We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Castillo B&B
Ranked #14 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I have recently had the pleasure of staying at La Posada del Castillo for 2 nights. What great hosts Enrique & Lola were. We were picked up at the station comfortably settled into the beautiful room and given a brief overview of the surroundings. Nothing is too much trouble for them. A great breakfast was provided in the morning using local suppliers. Special thanks to Enrique for taking us to the station @ 7.00 am and for providing us with breakfast for the train. Carcass one is a truly wonderful destination and our accommodation made it even better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Hi there from here ! Many thanks for what you remember La Posada. As I say one night...You have a really goo travel-agent !! We try to see you on TV on the "Tour de France". All the Best and take care . Fondly, Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for La Posada del Castillo B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have just returned from a spending 8 days at the Posada. This was my second visit and I chose to return mainly because of the amazing hospitality which Enrique and Laurence showed us the first time around but also because of the high standard of cleanliness, comfort and sheer beauty of the decor in all of the four guest rooms . My first five days were spent studying french with Laurence who is an excellent teacher and an accomplished linguist after which I was joined by my two daughters and a girlfriend for a weekend of exploring Carcassonne - the history, food and wine. Laurence and Enrique take pleasure in suggesting bars and restaurants which would normally be difficult to find as a tourist and take the time to explain the history of this compelling city as well as the surrounding areas. We noticed that Enrique will arrange to give his guests personalised tours of the area; unfortunately we simply were not there long enough to arrange this with him. We will have to make sure that we return again to do this as I am sure that you would be very hard pushed to find someone as knowledgeable and passionate about the subject as he is!
As all of the other reviews say, it is the welcome and the kindness of these exceptional hosts which is the icing on the cake at this beautiful B and B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaDavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013
Google Translation

Merci pour tous ces compliments ! Nous tâcherons de faire encore mieux la prochaine fois ! En tout cas c'est un plaisir sans cesse renouvelé de vous recevoir à La Posada. Il reste encore quelques endroits secrets que nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous faire connaître la prochaine fois que vos pas vous porterons en terre audoise. All this words in french because I know you'll understand all ! Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Thanks to our GPS we found our way by car safely to this haven with a magnificent view of the walled city of Carcassonne. It is every bit as amazing as the picture shown on the B and B's website. Enrique opened the door to us with a wide smile and words of welcome and insisted on helping us to unload our cases from our car parked nearby. He and Lola were gracious and friendly hosts who went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable and comfortable one. Our room was well appointed with a beautiful view of the terrace and castle ramparts in the distance. Bathroom facilities were also excellent. Our hosts ensured the breakfast provided included gluten free options to meet my dietary requirements. If interested ask Lola to show you her range of antique books for sale in her little shop next door. It was a privilege to hold a book that was published in the 16th Century!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GVTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hello you two Australian travelers! We are sincerely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at La Posada. It was also a pleasure for us to welcome you despite not necessarily ideal weather. We hope that our paths will recross one day.
Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend in Carcassonne staying in this truly FANTASTIC B&B that I stayed in last Autumn with my husband - this time I went with three girlfriends and we had a legendary time. Both the walled city of Carcassone and the lower Ville Basse are within easy walking distance and filled with cosy little bars and restaurants - the lovely proprietors Lola and Enrique know all those unusual out of the way little places that you would never find youselves - its a great place for a Girly Weekend! The view of the City walls from the terrace of La Posada was as remakable as ever, and the history completely compelling - this awsome place has woven its spell over me - I am returning with my husband again in September and really cant wait! 5 Stars really isn't enough to reflect just how excellant La Posada is - the hosts are exceptional people and I really cant recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Crusader room, which is what I had last time and has a view of the walled city, and...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hello Victoria!
We are pleased and proud to have contributed to this codename "Liaisons Dangereuses" . Always a pleasure to receive you, and your fantastic good humor. Now you're ready to become the official guide "On the trail of Labyrinth."
On t'embrasse fort et nous attendons le plaisir de vous revoir cet automne !
Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at La Posada del Castillo for two wonderful days in April. What a special place! The hosts, Enrique and Lola, are amazing. They are very welcoming. They have created a unique environment. The view from the patio is amazing. There is an unobstructed view of the entire walled city. There are several sitting areas on the patio to relax, have a drink, and take it all in.
Enrique’s knowledge and enthusiasm about the area made us want to see it all. We followed his advice for our visit to the area and had a fascinating trip that included seeing mystical places, beautiful views, country views, and even a great lunch at a small restaurant on the road.
Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was larger than most and stocked with organic linens. At breakfast we were served a variety of breads, yogurts, juices, and fruit with our coffee.
All of this makes for a great B&B, but Enrique and Lola go above and beyond to make a stay even more. This B &B feels like home. They went out of their way to make our visit special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyde T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Owner at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hello from Carcassonne! We are sincerely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in Carcassonne and especially at La Posada. There are still some secrets and legends to share and thus to discover ... We hope to have again the pleasure to welcome you during your next visit in Cathar Country !!! Lola & Enrique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the second we left, our 4 day break here was truly superb. There are several ingredients that make this B&B so special.

This area of France offers so much; good weather, great countryside, incredible history, excellent food etc etc.

Carcassonne and the location of this particular establishment are both second to none. Carcassonne is ideally situated to explore the Mediterranean area, the Pyrenees, countless vineyards, the history of the Cathars etc. The B&B is next to the Cite with great views of the ramparts which is literally a stones throw away.

The B&B is very well appointed and full of character, well laid out, and just the sort of place we would look forward to returning to after a long day seeing the sights or enjoying the food and drink.

These things alone make this place worth every penny, however by far the most important and special ingredient are the owners, Lola and Enrique. The couple are so friendly, funny, welcoming, full of excellent knowledge and suggestions for your program for the day, where to eat, what to see, or not if you so choose. Truly they are superb hosts and feel like good friends already. I cannot recommend La Posada Del Castillo highly enough. A bientot.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutt1eigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013
Google Translation

Nous sommes très heureux que votre séjour vous ait plu. Woww I write in French !! But we know that you understand this language perfectly ! Sacre Bleu ! We wish next time you don't miss your flight . Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous revoir. Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights at La Posada at Easter and Enrique and Lola are truly wonderful hosts. The rooms are not only comfortable but beautifully decorated, breakfast was lovely, but the thing that makes this a stand out place to stay is the genuine warmth of the welcome extended. They are so thoughtful and attentive without being intrusive; we felt like we were staying with friends. The whole experience could not have been better. Thanks Enrique for your enthusiasm in helping us to understand Carcassonne's history, and to Lola, thanks for patiently putting up with my halting French.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for all the compliments that go straight to the heart! We hope your journey around the globe has been enjoyable and Carcassonne and its Medieval City have managed to seduce you. We too, hope that our paths cross again. (I still have many stories to tell you ...!) Enrique & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Castillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Castillo B&B

Address: 60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find this hidden gem tucked away in the picturesque quarter known as La Barbacane and it is here that visitors from all around the world choose to stay in the heart of Cathar country. Built on the site of the former barbican of the medieval City and at the very foot of the ramparts, both the City and the Bastide Saint Louis are easily accessible on foot. At the Posada del Castillo B&B , we are in a classified historical monuments' area so, although we do not have a swimming pool, we do have Carcassonne's Lake Cavayere 5 minutes away as well as the Mediterranean, mountain lakes, rivers and streams in close proximity. Although, being in a town and next to the Chapel of Saint Gimer, we do not have large grounds or parklands, we do have a cosy terrace and a private garden which offer our guests a truly unique view of the Cite. Indeed, the medieval walls, the Porte d'Aude and the Chateau Comtal are less than 100m away. It is the Porte d'Aude which evokes Carcassone world wide and it is this gate which is featured on all of the postcards and used as a backdrop in films and historical productions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing