We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a short course in Languedoc-Rousillion wine!”

Vin en Vacances - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vin en Vacances is a vineyard tour company run by Wendy Gedney, an English woman with a passion for this wonderful area and its wines. Wendy is a wine teacher and during the tours not only will you have a thoroughly enjoyable day, you will also learn a great deal about wine and tasting. Her aim is to provide you with an experience that you can’t easily create for yourself and during the day you will explore the regions, meet some of the most interesting vignerons, taste their wines and enjoy a superb lunch. Wendy's tours always include other fabulous things such as a visit to a goat farm, a pretty village or olive oil tasting.
New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like a short course in Languedoc-Rousillion wine!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Wendy Gedney is a treasure trove of information and lore about the wines of the Languedoc-Rousillion. My husband and I joined her along with 5 others on a rainy spring day in the Minervois region, and found ourselves enthralled the entire time. We visited two very different wineries, both small and run by creative and careful winemakers whose wines were delightful. Lunch was a delicious cassoulet at a charming auberge complete with 3 different wines. Driving from one venue to another, Wendy educated us to the history, style and grape varieties of the region, expanding on the well researched information contained in her valuable book on the wines of the Languedoc.
We hope to join her again for tours of other regions in the area... Great wine, great food and great company. What more could we ask? Wendy is the BEST!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NANCY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    17
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olonzac, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great day out - book now!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is our second tour with Wendy (although we have had other wine tastings with her) & again all we can say is you need to book a tour when next in this region!

We run a B & B in Languedoc & like to check out local activities so we can genuinely recommend them to our guests and Wendy never fails to impress.

Her knowledge about the Languedoc-Rousillon wine and wine culture is amazing & always explained in a way that is not overwhelming for a novice but equally not boring for someone with more wine experience.

We love that Wendy is always on the look out for the unusual and totally supports the hardworking independent wine makers of the region…with as much passion as they have.

Thanks again Wendy for a great day out (where even a little bit of rain didn't dampen our spirits!).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sainte-Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun evening in great company!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I booked Wendy from Vin en Vacances to visit our holiday home in Villeneuve Minervois for an early evening wine tasting - a surprise for my small family group of four. We were all interested in learning about wine and I thought that a tasting at home would mean we would not have to stagger far at the end of the night. The booking exceeded my expectations.

Wendy arrived promptly on our chosen evening bearing a selection of wines of the region and we sat around our kitchen table in front of our log burning stove feeling very relaxed. Wendy had chosen for us both reds and whites all differing in taste and style. We learnt about the main elements of wine, how it is made and how to match wines with food. We were introduced to the wines of the region and persuaded that the French climate probably does produce the best wine in the world!

Best of all, we were given a lesson in wine tasting technique which was hilarious for everyone. All that swirling, sniffing, sipping and rolling around the mouth really does bring out the best of the wine, so by the end of the evening we were beginning to feel like experts - as well as, by bottle number six, becoming gently sloshed.

This tasting was a highlight of our trip and we didn’t stop talking about it for the rest of our holiday. The evening was educational, interesting and fun. Wendy, in particular, was knowledgeable as well as great company. I would urge you to try this great night in.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, France
1 review
“perfect day trip”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have lived in Carcassonne for ten years now and I can honestly say that Wendy's wine tours are my favourite day out by far. Whether you are a complete novice who just enjoys a glass of wine or already have extensive knowledge on the subject, the tours of this exciting wine region offer something for everyone. I have been on tours at different times of the year but there is always something interesting to see at the estates, with the wine at different stages of production. Wendy has an extensive knowledge and enthusiasm for the subject which is contageous.

Not only do you get to visit two or three wine producers, and tour the cellars with the vignerons (which feels like a huge honour) and taste their wines with them, you might also visit a market, a castle, olive oil producer, village of hisorical interest or perhaps a cheese producer to give you a real flavour of the region. The day includes a good lunch (with wine, of course) and pick up/drop off from your hotel. Excellent value for money - highly recommended!

If you are staying in a gite I would advise you to take the trip at the beginning of your holiday so you can stock your cellar for your stay; it's great to open a bottle of wine, having tasted it with the vigneron and knowing the estate it was produced at - a magical experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank janeroper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Une merveilleuse journée”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My boyfriend booked a tour with Wendy in early January. The only day we had available was a Sunday. Wendy was able to organize visits to 2 charming wineries, a stop in a tiny hillside village and a marvellous lunch. An impressive undertaking considering the chef opened the restaurant specifically for us and also provided a delicious vegetarian meal for me. Not easily accomplished in France. Wendy has developed a number of wonderful contacts with local people and businesses that allow her to create unique experiences for anyone lucky enough to join one of her tours. This day was a highlight of our trip and we cannot recommend her highly enough. Wendy's friendly attitude, knowledge of wine and local terroir made for a very entertaining day. We would love to take another tour with her as there is so much to see in this beautiful region. Looking forward to buying a copy of her book!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Couch C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vin en Vacances - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Vin en Vacances - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing