We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good meal in La Cité”

Restaurant Adelaide
Ranked #19 of 329 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
289 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very good meal in La Cité”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This place was recommended to us by our B&B hostess at Cote Cite. This is a friendly restaurant, casual and chic at the same time. Old stones surround you inside and there is a beautiful terrace outside with lovely views. The decor, with bright orange against old stones, is warm, cheerful and energetic. I recommend the cassoulet, it is divine! It is best to reserve ahead of time and allow extra minutes to browse while you make your way there. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank France-Pellicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    675
    163
    69
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent location with super wait staff (Karim).”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were seated overlooking the walls of the Citadel on a beautiful summers evening. Karim was our waiter, humerous, funny, snappy and efficient all-in-one. Our order was taken, he advised on options/tastes, brought our drinks at speed and kept a close eye on our table and the many others in his station unintrusively but attentively when he was required.
Food was excellent, service excellent, drinks were super - you must try their Irish coffee, presented like I've never seen... such a work of art!
Will definitely be back, well done.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For the tourists”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

An average meal but in a great setting ; a lovely terrace with views of the castle. Good value set menus and a la carte. Attractive presentation let down by average ingredients.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mummybearRuralUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Cassoulet in Carcassonne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you're looking for an excellent, well-priced meal make a reservation (in the high season) at Restaurant Adelaide, where the cassoulet du maison is superb.
The set menu is a mere 14.50 for three courses, with a range of delicious meals to choose from.
Compared to most other restaurants in Carcassonne offering both set menus and cassoulet, Restaurant Adelaide cannot be matched in price, quality, taste served up with friendly and pleasant service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
317 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“The place for the traditional cassoulet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Cassoulet is a regional dish which is presented in a lot of restaurants in the area. However this one stands out because of its use of fresh products : duck legs and Toulouse pork sausage in a stew of white beans.

Cooked to perfection using only fresh products, this was a great dish, a reference for the famous Cassoulet.

Although we had started with an oven roasted Camembert it was light enough to allow a dessert to conclude this fine experience.

Great staff, ever friendly and smiling, made sure we want to go there again on another occasion.

We recommend this place at any time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Adelaide also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Restaurant Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing