We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most gracious host and hostess - well appointed accommodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Castillo B&B
Ranked #8 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most gracious host and hostess - well appointed accommodations”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our group of 8 adults were thrilled with our choice of La Posada for two nights. The price was right and the site perfect for our plans. If you are looking for a great locations within walking distance and with breath-taking views of Carcassonne castle; clean, comfortable rooms; and a host and hostess with a passion for and knowledge of local history, culture and sights then La Posada is the place for you! Enrique and Lola are a charming couple who take great pride in their home and town and have a lot to share for visitors to this charming area. From stories of The Cathar's fate to DaVinci Code-type mysteries surrounding Rennes les Chateau you will fall in love with Carcassonne and this charming B & B. The included breakfast was a nice assortment of breads, fruit, yogurt, juices and coffee/tea and our hosts were willing to accommodate our schedule.

Room Tip: There was no pool, but I couldn't de-select the rating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pslpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Pam & Travelers ! Thanks a lot for your kind words here. We have such a good moments with you and happy that you appreciate the caves after being in Carcassonne. Enjoy the serie "Labyrinth" wich is a good overview of the Cathars Story. Take Care and All the Best ! Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
188
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in September and only had time for one night in Carcassonne on our trip-- this turned out to be REALLY tough-- none of the other B&Bs that I was interested in would let us stay for less than 2 nights. Then we heard from Enrique that he was happy to take us and we are THRILLED we got to stay at La Posada, the PERFECT stay.

What a fantastic place to stay. Situated right outside the walls of Carcassonne, you feel like you've got front row tickets to a beautiful work of art-- watching the walls change color as the sun rises and sets is exquisite and the view at night when all of the flood lights are on is enough to take your breath away -- you can't believe it's real!

Enrique and Lola are incredible hosts, warm and friendly, they quickly had us situated with wine and snacks upon our arrival. They have a beautiful home with a big patio in between the breakfast room and the guest room we stayed in. We happened to be the only guests on the day we stayed. Enrique helped us get a good overview of what to see within the town, and helped us make reservations at a fantastic spot inside the walls- it was SO busy everyone else was getting turned away at the door, but we were ushered in thanks to Enrique's call. Breakfast was great and even better was Enrique's assistance with our itinerary for the day, helping us find some fantastic wine and hidden treasures on our drive down to the coast.

The room was very beautiful, really pretty enough to be in a magazine, and extremely comfortable and modern.

The only tricky thing is parking, but it only took us about 10 minutes of circling for a spot to open up-- enrique insisted on helping us carry our luggage back to the car in the morning- what a class act.

We would LOVE to return to La Posada and to Enrique and Lola's hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E-ETravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Owner at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Good to have news about you so many months after !
We keep a very good souvenir of your visit to Carcassonne and especially at La Posada. Hope to see you again one day because there is so much to discover in Cathar Country !
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte Foy-la-Grande, France
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at La Posada on our way home from Spain. We arrived tired but were greeted warmly by Enrique and Lola who made us a welcome pot of tea. They made sure we were comfortable and recommended a super restaurant for dinner - Enrique booked us a table and gave us directions to walk to the restaurant.

Our meal was superb, great value and good food and it was only a short 5 minute walk back to La Posada.

After a great night's sleep we had a fabulous breakfast which set us up for our return journey home. Enrique & Lola are very knowledgeable of the history of Carcasonne and the surrounding region and had plenty of ideas for places to go. We could easily have stayed longer and had a great time talking to them. We have made a note of places they have recommended and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitto33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Owner at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are truly delighted that your step at La Posada left you a good memory. We hope to see you during our visit at Sainte Foy-la-Grande in your lovely cottage.
All the Best and Take Care !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I have recently had the pleasure of staying at La Posada del Castillo for 2 nights. What great hosts Enrique & Lola were. We were picked up at the station comfortably settled into the beautiful room and given a brief overview of the surroundings. Nothing is too much trouble for them. A great breakfast was provided in the morning using local suppliers. Special thanks to Enrique for taking us to the station @ 7.00 am and for providing us with breakfast for the train. Carcass one is a truly wonderful destination and our accommodation made it even better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi there from here ! Many thanks for what you remember La Posada. As I say one night...You have a really goo travel-agent !! We try to see you on TV on the "Tour de France". All the Best and take care . Fondly, Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have just returned from a spending 8 days at the Posada. This was my second visit and I chose to return mainly because of the amazing hospitality which Enrique and Laurence showed us the first time around but also because of the high standard of cleanliness, comfort and sheer beauty of the decor in all of the four guest rooms . My first five days were spent studying french with Laurence who is an excellent teacher and an accomplished linguist after which I was joined by my two daughters and a girlfriend for a weekend of exploring Carcassonne - the history, food and wine. Laurence and Enrique take pleasure in suggesting bars and restaurants which would normally be difficult to find as a tourist and take the time to explain the history of this compelling city as well as the surrounding areas. We noticed that Enrique will arrange to give his guests personalised tours of the area; unfortunately we simply were not there long enough to arrange this with him. We will have to make sure that we return again to do this as I am sure that you would be very hard pushed to find someone as knowledgeable and passionate about the subject as he is!
As all of the other reviews say, it is the welcome and the kindness of these exceptional hosts which is the icing on the cake at this beautiful B and B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaDavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour tous ces compliments ! Nous tâcherons de faire encore mieux la prochaine fois ! En tout cas c'est un plaisir sans cesse renouvelé de vous recevoir à La Posada. Il reste encore quelques endroits secrets que nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous faire connaître la prochaine fois que vos pas vous porterons en terre audoise. All this words in french because I know you'll understand all ! Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Thanks to our GPS we found our way by car safely to this haven with a magnificent view of the walled city of Carcassonne. It is every bit as amazing as the picture shown on the B and B's website. Enrique opened the door to us with a wide smile and words of welcome and insisted on helping us to unload our cases from our car parked nearby. He and Lola were gracious and friendly hosts who went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable and comfortable one. Our room was well appointed with a beautiful view of the terrace and castle ramparts in the distance. Bathroom facilities were also excellent. Our hosts ensured the breakfast provided included gluten free options to meet my dietary requirements. If interested ask Lola to show you her range of antique books for sale in her little shop next door. It was a privilege to hold a book that was published in the 16th Century!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello you two Australian travelers! We are sincerely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at La Posada. It was also a pleasure for us to welcome you despite not necessarily ideal weather. We hope that our paths will recross one day.
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hailsham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend in Carcassonne staying in this truly FANTASTIC B&B that I stayed in last Autumn with my husband - this time I went with three girlfriends and we had a legendary time. Both the walled city of Carcassone and the lower Ville Basse are within easy walking distance and filled with cosy little bars and restaurants - the lovely proprietors Lola and Enrique know all those unusual out of the way little places that you would never find youselves - its a great place for a Girly Weekend! The view of the City walls from the terrace of La Posada was as remakable as ever, and the history completely compelling - this awsome place has woven its spell over me - I am returning with my husband again in September and really cant wait! 5 Stars really isn't enough to reflect just how excellant La Posada is - the hosts are exceptional people and I really cant recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Crusader room, which is what I had last time and has a view of the walled city, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello Victoria!
We are pleased and proud to have contributed to this codename "Liaisons Dangereuses" . Always a pleasure to receive you, and your fantastic good humor. Now you're ready to become the official guide "On the trail of Labyrinth."
On t'embrasse fort et nous attendons le plaisir de vous revoir cet automne !
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Castillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Castillo B&B

Property: La Posada del Castillo B&B
Address: 60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find this hidden gem tucked away in the picturesque quarter known as La Barbacane and it is here that visitors from all around the world choose to stay in the heart of Cathar country. Built on the site of the former barbican of the medieval City and at the very foot of the ramparts, both the City and the Bastide Saint Louis are easily accessible on foot. At the Posada del Castillo B&B , we are in a classified historical monuments' area so, although we do not have a swimming pool, we do have Carcassonne's Lake Cavayere 5 minutes away as well as the Mediterranean, mountain lakes, rivers and streams in close proximity. Although, being in a town and next to the Chapel of Saint Gimer, we do not have large grounds or parklands, we do have a cosy terrace and a private garden which offer our guests a truly unique view of the Cite. Indeed, the medieval walls, the Porte d'Aude and the Chateau Comtal are less than 100m away. It is the Porte d'Aude which evokes Carcassone world wide and it is this gate which is featured on all of the postcards and used as a backdrop in films and historical productions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing