We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domaine de Marseillens
Ranked #4 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cozy stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at Domaine de Marseillens for one night on our way through Carcassonne. The location is great for visiting the old medieval city with the car park located approx. 5 mins drive away. Without a car it would probably be difficult, especially if the weather is not so nice like when we visited. It was also nice to stay outside of the old city as it was very touristy and busy and much more peaceful at Domaine de Marseillens.

We stayed in the 'Safari' room which was well decorated and the bed was really comfortable. There was free wifi in the room but it was a bit temperamental. When the weather is nice there is also a door from the room that opens onto a shared terrace with picnic tables and a swimming pool. It was a shame to be looking at it in the rain! Breakfast was amazing and was served on a communal table with the other guests. There were smoothies, homemade jams, fresh pastries, selection of breads, yoghurt, cheese and meats. It was just fantastic. Wish we could have stayed for longer!

I had read a few trip advisor reviews complaining about the noisy floorboards and I will admit the floorboards outside the room are a bit noisy, especially at night. But, the house was built in the 12th century and I thought it just added to its charm. Definitely worth staying at Domaine de Marseillens!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Safari room which opened onto a shared terrace, it was nice to look out onto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    34
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
112
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This property is in a quiet location, just outside, a five minute drive in fact, from the Old City of Carcassonne. It is also within walking distance for those so energetically inclined.

Whilst we were comfortable here, there were a few detractions that require mention. Firstly the creaking floorboards in the rooms. Two rooms that I am aware of. Our room had very noisy floorboards as did the room next to us. Even though we were ever mindful of the need to tread warily, one could not avoid making a considerable amount of noise when pacing the room. Secondly, suitcases on wheels, would not stay where placed, mainly because the floorboards unevenness made them roll away. Another detraction was the fact that the rear door to the garden area, though it had a key in the lock, did not exactly have a lock to close so the door was always left unsecured.

The bathroom, situated behind the bed area, was separated by a three quarter wall and a gauze curtain.

Serge and Muryel are excellent hosts and the breakfast served was most delicious.

One issue that I have a problem with is that I paid a deposit over a year before we stayed. Initially we were to visit earlier in 2011 but had to defer. At the end of our recent stay, the rate that had been stated per night, less the deposit already paid ended up not quite matching and we were charged more than initially informed of. I did not argue this matter but would caution others to check rates and values before staying.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

A very rustic B/B in beautiful old converted winery, about 3 kilometers from the medieval city of Carcassonne. You need a car to get there but then, if you like to walk, you can walk to Carcassone in around 45/50minutes The owners, Muryel and Serge are very friendly and gave us their suggestions for places to visit and eat. Our room was large and had very high ceiling, comfortable and very quite at night. Breakfast (a typical French breakfast, with pastries & breads) was excellent and taken around a large table The little swimming pool is lovely but there are so many places to visit around in the countryside that we barely set our foot in it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed with our two daughters in this beautiful chambre d'hotes for 3 nights. The property is delightful and furnished beautifully and artistically. Our room (the Cathar) was easily the biggest bedroom we have ever slept in, and had an en-suite with an enormous roll-top bath.

Serge and Muryel were wonderful hosts, and made us feel very welcome. They are both very knowledgeable about the area, and gave us lots of ideas for places to visit in addition to the fantastic La Cite. Breakfasts were delicious, with freshly made juices, croissants, and tasty coffee and chocolat chaud.

There was plenty to do with our two daughters, including an afternoon spent at Lac de la Cavayere where there was lots of activities such as mini-golf, inflatables, and a cafe. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Domaine de Marseillens is a guest house that is just outside the town of Carcassonne. It's about 6km by taxi, which cost us between 12 and 20 Euros per trip (depending on the time of day).
It's a very clean and tidy guest house, and Serge and Muryel are lovely hosts. They were incredibly helpful and willing to assist in any way.
The room we stayed in was very simple, and had an open plan bathroom with a thin curtain separating the bedroom and bathroom (which was a little bit of a surprise). The room was clean and neat, but a little bit tired.
We had a good breakfast, included in the price, typical french style.
Overall, we were happy, but not blown away by the place. We were happy to only have stayed one night.
Carcassonne itself is tiny, so you don't need much more than one day there anyway.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SH27380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2011

My partner and I found this on Trip Advisor and booked a four day stay at the beginning of May, based on other reviews.
The hosts Serge and Muryel couldn't have been more helpful. Their home is a delight and our themed room was lovely. A true hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My wife, my daughter and I spent two nights here and enjoyed it very much. Muryel and Serge are very friendly and helpful hosts, and the breakfast they serve is very good (terrific coffee!), taken at a large communal table. That gave us a chance to meet and chat with the other guests, comparing notes about places to visit in the area. Serge and Muryel are also very knowledgable about the surrounding area, and are happy to make suggestions. We stayed in the Cathare room, and it was very pleasant. It was a little early in the year for the swimming pool, but we wanted to try, and Serge was very nice about cleaning the leaves from the surface for us. We had two terrific nights of sleep with the only noise from birds singing in the morning to wake us. You really do need a car to make it work. I would recommend this B & B very highly, and will be returning there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oehjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Marseillens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Marseillens

Property: Domaine de Marseillens
Address: 260 route de la Cavayere | Mont Legun, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Marseillens 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine De Marseillens is located 2 minutes from the medieval city of Carcassonne and next to Lac de la Cavayère. It is an old 18th-century winery and offers an outdoor swimming pool, themed rooms with free Wi-Fi and individually decorated rooms. Free parking is also available. The rooms all have a private bathroom and WC. Guests can enjoy a full breakfast every morning in the dining room. Taxes and breakfasts are included in the price of the room. During your stay at Domaine De Marseillens, you can relax on the terraces or around the swimming pool.Guests can go hiking and cycling, horseback riding or go swimming in the Lac de la Cavayere ("Carcassonne beach" ") 2 minutes away from us. The railway station of Carcassonne is easily accessible. Carcassonne Airport is just 3 km away. This property was also noted for its excellent value for money in Carcassonne! Rent of the complete house by the week during July and August: 3500 € the week taxes included. Do not hesitate to contact me . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Domaine de Marseillens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing