We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gites Sous les Courtines”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gites Sous les Courtines
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gites Sous les Courtines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

What a delightful reception we had from Christiane Clotis when she picked us up at the train station. She was warm and welcoming. We stayed in the Gite Mipadre and couldn't believe it's wonderful location with beautiful gardens and breathtaking views of the magnificent Medieval Castle, only a few minute walk away! We made the most of our private garden. It had a barbecue and sun loungers and a beautiful water feature. A lovely place to sip wine, relax and enjoy the incredible view.
The Gite itself is very modern and well appointed. It is a very spacious 2 storey, 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment, furnished and equipped to a very high standard and absolutely spotless. Christiane had provided a wonderful spread of red wine, eggs, bacon, fruit, bread, homemade jam and more. We couldn't believe our luck!
Another bonus was the 4 well appointed bikes available for our use. We went for a ride each day and really enjoyed them.

I would be delighted to stay in this accommodation again and would highly recommend it to family and friends.
Christiane, our stay with you was the highlight of our 5 week tour of Western Europe. Thankyou so much for your warmth and generosity!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Lake District
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

First of all can I say a big thank you to our host Christiane Clotis for her warm reception she gave us when she picked us up at the airport, what a bonus not having to think of taxis or buses.
The journey to the gite from the airport was approximately 20 minutes when we arrived Chistiane gave us a guided tour of our accommodation inside and out what a wonderful location. The gite is furnished to a very high standard and absolutely spotless it felt like home right from the word go.
The outside has a 3 tiered garden one private and two communal shared with the gite next door that Christiane also owns, our private garden had a barbecue and sun loungers and a beautiful water feature that was on a timer that came on when it got dark a lovely touch especially when you sitting outside at night having a relaxing glass or two of wine after a days exploring this wonderful part of France. The gite was situated at the foot of the old walled city which at night was the most spectacular of sites all lit up, fantastic.
It was a 5 minute walk up into the old city with its numerous quaint shops and a vast array of restaurants spoilt for choice really, and if you wanted modern than you are only a 10 minute walk across the river to the present day city of Carcassonne and the best fruit market i have ever seen and some lovely bars and restaurants.
I would not hesitate to stay in this accommodation again and would highly recommend it to family and friends.
Christiane your gite is a credit to you and all the hard work you have obviously put into it, we would like to stay again sometime in the future once again many thanks for helping to make our holiday a memorable one.

Michael, Judith, Miriam & Will.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank steviegthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Outstanding quality, service, and position. Four adults stayed for one week in Grand Canissou , and enjoyed every minute. Christiane met us on arrival guided us into the garage and provided an extensive introduction to the gite, and the surrounding area - sites of interest, restaurants, supermarkets etc all covered She provided a superb "welcome pack" which included wine, bread, selection of teas, delicious nespresso coffee, honey, jams, and a jar of the famous cassoulet. We were blessed with outstanding weather which gave us the opportunity for great BBQs in the garden gazing at the lit magnificent Cite walls. The accommodation was spacious, clean, beautifully furnished and equipped. We could not have asked for more. We lost satellite TV connection one evening, but Cristiane and her husband came around within 15 minutes and sorted out the problem with the service provider.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1944Magoo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

We, a 2-adults and 3 children (aged 5,7,11) family from Denmark, stayed here the week after Easter 2011. After a 3 hour drive from Barcelona, we arrived late in the evening at 11pm. Christiane helped us locate the house and gave us the best possible welcome despite the late hour. In the kitchen, we found a variety of local food, a bottle of red wine and - as the very best you could wish for after such a late arrival - morning cereals, coffee, tea, bread, butter etc!!! Not to forget the basics for self-catering: salt, pepper, soap for dishes, oil, vinegar, sugar - even a Nespresso coffee machine with capsules. Throughout our stay, Christiane was extremely helpful. Both the house (Le Grand Canissou) and the garden are meticulously kept and really, really inviting. Furthermore, the spectacular setting at the foot of the Cite ramparts is only to be dreamed of. We left with heavy hearts, wishing we had booked a couple of more days :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSCHRIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at Sous Les Courtines for three nights and were simply swept away by the interior, the terrassed gardens, and the marvelous views of La Cite from the gardens. We arrived in Carcassonne after sunset and immediately got lost. But in no time our host, Christiane Clotis, met us in her car and guided us to her villa. After we tucked our car away in the garage on premises, Ms. Clotis gave us a very useful overview of places to see and restaurants in La Cite, and showed us around what would be our home for the next 3 days. The interior was immaculate and brightly lit day (from the sun) and night, spacious, comfortable and just perfect for me, my mother and my 2 children. We all enjoyed a fine dinner only a short walk into the old part of town, and the next few mornings took our hot chocolate and tea outside in the beautifully landscaped and private gardens. The view is as described - and more. The location perfect - had we stayed in La Cite, we all agreed we would have missed out on the spectacular views of the majestic walled town, and the romantic walks into the old city in the evenings for dinner. We loved our stay in Carcassonne in this very special gite! One last note - our host truly defines the term - she alerted me immediately about the laptop that I had left behind, and kindly packaged it up and mailed it safely home for me. Her service was over the top incredible, as is her gite. A 5+ star establishment!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flytyerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed at Sous les Courtines for three nights and our host Christiane, is surely the most generous you could find. She even drove us to the station on departure as we had an early train to Barcelona and had to drop the car off the night before. The gite itself is in a fantastic location right by the walls of the old Cite and the little patio garden at the rear has a wonderful view of the ramparts especially at night. The gite we stayed in, "mi padre", is very well furnished and designed - very modern decor with lovely bathrooms and plenty of space for a family. There is room for a car if you book the garage ahead. Christiane had thoughtfully fitted out the gite with some food basics, the standard cleaning materials and a welcome basket as well! This gite is great value in our opinion and we would recommend it. Carcassonne is a great spot to use as a base to explore the far south of France and the Cite itself is well worth a day to look around.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank not_yet_world_weary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

This is a great place to stay, the apartment is well appointed and Christiane was so helpful and friendly. It is very clean, very close to the medieval city, the wall of which you can see from the garden.
Chritiane took time to talk us about what is worth seeing and great restaurants in the area.
We stayed there for seven nights and would definately recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indi255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gites Sous les Courtines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gites Sous les Courtines

Property: Gites Sous les Courtines
Address: 12 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Carcassonne
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gite Grand Canissou and the gite Mipadre are at the foot of Medieval Cité and benefit from an exceptional panoramic view and a magnificent garden. The situation gives direct pedestrian access to the walled town, to nearby shops, to the lower town (Bastide Saint Louis) to the banks of the river Aude and to the Canal du Midi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing