We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Merci bien Christiane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gites Sous les Courtines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gites Sous les Courtines
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Merci bien Christiane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

A truly wonderful gite within a fantastic setting.
From the time we stepped off the plane when Christiane was there to meet the three of us (my wife and 17 year old daughter) to the time we had to (reluctantly) pack up again four days later for the return trip home, our short break was comfortable, relaxing and rather fantastic in all!
First impressions of the gite are deceiving, arriving as we did along an unassuming one-way street and parking up outside a small iron gate. Hmmm...Not much to look at yet! But step through the gate and up a few steps and there is holiday heaven. A beautifully appointed property (we stayed in the Mi Padre) alongside one of the loveliest gardens I have ever witnessed. And to top it all off the view from the garden toward the walls of La Cité are pretty much unparalleled.
Christiane also did us proud by stocking the larders with exceptional local food products and bread, crackers, water etc. Plus some corking (excuse pun!) local Minervois which I enjoyed so much, I had to ask where to buy more. The very next morning there was another bottle of the same waiting on the patio table.Merci bien Christine!
The whole property was immaculate, all modern and well stocked kitchen, wonderful ensuite facilities for both bedrooms and much needed air conditioning throughout - the temperature was way over 35 deg C every day!
As for Carcassonne itself? Truly lovely place. We didn't need a car as everywhere was within walking distance. The Cité, The Bastide, The Canal du Midi, the Aude river with some delightful otters swimming under the arches of the Vieux Pont....all within an easy(ish) stretch of the legs. Plenty of bars and cafes along the route to rest and replenish the lost energy too.
The Cité has all types of restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets. We found lunchtime eating to be more economic and more suited to what we wanted to do.
We did have one day trip. We had planned to go to Toulouse on the train, but found it quite expensive just for a few hours. Instead we took advantage of a regional rail offer allowing one-way transport for €1 to anywhere on the Carcassonne-Quillan line. We stopped off in Limoux where we had a delightful meal at a brasserie on the main square, then we visited the Musée des Automates. This is a little gem of a museum and certainly worth a detour if in the area.
However, most of the time we were happy to simply relax in the gite and enjoy the wonderful surroundings of the garden, helped along the way with THAT local Minervois.Merveilleux!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtcg_cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked because of the 100% 5-star rating on tripadvisor and we are happy to keep it going with the same score again. The views are stunning - and the garden must have the best outlook of any cottage backyard in France.
We stayed in Grand Canissou which was sperbly furnished and with every appliance you could want - plus a very generous and unexpected welcome package of food and drinks which kept us going for some time.
It has parking and it is very modestly priced for the quality and the extra included - and on top of that, Christiane was a wonderful host, with a detailed, helpful and friendly welcoming, and attending immediately to any request we had.
If you miss this, you really on missing out omn a fabulous experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Max_and_Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, Uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Absolutely top class place to stay and we could not fault it in any way. We stayed for 4 days in the gite Mipadre. The host, Christiane is very welcoming and generous; when we arrived she gave us a full tour of the gite and the gardens, provided us with an armful of local information, maps etc and talked us through the local area, things to do, sites for kids, where the supermarkets were etc. Then, best of all (!) she also left a great selection of food for us including tea, coffee, hot chocolate, a basket of fresh fruit, brioche rolls etc (I could go on) and essentials like milk, butter etc etc - A superb welcome!

The gite itself is fantastic, really well kitted out and to a high specification - it felt like a boutique hotel without the downside of being in a hotel. With wifi and international TV channels as well, there was everything required. The gardens are also superb and those views are real - it was great being right underneath the castle walls at night when it is lit up - gorgeous. The gardens also seemed to be a little wildlife haven as well, which was great for the kids.

All in all, we loved our stay at Mipadre, did not want to leave and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrWigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

What a delightful reception we had from Christiane Clotis when she picked us up at the train station. She was warm and welcoming. We stayed in the Gite Mipadre and couldn't believe it's wonderful location with beautiful gardens and breathtaking views of the magnificent Medieval Castle, only a few minute walk away! We made the most of our private garden. It had a barbecue and sun loungers and a beautiful water feature. A lovely place to sip wine, relax and enjoy the incredible view.
The Gite itself is very modern and well appointed. It is a very spacious 2 storey, 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment, furnished and equipped to a very high standard and absolutely spotless. Christiane had provided a wonderful spread of red wine, eggs, bacon, fruit, bread, homemade jam and more. We couldn't believe our luck!
Another bonus was the 4 well appointed bikes available for our use. We went for a ride each day and really enjoyed them.

I would be delighted to stay in this accommodation again and would highly recommend it to family and friends.
Christiane, our stay with you was the highlight of our 5 week tour of Western Europe. Thankyou so much for your warmth and generosity!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Lake District
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

First of all can I say a big thank you to our host Christiane Clotis for her warm reception she gave us when she picked us up at the airport, what a bonus not having to think of taxis or buses.
The journey to the gite from the airport was approximately 20 minutes when we arrived Chistiane gave us a guided tour of our accommodation inside and out what a wonderful location. The gite is furnished to a very high standard and absolutely spotless it felt like home right from the word go.
The outside has a 3 tiered garden one private and two communal shared with the gite next door that Christiane also owns, our private garden had a barbecue and sun loungers and a beautiful water feature that was on a timer that came on when it got dark a lovely touch especially when you sitting outside at night having a relaxing glass or two of wine after a days exploring this wonderful part of France. The gite was situated at the foot of the old walled city which at night was the most spectacular of sites all lit up, fantastic.
It was a 5 minute walk up into the old city with its numerous quaint shops and a vast array of restaurants spoilt for choice really, and if you wanted modern than you are only a 10 minute walk across the river to the present day city of Carcassonne and the best fruit market i have ever seen and some lovely bars and restaurants.
I would not hesitate to stay in this accommodation again and would highly recommend it to family and friends.
Christiane your gite is a credit to you and all the hard work you have obviously put into it, we would like to stay again sometime in the future once again many thanks for helping to make our holiday a memorable one.

Michael, Judith, Miriam & Will.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank steviegthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Outstanding quality, service, and position. Four adults stayed for one week in Grand Canissou , and enjoyed every minute. Christiane met us on arrival guided us into the garage and provided an extensive introduction to the gite, and the surrounding area - sites of interest, restaurants, supermarkets etc all covered She provided a superb "welcome pack" which included wine, bread, selection of teas, delicious nespresso coffee, honey, jams, and a jar of the famous cassoulet. We were blessed with outstanding weather which gave us the opportunity for great BBQs in the garden gazing at the lit magnificent Cite walls. The accommodation was spacious, clean, beautifully furnished and equipped. We could not have asked for more. We lost satellite TV connection one evening, but Cristiane and her husband came around within 15 minutes and sorted out the problem with the service provider.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1944Magoo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

We, a 2-adults and 3 children (aged 5,7,11) family from Denmark, stayed here the week after Easter 2011. After a 3 hour drive from Barcelona, we arrived late in the evening at 11pm. Christiane helped us locate the house and gave us the best possible welcome despite the late hour. In the kitchen, we found a variety of local food, a bottle of red wine and - as the very best you could wish for after such a late arrival - morning cereals, coffee, tea, bread, butter etc!!! Not to forget the basics for self-catering: salt, pepper, soap for dishes, oil, vinegar, sugar - even a Nespresso coffee machine with capsules. Throughout our stay, Christiane was extremely helpful. Both the house (Le Grand Canissou) and the garden are meticulously kept and really, really inviting. Furthermore, the spectacular setting at the foot of the Cite ramparts is only to be dreamed of. We left with heavy hearts, wishing we had booked a couple of more days :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSCHRIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gites Sous les Courtines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gites Sous les Courtines

Property: Gites Sous les Courtines
Address: 12 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Carcassonne
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gite Grand Canissou and the gite Mipadre are at the foot of Medieval Cité and benefit from an exceptional panoramic view and a magnificent garden. The situation gives direct pedestrian access to the walled town, to nearby shops, to the lower town (Bastide Saint Louis) to the banks of the river Aude and to the Canal du Midi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing