We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with Enrique and Lola in Carcasonne”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Castillo B&B
Ranked #14 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The stay, breakfast and conversation in the dining room with Enrique and Lola was first class and most reasonably priced. Also the organically produced white wine (made by women only) they have in stock is a must if you love good wine! The room was comfortabley sized and presented with a priceless vista overlooking the medieval Carcasonne castle walls. Also parking right infront of the hotel (no parking will apparently be allowed inside the village in the foreseable future) was most convenient! Recommended without any reservation!!

Louis and Louise van der Walt

Room Tip: The room with the view over the castle walls - there is only one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Bonjour !
It makes us really happy to hear from you! We sincerely delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. We will keep the souvenir of the good moments of laughter (and sometimes more serious) and very interesting discussions. Louis get the prize for the funniest lawyer in 2013! Hopefully one day again you will come to Carcassonne and we look forward to welcoming you again!
With our best memories and All the Best !!

Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 264 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I had a great time in La Posada del Castillo. The room is amazing and extremely clean. The owners are so much cordial. The place is very well located, from the back yard you can see the great wall of Carcassone, is beatiful even at night because it is iluminated.
Enrique & Lola are great people.They are a kind of people that you feel you already met before.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele_Alm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hello you two !
Thank you for the memories you have taken away from the Posada to Brazil.We hope to see you at an upcoming trip to Europe and show you all the magical places of our beautiful region.
All the Best !
Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a B&B you will want to come back to. Here you realise that with all the mod cons and amenities you can get in the highest quality hotel, the one thing that makes a stay exceptional are the people. Here you have hosts who have obviously loving created a B&B and treat all guests as if they were part of the family. It is the human touch and interaction that cannot be easily replicated.
We have a great stay in Carcassonne and a fantastic stay in this quiet, clean and well located B&B with a wonderful view of the Castle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maeve2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Hi !
We also keep an excellent memory of your stay(until the next) ,at La Posada. After a long trip from Belgium, on the road to Spain we sincerely hope to see you again!
Kindly,
Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at La Posada in April 2013 ,from the moment we meet Enrique at the railway station
we felt as if we were meeting up with an old friend.Enrique and Lola go out of their way to welcome you into their home, nothing is too much trouble for them.The house was spotless
the beds were very comfortable and the pillows were like sleeping on a cloud.
Enrique has such a joy for life and loves meeting new people, both he and Lola are very proud of their beautiful home and roof top terrace with incredible views, and rightly so.
Enrique is a wealth of information about the area and it's history, this B @ B is ideally situated
for visiting both the old and the new city and is within easy walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Hi there from here ! Such a pleasure to read so kinds words from you.
We are delighted to have our own way help make your French stay pleasant . We also keep a wonderful souvenir of your visit to the Posada. Next time we'll beat it!
We wish you all the Best .
Kindly,
Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our group of 8 adults were thrilled with our choice of La Posada for two nights. The price was right and the site perfect for our plans. If you are looking for a great locations within walking distance and with breath-taking views of Carcassonne castle; clean, comfortable rooms; and a host and hostess with a passion for and knowledge of local history, culture and sights then La Posada is the place for you! Enrique and Lola are a charming couple who take great pride in their home and town and have a lot to share for visitors to this charming area. From stories of The Cathar's fate to DaVinci Code-type mysteries surrounding Rennes les Chateau you will fall in love with Carcassonne and this charming B & B. The included breakfast was a nice assortment of breads, fruit, yogurt, juices and coffee/tea and our hosts were willing to accommodate our schedule.

Room Tip: There was no pool, but I couldn't de-select the rating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pslpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hi Pam & Travelers ! Thanks a lot for your kind words here. We have such a good moments with you and happy that you appreciate the caves after being in Carcassonne. Enjoy the serie "Labyrinth" wich is a good overview of the Cathars Story. Take Care and All the Best ! Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in September and only had time for one night in Carcassonne on our trip-- this turned out to be REALLY tough-- none of the other B&Bs that I was interested in would let us stay for less than 2 nights. Then we heard from Enrique that he was happy to take us and we are THRILLED we got to stay at La Posada, the PERFECT stay.

What a fantastic place to stay. Situated right outside the walls of Carcassonne, you feel like you've got front row tickets to a beautiful work of art-- watching the walls change color as the sun rises and sets is exquisite and the view at night when all of the flood lights are on is enough to take your breath away -- you can't believe it's real!

Enrique and Lola are incredible hosts, warm and friendly, they quickly had us situated with wine and snacks upon our arrival. They have a beautiful home with a big patio in between the breakfast room and the guest room we stayed in. We happened to be the only guests on the day we stayed. Enrique helped us get a good overview of what to see within the town, and helped us make reservations at a fantastic spot inside the walls- it was SO busy everyone else was getting turned away at the door, but we were ushered in thanks to Enrique's call. Breakfast was great and even better was Enrique's assistance with our itinerary for the day, helping us find some fantastic wine and hidden treasures on our drive down to the coast.

The room was very beautiful, really pretty enough to be in a magazine, and extremely comfortable and modern.

The only tricky thing is parking, but it only took us about 10 minutes of circling for a spot to open up-- enrique insisted on helping us carry our luggage back to the car in the morning- what a class act.

We would LOVE to return to La Posada and to Enrique and Lola's hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-ETravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Owner at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Good to have news about you so many months after !
We keep a very good souvenir of your visit to Carcassonne and especially at La Posada. Hope to see you again one day because there is so much to discover in Cathar Country !
Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at La Posada on our way home from Spain. We arrived tired but were greeted warmly by Enrique and Lola who made us a welcome pot of tea. They made sure we were comfortable and recommended a super restaurant for dinner - Enrique booked us a table and gave us directions to walk to the restaurant.

Our meal was superb, great value and good food and it was only a short 5 minute walk back to La Posada.

After a great night's sleep we had a fabulous breakfast which set us up for our return journey home. Enrique & Lola are very knowledgeable of the history of Carcasonne and the surrounding region and had plenty of ideas for places to go. We could easily have stayed longer and had a great time talking to them. We have made a note of places they have recommended and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitto33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Owner at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

We are truly delighted that your step at La Posada left you a good memory. We hope to see you during our visit at Sainte Foy-la-Grande in your lovely cottage.
All the Best and Take Care !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
3.1 mi away
Aux Anges Gardiens
Aux Anges Gardiens
#4 of 53 in Carcassonne
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Castillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Castillo B&B

Address: 60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find this hidden gem tucked away in the picturesque quarter known as La Barbacane and it is here that visitors from all around the world choose to stay in the heart of Cathar country. Built on the site of the former barbican of the medieval City and at the very foot of the ramparts, both the City and the Bastide Saint Louis are easily accessible on foot. At the Posada del Castillo B&B , we are in a classified historical monuments' area so, although we do not have a swimming pool, we do have Carcassonne's Lake Cavayere 5 minutes away as well as the Mediterranean, mountain lakes, rivers and streams in close proximity. Although, being in a town and next to the Chapel of Saint Gimer, we do not have large grounds or parklands, we do have a cosy terrace and a private garden which offer our guests a truly unique view of the Cite. Indeed, the medieval walls, the Porte d'Aude and the Chateau Comtal are less than 100m away. It is the Porte d'Aude which evokes Carcassone world wide and it is this gate which is featured on all of the postcards and used as a backdrop in films and historical productions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing