We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not be better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Castillo B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Castillo B&B
Ranked #8 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could not be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights at La Posada at Easter and Enrique and Lola are truly wonderful hosts. The rooms are not only comfortable but beautifully decorated, breakfast was lovely, but the thing that makes this a stand out place to stay is the genuine warmth of the welcome extended. They are so thoughtful and attentive without being intrusive; we felt like we were staying with friends. The whole experience could not have been better. Thanks Enrique for your enthusiasm in helping us to understand Carcassonne's history, and to Lola, thanks for patiently putting up with my halting French.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for all the compliments that go straight to the heart! We hope your journey around the globe has been enjoyable and Carcassonne and its Medieval City have managed to seduce you. We too, hope that our paths cross again. (I still have many stories to tell you ...!) Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
188
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The B&B is very well located with a fantastic view of the castle from the backyard.

The breakfast was nice.

The owner were very nice and friendly. They definitely like to talk to their guests and are interesting people.

The room was very confortable. The decoration is not my style, but it is a matter of taste I guess.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aleksvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

From our very first contact we were so well looked after; above and beyond our expectations. Enrique and Lola are thoughtful and gracious hosts who naturally give that little extra to ensure that their guests are welcomed, informed and given all the assistance needed to have the very best of experiences in Carcassone and surrounds. The location is unbeatable with a view up to the fortified city that is priceless. Our room was comfortable, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean - the common areas are just the same. When we stayed with Enrique and Lola I was needing to liaise with airlines and travel agents to get home in a hurry as my father was unwell and Enrique gently took over all the phone calls for me and said that even after we left them that I could call anytime and he would help and I knew that it was a genuine offer. La Posada is a very special place in the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynUlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a 4 night stay at La Posada. Lola and Enrique are the absolute best hosts ever! Our stay was perfect! Our room (Chevalier) with incredible view of the Cité was comfortable, spotlessly clean and gorgeous with a very warm intriguing decor. Enrique and Lola gave us a warm welcome and from the moment we stepped inside we felt at home in this magical place. They showered us with stories, recommendations for places to visit and eat, and Enrique's enthusiasm about the history of the region is infectious! Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and we received the remainder of the pastries in a care package for our road trips! In addition to its lovely location, the care and warmth of Lola and Enrique make this bed and breakfast a gem! We hope to return! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family of four stayed at La Posada del Castillo and enjoyed every moment. Enrique and Lola were wonderful and generous hosts. They enthusiastically shared their knowledge of the surrounding area while making sure we were happy and comfortable in our accommodation. Nothing was too much trouble or out of the way. The rooms were excellent and full of character while the location perfect for exploring the historic fortified city of Carcassone. Just "fantastic" as Enrique would say!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The room was very nice, decorated in castle style. The traditional French light breakfast was prepared at our convenience. Enrique and Lola gave us a nice plan for a day excursion and recommended and made dinner reservations for us. The location couldn't be better, right at the foot of the castle. We would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at La Posada for three nights in December and it was truly wonderful. Enrique and Lola were "parfait" from the very beginning. We got recommendations for dinner and they were very kind to make the reservations for us. Their hospitality was incredible and we had one of the best nights at Chateau de Cavanac, thanks to their recommendation and generosity to drive us there.

The room was spacious by european standards, the breads and pastries for breakfast were delicious, and the location is excellent. La Posada has amazing views of the medieval city from the terrace, and accessible within 2 minutes on foot.

Enrique and Lola really make you feel at home in Carcassonne!

Room Tip: The room Les Chevaliers has a gorgeous view of the medieval city which is amazing to see lit up at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzCoffeelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Castillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Castillo B&B

Property: La Posada del Castillo B&B
Address: 60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find this hidden gem tucked away in the picturesque quarter known as La Barbacane and it is here that visitors from all around the world choose to stay in the heart of Cathar country. Built on the site of the former barbican of the medieval City and at the very foot of the ramparts, both the City and the Bastide Saint Louis are easily accessible on foot. At the Posada del Castillo B&B , we are in a classified historical monuments' area so, although we do not have a swimming pool, we do have Carcassonne's Lake Cavayere 5 minutes away as well as the Mediterranean, mountain lakes, rivers and streams in close proximity. Although, being in a town and next to the Chapel of Saint Gimer, we do not have large grounds or parklands, we do have a cosy terrace and a private garden which offer our guests a truly unique view of the Cite. Indeed, the medieval walls, the Porte d'Aude and the Chateau Comtal are less than 100m away. It is the Porte d'Aude which evokes Carcassone world wide and it is this gate which is featured on all of the postcards and used as a backdrop in films and historical productions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing