We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine tour at its best”

Vin en Vacances - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vin en Vacances is a vineyard tour company run by Wendy Gedney, an English woman with a passion for this wonderful area and its wines. Wendy is a wine teacher and during the tours not only will you have a thoroughly enjoyable day, you will also learn a great deal about wine and tasting. Her aim is to provide you with an experience that you can’t easily create for yourself and during the day you will explore the regions, meet some of the most interesting vignerons, taste their wines and enjoy a superb lunch. Wendy's tours always include other fabulous things such as a visit to a goat farm, a pretty village or olive oil tasting.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wine tour at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very informative and enjoyable way to spend the day . Wendy's extensive knowledge of the area and the type of wines in the region was a major asset, there was no pressure to purchase the wines and the lunch included in the tour was excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Porra243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My Husband and I were warmly greeted by Wendy when she picked us up in Carcassonne. The group of 8, one by one, introduced themselves and gave Wendy an insight into which wines we usually drank at home. The first stop was Domain Gayda where after the tour and very educational tasting lesson, we had an excellent 3 course lunch, with magnificant views over to the mountains. Next stop was the Abbey in Saint-Hilaire, Limoux, where Wendy told us that it is believed that the monks produced the world's first fizzy wines. Just a short journey from here was the second vinyard for us to tour. Here we tasted 3 Limoux sparkling wines to round this wonderful day off. Wendy is such a lovely welcoming lady, who made us feel relaxed, while she shared her wealth of knowledge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hawthorn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent wine tour - and a great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I greatly enjoyed the Minervois tour end Sept 2012. We joined a group of 8 in total. Wendy was a great host and guide and even if you know a little about the region before you go Wendy's deep knowledge adds a lot. The tour was conducted in a very informative but also relaxed way which made for a fun day. We visited two very good vineyards and had an excellent lunch en route of the local cassoulet accompanied by local wines. In addition to her excellent knowledge of the local wines and terroir Wendy was very informative about the areas visited and able to answer all questions thrown at her which added a great bonus to the day. Highly recommended

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank eur0fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow Wendy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wendy Gedney and chef Kate came to our rented house in Caune Minervois for an at home wine tasting and tapas night. It was absolutely perfect. Local knowledge, local produce and local wines, matched with 'big picture' knowledge of the wine industry, is a winning combination for any lover of food and wine. My travelling companions all take their wine seriously, but no amount of pre-reading by us could have delivered Wendy's fine selection and cross-section of local wines or Kate's sourcing of unique local produce. All seven travelling companions agreed - a highly recommended activity for any one visiting this region and an excellent way of informing subsequent wine purchases!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Don,t miss this tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I and my two sisters and their husbands recently had the great pleasure of spending a day with Wendy as she educated us on the wine, food and history of the Languedoc region. The tour included a visit to a winery in the morning, a visit to a local town market, a sumptuous lunch and wine matching in a local auberge, a second winery in the afternoon and finally a visit to Minerve, a unique town steeped in catar history - this was more than just a wine tour.
Wendy has a delighfully friendly and good humoured style and was very generous with her time to the extent that she also assisted us with some other travel arrangements.
We took the tour on the first day of our two weeks in the area and it was a perfect introduction - thankyou Wendy.
Do not miss this tour!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vin en Vacances - Day Tours also viewed

 
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Vin en Vacances - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing