We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly quaint (and reasonably priced) B&B”
Review of Maison Vieille B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maison Vieille B&B
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This place was incredibly refreshing to arrive to after walking from the train station. I walked in and was greeted by the fresh scent of sage. (side note, if you arrive and no one answers the buzzer, hit up the restaurant directly to the left of the front entrance, it's the husband of the family who seems to own it). The room was beautifully decorated and spacious (and had a hairdryer which was great). The hostess was incredibly friendly and accommodating. The location was great for visiting the medieval Cite and close to the train station. Plus they had free Wifi. I missed out on the breakfast, unfortunately, since I went out for a jog along the Canal du Midi (also recommended) although I was offered some coffee and muffins on my return. The garden was great, and my boyfriend and I sat out there to enjoy a bottle of wine, cheese and sausage we bought in the Cite earlier that afternoon. Best part, this place was so reasonably priced! I booked on Booking.com. Note though, they don't take credit cards, cash only. Love this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristineAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 93 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I were catching a leg of the Tour de France and based ourselves in this lovely B & B. Highly recommend as they have large rooms and plenty of hospitality. Very close proximity to the Medieval City and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnabboDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

the house was amazing, well renovated.

we were surprised by the size of the room and the amazing high ceilings.

although we had a room on the street side, the room was very quiet.
the guesthouse is located at few minutes walks only from the Cite, away from the madness of tourists.

the centre of town is also easily accessible by foot using the very cute bridge. we came by bike and parked them on the patio safe from the street

breakfast was great with pretty much everything hand made and overall it is a great value for money.
I would recommend it for sure and would be happy to come back,

the only down side is the lack of card machine and the owner's mum who was staring at us closely while we were having breakfast which made us feel slighlty awkard :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amande34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I picked up 3 ladies 29/05/12 for a day tour of Languedoc, who stayed here on my recommendation. They spoke favourably of large comfortable rooms in period style and of great breakfast with home made fresh breads/cakes with juices and great tasting coffee. It is in a perfect location just below the old City Walls, and at a good price level.

message supplied by Brian Chalk of www.cathar-heritage-tours.co.uk

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank pauligne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a little gem this is. We don't usually stay in B&B's preferring hotels, but we arrived Monday 21st & left on Friday25, May 2012 .
It was brilliant. Catherine and Dominic were amazing hosts. The 'young lady' who made breakfast looked after us so well. We missed breakfast, preferring a long lie in, so she left our breakfast covered in tin foil to have when we liked. Brilliant. (Sadly we had rain rain and more rain, first 1-2 days, while back in the UK the temp soared to 26 degrees). The rooms are huge, comfortable and spotless. Brilliant. Plenty of hot water, morning and night. Brilliant, Fluffy white towels, and a big bed. Brilliant. A Charming lounge with 2 comfy sofas’ and a TV. Our room overlooked the street, but the only time it was noisy was when a class of 8year olds came past the window singing & walking 2 by 2 the giggling, happy faces, meant the sun was out at last. But if its real noise, you are looking for, that came on Friday morning when the French Army were out in force, with 2 helicopters, and a platoon of soldiers carrying out an exercise on the bridge, next to the B&B. What a thrill. Brilliant. The 'best' restaurant we found was 'le Jardin d'ete' a 2 minute walk away. If you turn left out the front door, left again, past the pharmacy, and the restaurant is across the road. We will go back. As soon as Ryan air have another flight sale. East Midlands Airport to Carcassonne is just over and hour and 20minutes flight time. It cost us £5.99 each way! Yes £5.99. The B&B is15 mins from airport. Who would believe we went to the South of France for less than the cost of a bottle of wine. BRILLLLIANT.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Just next to La Cite (the walled city), this has very large comfortable rooms and is quite. Excellent very diverse range of breakfast items. Only problem is that owner requires a 50 euro deposit paid by bank transfer which cost us £10 to make! If she doesn't want credit cards, why demand a deposit or at least offer PayPal. despite this we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask not to be of street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papermaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I can only repeat the positives of other reviews-great position for visiting both castle and town, good large room and comfy bed, and to top it all, a wonderful home made breakfast [ I am not a foodie but this is worth a mention] The house itself is beautiful inside, very quiet and peaceful. The hosts were friendly and very understanding-we had to dash away to find an alternate flight due to the national strike day. The mediaeval town is well documented but I can recommend the newer town over the old bridge which was good for eating,drinking and shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miklisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
815 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bed & Breakfast L'Orangerie
Bed & Breakfast L'Orangerie
#2 of 52 in Carcassonne Center
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Demeure Saint Louis
Demeure Saint Louis
#27 of 52 in Carcassonne Center
153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Domaine de Marseillens
Domaine de Marseillens
#7 of 52 in Carcassonne Center
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Vieille B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Vieille B&B

Address: 8 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: $127 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Maison Vieille B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing