hotel bedding, plenty of closet space if you're staying a few days, and a clean bathroom with organic cotton towels. The shower is a tight squeeze, so be warned if you're a tall or wide person. The terrace outside is gorgeous, too, for early morning or later afternoon reading and relaxation. Enrique mentioned that he leads regional winery tours and tastings, so we want to return to join him on one of those. Enrique is originally from Spain and speaks Spanish, French, and English fluently. Lola is a former French teacher and also speaks good English. They live together on the property. We can't wait to go back and visit them!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSomLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Bonjour !
We were delighted to welcome you and to participate in your holiday. We hope see you again one day in Cathar Country.
With our best memories,
Cheers
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diesel100
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I can only echo everyone's comments as this is a fantastic place. Our room was beautiful (and truly an oasis of tranquility as well as being lovely and cool even when it was 35 degrees outside) and the view on the terrace was nothing short of breathtaking. I can not imagine there are many places which are so awe inspiring and to enjoy this with an ice cold beer in hand (and some of Lola's nibbles mmmm).....unforgettable!! Enrique and Lola take service to a whole new level and can not do enough to help...we had an amazing road trip based on their recommendations and the knowledge Enrique imparted to us before we left was invaluable!

I would not hesitate in recommending this as 'the place' to stay in Carcassonne and we are already thinking about when we can go back (and take our friends too)!!

Room Tip: Our room Saint Gimer was really lovely and serene!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diesel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Bonsoir de Carcassonne !
We also keep in our memories your stay at La Posada. The summer is finally installed on Carcassonne and temperatures actually flirt with 35 degrees. We hope the pleasure of welcoming you back and show you (this time) north of Carcassonne.
We wish you all the Best and a Great Summer !
PS: We have still more beer in the fridge !!
Kindly,
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were very fortunate to find La Posada for our vacation. It truly was the best place to stay in Carcassonne. We were welcomed immediately by Enrique and Lola. Enrique provided intriguing stories and in-depth history of the area. Lola made wonderful preserves and was very friendly. Both are very passionate about making your stay "perfect". They gave great suggestions for activities and restaurants and were willing to help with whatever we needed. Our room was spacious, quiet, very clean, newly decorated and very charming. It was easy to walk to the Medieval city and see it at night. Our favorite restaurants were 'Adelaide' restaurant and 'Le Jardin d'ete'. I really found it hard to believe all the rave reviews for this B&B before I came to Carcassonne, but I know it is the best B&B we EVER stayed ANYWHERE! Just like being with old friends. I only wished I could have taken French lessons with Lola but our time was limited. What a visit! Great memories! Merci beaucoup, Enrique and Lola!

Room Tip: Les Chevaliers is the perfect room with a view of the castle. Very spacious and pleasant décor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hello Cincinnati !
Thank you for your compliments that have delighted us. We are sincerely glad whether you have enjoyed your stay at La Posada. And we still have some secrets to tell you about the Cathars during your next visit....So you have to come back! :-)
We wish you All the Best and a Great Summer !

Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Castillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Castillo B&B

Property: La Posada del Castillo B&B
Address: 60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find this hidden gem tucked away in the picturesque quarter known as La Barbacane and it is here that visitors from all around the world choose to stay in the heart of Cathar country. Built on the site of the former barbican of the medieval City and at the very foot of the ramparts, both the City and the Bastide Saint Louis are easily accessible on foot. At the Posada del Castillo B&B , we are in a classified historical monuments' area so, although we do not have a swimming pool, we do have Carcassonne's Lake Cavayere 5 minutes away as well as the Mediterranean, mountain lakes, rivers and streams in close proximity. Although, being in a town and next to the Chapel of Saint Gimer, we do not have large grounds or parklands, we do have a cosy terrace and a private garden which offer our guests a truly unique view of the Cite. Indeed, the medieval walls, the Porte d'Aude and the Chateau Comtal are less than 100m away. It is the Porte d'Aude which evokes Carcassone world wide and it is this gate which is featured on all of the postcards and used as a backdrop in films and historical productions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing