We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domaine de Marseillens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and Muriel and Serge were a delight. Lovely hosts who made huge effort with all their guests. We enjoyed sharing breakfast with different people from different parts of the world each morning and Muriel and Serge somehow facilitated interesting and friendly conversation despite the mix of languages - amazing!
The house is really lovely, tasteful and comfortable and we had a lovely private garden for the end of the day sunshine and glass of wine. We enjoyed Carcassone, the ancient city and the new (13th century) city. It has an interesting history which is worth reading about. We didn't hire a car so either walked the 2 miles in/ out of the city or took the number 1 bus ( from the new city bus station) they were approximately every 1/2 hour and just 1 euro. Getting from the airport was the only difficult bit and really has to be done by taxi. We would love to visit again to use Domaine de Marseillens as a base and travel around more. Thank you to Muriel and Serge for a memorable short break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howarths2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 195 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Myself, my wife and our 18 year old daughter and 16 year old son stayed for 6 nights in July in the huge family room pictured. Serge and Muryel really looked after us whilst we were there and my son in particular enjoyed practicing his french at breakfast which Muryel was very good at encouraging and helping.
The large room was very comfortable, and whilst there is no air-con , by utilising the wooden window shutters during the day the room can be kept fairly cool. It was hot weather during our stay in July! and so the lovely pool area was a major plus point and we used it every day.
Carcassonne City is a beautiful place and only a 5-10 min. taxi ride.However the taxi fare varied between 15 and 20 euros each way so it is worth considering a hire car. We had a car for our last 4 days and then drove to Barcelona which is just over 3 hours drive. This created a great 2 centre holiday which worked very well.
I would recommend anyone to go and pay a visit to Carcassonne , and stay at Domaine de Marseillens with Serge and Muryel!
P.S. The wine was excellent Serge. Thank you!! from King Duncan!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank duncanHelsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Serge and Muryel are the perfect hosts, very welcoming and accommodating. The guest house is a beautiful old winery less than 5 minutes drive from the medieval town of Carcassonne, also very close to the gorgeous Lake. We will definitely be back - superb breakfasts too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic four night stay at Domaine de Marseillens. We adored this place - Muryl and Serge were so helpful and friendly and couldnt go out of their way enough for us. By the time we had left we felt like we had been staying with very close friends rather than at a B & B. We had the safari room and it was lovely. The bed was comfy and the room really airy. This room only had a shower but it was a lovely shower and we were very grateful after the days walking we had done. We were very lucky with the weather in May and spent each afternoon by the pool (and even in the pool) some days as temperatures reached 30. The breakfast was amazing, and as we were the only English it was very entertaining. We speak a little french but it improved massively in the four days as few of the other guests spoke English which was very entertaining and everyone was very friendly. The food was so fresh and tasty and they really do look after you. We didnt hire a car for our stay as we wanted to do a lot of walking. There is a lake 1km away which is beautiful and there is a 5km walk round the lake. We went to Carcassonne each night for a meal, and although the choice of food doesnt vary greatly restruarant to restaurant it is all very lovely and excellent value for money. There is a bus stop 2 mins up the road from the B&B which takes you into the new part of the City for 1 Euro each and we got a taxi back which varied in price from 12 Euros to 20 euros per trip. On the last day we took a taxi from the B&B to the airport which cost 22 Euros and took 15 mins.

All in all, a fantastic break - Carcassonne itself is lovely but you probably exhaust the sites in the City in a couple of days so any longer than 4 days would need a car to go furhter afield. The accomodation was fantastic and the hosts so helpful and friendly that we will certainly be going back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Muryel and Serge are such warm and friendly people that it makes any stay easy to enjoy.

They welcomed us into their home and despite the fact that their English wasn't perfect and our French was very poor we communicated well and they made recommendations for us in the area.

Breakfast was a beautiful French spread. The croissants were amazing- so fresh and yummy. The jam was homemade and the freshly squeezed juice a lovely start. There were also bread rolls, ham, cheese, yogurt and coffee in bowls!!

The room we had was a triple and was a good size. The decor was interesting and a good talking point- see photo. The room could be made very dark for sleeping. There was only a sheer curtain between the room and the bathroom so if seeing and hearing your traveling companions go to the toilet and have a shower is an issue then perhaps this isn't the place for you. The bath was large and lovely- big enough for 2 people. The shower nozzle was attached to the taps without a wall bracket so just be aware if you prefer to shower rather than bath.
We had an issue with noise one night and muryel was very responsive and made sure it was all sorted out the for the following night.

We cannot fault our hosts and if the room suits you then you will love your stay in Carcassone- we did! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was the friendliest accommodation in our 2 months of travel. Muryel and Serge where very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was massive. The decor was a highlight and was very eclectic as you would want. The expansive timber floor creaked so we could practice ninger skills crossing it. The only questionable feature was the curtains instead of doors for the bath rooms. The beds where large, clean and comfortable and we all slept well. It is a short car ride or medium walk to the old town. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty with local breads, hams, cheese and spreads as well as cereal and juice. The coffee came in bowls which Muryel explained are a local farmhouse tradition so you can dip your pastries in your coffee better
The pool was a good size and clean though at this time of year, no one stayed in long but it was a good setting for afternoon drinks.This was a real highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brewtus_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Domaine de Marseillens outside Carcassonne is more like a B&B than a hotel, as you stay in a guest room with bath in the owners' home, and there are no regular hotel services. It's a very attractive converted winery that showcases the whimsical taste of the owners. Serge and Muryl speak fairly good English, and they are wonderfully gracious hosts. The included breakfast is smaller quantities than Americans might be used to, but much higher quality. The rooms are one huge one and at least three smaller ones, priced differently to reflect the variety, and they didn't have screens or A/C so it might be tough in the heat of the summer. We greatly enjoyed staying here, and it felt much more French than a hotel would. The location would be difficult without a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
1.7 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,588 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
809 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,457 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
331 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Marseillens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Marseillens

Address: 260 route de la Cavayere | chemin de marseillens Monlegun, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: $133 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Marseillens 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine De Marseillens is located 2 minutes from the medieval city of Carcassonne and next to Lac de la Cavayère. It is an old 18th-century winery and offers an outdoor swimming pool, themed rooms with free Wi-Fi and individually decorated rooms. Free parking is also available. The rooms all have a private bathroom and WC. Guests can enjoy a full breakfast every morning in the dining room. Taxes and breakfasts are included in the price of the room. During your stay at Domaine De Marseillens, you can relax on the terraces or around the swimming pool.Guests can go hiking and cycling, horseback riding or go swimming in the Lac de la Cavayere ("Carcassonne beach" ") 2 minutes away from us. The railway station of Carcassonne is easily accessible. Carcassonne Airport is just 3 km away. This property was also noted for its excellent value for money in Carcassonne! Rent of the complete house by the week during July and August: 3500 € the week taxes included. Do not hesitate to contact me . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Domaine de Marseillens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing