We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gites Sous les Courtines
Scottish Highlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The perfect stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We have recently returned from a wonderful stay in Le Grand Canissou which sits in the most spectacular location at the foot of the mediaeval city walls. You can relax in the living room or out in terraced gardens and drink in the views and ambience of the old city without moving a muscle! At night time the walls are floodlit and become even more beautiful.
However, should you wish to be a little more active, it is only a 5-10 minute stroll from the gite up to the walled city.
Inside, Le Grand Canissou has been fully refurbished and yet it retains all the rustic old world charm of a traditional French gite with original tiling on some floors and marble skirtings.
It has all the home comforts and modern conveniences that you could wish for including flat screen TV, CD player, broadband internet access, a gym, dishwasher, washer dryer and the most amazing Krups coffee maker – the best crema in France!
The state-of-the-art Jacuzzi bath with underwater lighting was a real treat!
Everything was spotlessly clean and a delicious welcome pack of local produce and wine was a very pleasing sight after a long journey!
Christiane, the owner, welcomed us with such warmth and was so helpful – the perfect hostess!
If you are looking for the perfect base, with all the home comforts, from which to explore Carcassonne and the surrounding Languedoc-Roussillon area then we would highly recommend Le Grand Canissou!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hills_of_heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2010

A beautiful house with all the facilities you can ever imagine (including a magnificient jacuzzi!). Christiane (the owner) is a really nice pearson and will make sure your stay is as pleasant as it can be! And the location is simply perfect (not to mention the view of the "Castle" from the garden...).
We have been there for 5 days and we'll make sure to go back as soon as we can!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SontagBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Myself, my partner and parents stayed at the Grande Gite Cassanou in September it exceeded my expectations. The gite is equiped with everything you could possibly need and the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We were collected and returned to the airport and received guidance/maps and information about areas of interest.

The 4 levelled terrace with views of the walled city is stunning ad the added extras like the jacuzzi bath and outdoor spray mist shower made the holiday even more special.

If you are ever in the vicinity of Carcasonne do stay here!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judealon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Gites Sous les Courtines is nestled right under the very walls of La Cite in Carcassonne - literally about a 100 m walk up a lane and into the back gate of the medieval city. There are 2 self-catering villas available - Le Grand Canissou and Mi Padre. Both have 2 bedrooms and can cater for 4 adults.

We stayed in Le Grand Canissou, which is beautifully decorated in 5-star provincial French farmouse style, and is very large indeed. Huge lounge and dining room, kitchen and meals area, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (one with a wonderful shower, the other a spa bath), 2 toilets, a small gym, laundry with dryer, private entry foyer, and three large tiered gardens (one private courtyard and two gardens shared with the other villa). There is also a private garage but getting in and out is extremely difficult as the door is very narrow, and it's on a narrow busy one-way street. We ended up parking on the street instead (which is free).

The view of La Cite from the back courtyard garden is magnificent as it is right above you - we ended up having lunch outside nearly every day as the weather was beautiful all week and the view was so spectacular.

The owner Christiane Clotis met us at the gite at 10am on a Saturday morning and although speaking only a little English (and us only a little French) she was extremely friendly, helpful and went out of her way to explain all of the appliances for the villa and the major attractions and sites in the region (of which there are plenty). She also gave us numerous guide books, maps and pamphlets in English about the Languedoc area and Carcassonne. After giving us her contact number in case we had any problems (she lives 5 minutes away), we didn't see her again until the day we left - very discreet.

She also supplied complimentary bottles of excellent local red and white wine, olives, pate, bread, a jar of cassoulet (the local specialty), breakfast ingredients, espresso coffee and machine, milk and orange juice - all at no charge! There is also a cupboard containing more of these items if you wish to purchase them at her very reasonable prices.

We were lucky enough to have the whole place to ourselves for 4 out of 7 days, as the other villa was initially unoccupied. Even when another couple arrived we only saw them once in one of the upper shared gardens, as there is no visual connection between the two villas. The sense of space and privacy is amazing, given that the very busy tourist hub of La Cite is only a stone's throw away up the hill.

We had absolutley no criticisms or complaints of any description with the villa, gardens, service or hospitality of our host. Christiane has a cleaner who comes after each occupancy so the place was perfectly clean when we arrived. As there is a gardener who comes twice a week to keep the garden tidy, and also people doing the battlements tour in La Cite can look down into the villa gardens, we would suggest you don't sunbathe nude (there are sunbeds and an outdoor shower in the top garden).

The gite also serves as a fabulous base to get out into the Languedoc countryside. There is plenty to do just in La Cite and the town Bastide St Louis, which is a very picturesque 10 minute walk away, but with a car there are countless castles, villages, wineries, caves, canals and more within easy reach. There are patisseries, markets and wine shops all within a few minutes walk if you are intending to self-cater (as we mostly did) or excellent restaurants in La Cite and the town. The gite is 7km from Carcassonne airport (where all the major hire car companies are represented)

All in all, this was the highlight of our six week trip to Europe and by far the best self-catering accommodation we have stayed in anywhere in the world. Although we usually make it a rule never to go back to the same place twice, this will have to be the exception as it was too good for only one visit. One note of advice - Christiane showed us her booking register and the villas clearly book well ahead of time, especially during the Carcassonne Festival in August, so make a reservation early. I booked almost seven months ahead for our week in June.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david102a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gites Sous les Courtines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gites Sous les Courtines

Property: Gites Sous les Courtines
Address: 12 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gite Grand Canissou and the gite Mipadre are at the foot of Medieval Cité and benefit from an exceptional panoramic view and a magnificent garden. The situation gives direct pedestrian access to the walled town, to nearby shops, to the lower town (Bastide Saint Louis) to the banks of the river Aude and to the Canal du Midi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing