We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A GEM”

Restaurant La Marquiere
Reserve with
Restaurant La Marquiere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 349 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $47
Cuisines: European, Diner, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A family business rooted in the City whose reputation is honoured in the greatest guides.Charming, elegant, cordial welcome in this little restaurant, which serves simple and tasty regional cooking.You can enjoy various specialities according to the seasons, followed by the best wines of the region.On sunny days you can have dinner in the inner patio.To share with your friends the pleasure of a traditional cuisine we offer gift vouchers
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Without a doubt this was the best restaurant in Carcasonne, everything about it was excellent. The staff were extremely professional together with friendlieness, the food was delicious, so good we ate there two nights running. So reasonably priced for such good quality food and presented so well. The wine pairing was great. If you only have a short stay in Carcasonne this restaraunt should be top of the list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Adelaide23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 276 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

What a great restaurant, I went with my parents and was a great experience, they love it, is one of the best restaurants I have being, the service is great, the food is spectacular, I totally recommend this place! Alejandro

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alejandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The service was excellent, attentive and sharp.
The Languedoc wine that the staff helped us choose was excellent. The food was well prepared, presented, appetising and bordered on fine dinning, without fine dinning prices. The cassoulet was excellent as was the outstanding lobster starter that we both chose. Our chocolate desert was outstanding.
We had been advised to come here by the staff at our hotel. Their Michelin starred restaurant and brasserie was closed for most of March!
The restaurant decor was appealing.
All in all an excellent choice.
I'd recommend that people give it a whirl.

Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARQUIERE, Responsable réception at Restaurant La Marquiere, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014
Google Translation

Cher John,

Notre petite maison préserve les traditions et la culture gastronomique française. Nous sommes ravis de s'avoir que vous appréciez cela.
Nous vous remercions aussi du temps que vous avez pris pour écrire cette avis.

Nous remercions également la conciergerie de L'hôtel de la Cité, pour leur recommandation.

Bien à vous

L'équipe du Restaurant La Marquière

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

As we were staying only two nights in Carcassonne, we wanted something nice within the castle walls. La Marquiere was well recommended on Trip Advisor and a few other sites also. It did not disappoint. We booked on line for a reservation in early April and received the confirmation email promptly. Fantastic service and not at all rushed, great wine list and wonderful food which was beautifully presented. The soufflé was the best we have ever had! Would definitely visit again and highly recommend La Marquiere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARQUIERE, Responsable réception at Restaurant La Marquiere, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014
Google Translation

Cher Jo G,

Merci pour cette belle critique. Je ne manque pas de transmettre vos félicitions a l'équipe du restaurant.

J'espère avoir le plaisir de vous revoir si vous veniez a passer par carcassonne.

Bien à vous

M MARIUS Florent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

As we wanted a "finer" dining experience than home style cooking on our only night (Sunday) in Carcassonne, we chose to go to La Marquiere due to the high number of positive Trip Advisor reviews. It did not disappoint. We had 2 aperitifs (kir royale and cremant rose) and then each ordered three course prix fixe menu. My husband had the wine pairing at 14E. Total bill came to 108E, which was very good considering amount and quality of food and beverages. My husband was particularly impressed by the wine that was served with his second course; unfortunately, it is only available through a small producer an hours drive away. Had we more time in the area, I know my husband would've driven there. The duck confit set on top of sliced garlic and parsley potatoes was excellent as well as the duck magret cooked perfectly rosé. The chocolate spheres for dessert were amazing. Our waiter Floran (hope I spelled it correctly) was very formal at the beginning of our meal, but by the 2nd course, allowed his charming personality to come through. He explained how his family history was tied to Carcassonne and it's UNESCO designation. Thank you Floran for making our one evening in Carcassonne so memorable!

1  Thank jdVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARQUIERE, Responsable réception at Restaurant La Marquiere, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for your review on our restaurant.
The region's main problem is that we are too many good wines! And it's difficult to visit every domains on only one day.
Unfortunately we can only help you discover the best wines by providing cellars addresses on Carcassonne.

Sincelery
Mlle CALMONT Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Marquiere also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant La Marquiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing