We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Carcassonne”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Castillo B&B
Ranked #9 of 59 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best of Carcassonne”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at La Posada del Castillo for two wonderful days in April. What a special place! The hosts, Enrique and Lola, are amazing. They are very welcoming. They have created a unique environment. The view from the patio is amazing. There is an unobstructed view of the entire walled city. There are several sitting areas on the patio to relax, have a drink, and take it all in.
Enrique’s knowledge and enthusiasm about the area made us want to see it all. We followed his advice for our visit to the area and had a fascinating trip that included seeing mystical places, beautiful views, country views, and even a great lunch at a small restaurant on the road.
Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was larger than most and stocked with organic linens. At breakfast we were served a variety of breads, yogurts, juices, and fruit with our coffee.
All of this makes for a great B&B, but Enrique and Lola go above and beyond to make a stay even more. This B &B feels like home. They went out of their way to make our visit special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Owner at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello from Carcassonne! We are sincerely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in Carcassonne and especially at La Posada. There are still some secrets and legends to share and thus to discover ... We hope to have again the pleasure to welcome you during your next visit in Cathar Country !!! Lola & Enrique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
188
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the second we left, our 4 day break here was truly superb. There are several ingredients that make this B&B so special.

This area of France offers so much; good weather, great countryside, incredible history, excellent food etc etc.

Carcassonne and the location of this particular establishment are both second to none. Carcassonne is ideally situated to explore the Mediterranean area, the Pyrenees, countless vineyards, the history of the Cathars etc. The B&B is next to the Cite with great views of the ramparts which is literally a stones throw away.

The B&B is very well appointed and full of character, well laid out, and just the sort of place we would look forward to returning to after a long day seeing the sights or enjoying the food and drink.

These things alone make this place worth every penny, however by far the most important and special ingredient are the owners, Lola and Enrique. The couple are so friendly, funny, welcoming, full of excellent knowledge and suggestions for your program for the day, where to eat, what to see, or not if you so choose. Truly they are superb hosts and feel like good friends already. I cannot recommend La Posada Del Castillo highly enough. A bientot.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutt1eigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Google Translation
Nous sommes très heureux que votre séjour vous ait plu. Woww I write in French !! But we know that you understand this language perfectly ! Sacre Bleu ! We wish next time you don't miss your flight . Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous revoir. Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights at La Posada at Easter and Enrique and Lola are truly wonderful hosts. The rooms are not only comfortable but beautifully decorated, breakfast was lovely, but the thing that makes this a stand out place to stay is the genuine warmth of the welcome extended. They are so thoughtful and attentive without being intrusive; we felt like we were staying with friends. The whole experience could not have been better. Thanks Enrique for your enthusiasm in helping us to understand Carcassonne's history, and to Lola, thanks for patiently putting up with my halting French.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for all the compliments that go straight to the heart! We hope your journey around the globe has been enjoyable and Carcassonne and its Medieval City have managed to seduce you. We too, hope that our paths cross again. (I still have many stories to tell you ...!) Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The B&B is very well located with a fantastic view of the castle from the backyard.

The breakfast was nice.

The owner were very nice and friendly. They definitely like to talk to their guests and are interesting people.

The room was very confortable. The decoration is not my style, but it is a matter of taste I guess.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aleksvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

From our very first contact we were so well looked after; above and beyond our expectations. Enrique and Lola are thoughtful and gracious hosts who naturally give that little extra to ensure that their guests are welcomed, informed and given all the assistance needed to have the very best of experiences in Carcassone and surrounds. The location is unbeatable with a view up to the fortified city that is priceless. Our room was comfortable, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean - the common areas are just the same. When we stayed with Enrique and Lola I was needing to liaise with airlines and travel agents to get home in a hurry as my father was unwell and Enrique gently took over all the phone calls for me and said that even after we left them that I could call anytime and he would help and I knew that it was a genuine offer. La Posada is a very special place in the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynUlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a 4 night stay at La Posada. Lola and Enrique are the absolute best hosts ever! Our stay was perfect! Our room (Chevalier) with incredible view of the Cité was comfortable, spotlessly clean and gorgeous with a very warm intriguing decor. Enrique and Lola gave us a warm welcome and from the moment we stepped inside we felt at home in this magical place. They showered us with stories, recommendations for places to visit and eat, and Enrique's enthusiasm about the history of the region is infectious! Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and we received the remainder of the pastries in a care package for our road trips! In addition to its lovely location, the care and warmth of Lola and Enrique make this bed and breakfast a gem! We hope to return! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family of four stayed at La Posada del Castillo and enjoyed every moment. Enrique and Lola were wonderful and generous hosts. They enthusiastically shared their knowledge of the surrounding area while making sure we were happy and comfortable in our accommodation. Nothing was too much trouble or out of the way. The rooms were excellent and full of character while the location perfect for exploring the historic fortified city of Carcassone. Just "fantastic" as Enrique would say!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Castillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Castillo B&B

Property: La Posada del Castillo B&B
Address: 60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find this hidden gem tucked away in the picturesque quarter known as La Barbacane and it is here that visitors from all around the world choose to stay in the heart of Cathar country. Built on the site of the former barbican of the medieval City and at the very foot of the ramparts, both the City and the Bastide Saint Louis are easily accessible on foot. At the Posada del Castillo B&B , we are in a classified historical monuments' area so, although we do not have a swimming pool, we do have Carcassonne's Lake Cavayere 5 minutes away as well as the Mediterranean, mountain lakes, rivers and streams in close proximity. Although, being in a town and next to the Chapel of Saint Gimer, we do not have large grounds or parklands, we do have a cosy terrace and a private garden which offer our guests a truly unique view of the Cite. Indeed, the medieval walls, the Porte d'Aude and the Chateau Comtal are less than 100m away. It is the Porte d'Aude which evokes Carcassone world wide and it is this gate which is featured on all of the postcards and used as a backdrop in films and historical productions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing