We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food great location”

Restaurant La Marquiere
Reserve with
Restaurant La Marquiere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 338 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $44
Cuisines: European, Diner, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A family business rooted in the City whose reputation is honoured in the greatest guides.Charming, elegant, cordial welcome in this little restaurant, which serves simple and tasty regional cooking.You can enjoy various specialities according to the seasons, followed by the best wines of the region.On sunny days you can have dinner in the inner patio.To share with your friends the pleasure of a traditional cuisine we offer gift vouchers
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent food great location”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visited Carcasonne in April this year and per booked a table given there were 6 of us the menu choice was limited but tgt is a sign of a great restaurant we all tried different things andy he food was wonderful well worth a visit a little expensive but our best meal of the trip

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scouser79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    272
    43
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Traditional dinner in classic restaurant”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at La Marquiere based on the favorable reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. I had made our reservation through Tripadvisor and La Fourchette and received several reminders of our reservation.

We were early for our reservation; we had been exploring the hilltop Cité de Carcassonne that evening and wondered if they would let us start 15 minutes early. When we entered they were clearly not ready; the staff was obviously still finishing their dinner. We were ready to excuse ourselves and come back but the waiter indicated that we should wait. He disappeared, came back pulling on his waiter's jacket, and took us upstairs to our table. We were dining mid-week and it was easily an hour before other diners showed up.

The waiter was very attentive and helpful. Water glasses were kept full. A small amuse-bouche or appetizer accompanied our aperitif. We chose "Foie Gras de canard" for our entrées and the duck confit and cassoulet for our "plats" or main courses. All classic dishes in a traditional styled restaurant. Some may view the decor as outdated but, given the Medieval town that surrounds it, I think it entirely apropos for the location. We chose a Minervois red wine from Chateau Vassiere, a local vineyard. I chose the cassoulet as this region, Languedoc, is where the dish originated. Carcassonne, along with nearby towns of Toulouse and Castelnaudry. claims to being THE place where cassoulet was invented.

We had a good time. Despite the traditional, almost formal decor, we had a relaxed meal. Even when there were more diners the atmosphere was fairly hushed. The food and ambiance were pretty good. Definitely consider La Marquiere for a romantic dinner for two when visiting Carcassonne.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImmerWandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Sunday evening dining in Carcassonne usually means the castle as few places in the town are open.This smallish place is in an alley but well signed. Initial impressions were of a formal ambience with a very correct sommelier. Food was refined French cooking-two courses for 26 euros,3 for 36 euros.(some supplements apply).
The lobster bisque amuse bouche was a shot glass of intense flavour.
The foie gras ravioli,in a woody mushroom sauce topped with a slice of liver was very fine.
The foie gras terrine was a generous portion ,with three small pots of toppings(onion jam, ground pistachios and fruit chutney) with toast.
We both had the cote de boeuf which was beautifully cooked and topped with more foie gras! Vegetable balls(carrot,courgette, mushroom, turnip) in a filo basket was a nice presentational touch,but lacked seasoning to bring out the flavours.
The cheese plate was 5 French cheeses ,but served chilled which did not make the best of their potential.
We chose a Faugeres red at 28 euro-highly recommended.
Freebies of meringue cylinders and orange pastilles came with the bill.
Overall an excellent meal for 109 euros,service incl.Only the vegetables and the cheese prevented a five star recommendation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience with good food and great views”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited the restaurant following reading trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The ambience is really pleasant with views over the battlements toward the Black Mountains. Dinner was not Fine dining but very good. My wife had a lobster salad starter which she said was very good. My asparagus was ok. We both had duck for our main course which was also good. There were only two staff who coped fine although the evening was not particularly busy. The Manager recommended a nice combination of local wines which were pleasant and very reasonable. All in all well worth a visit if you want good food and wine in a relaxed and pleasant setting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ianoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect anniversary celebration”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I had lunch at La Marquiere to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Although we were the only table at lunch, we did not feel uncomfortable. The restaurant is off on a quiet side street, so if you weren't looking for it, you may not find it. Also, the crowds seemed to be families with children so I could see why they did not choose La Maquiere.

We enjoyed the 3 course menu with wine tasting while overlooking the old city wall. What made the meal special were the special touches such as the olives and sweet onions to begin the meal and the candied fruit at the end; the special wine, and the lovely music. The best part of the meal for me was dessert. It came to the table as a chocolate ball that I wasn't sure how I was going to eat. The waiter soon poured hot chocolate over it, melting the top to reveal a filling of cream and cherries. It was fabulous. The price was unbelievable for a michelin-star type experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klhDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Marquiere also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant La Marquiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing