We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap”
Review of Le Trouvere

Le Trouvere
Ranked #167 of 338 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Le Trouvere is in an excellent location in the middle of the old Cite de Carcassonne, surrounded by lots of other eating establishments that offer near-to-equal menus. I am not quite sure why we chose to eat at Le Trouvere. Perhaps it was because of serendipity. Maybe fate. But for whatever reason we ate there. And it wasn't too bad but neither was it too good. In fact, it was just medium for whatever you'd expect in a tourist-rich environment. Reasonable food. Not terribly expensive.
Staff that were approachable without ever engaging. Just medium. But perhaps a safe choice for a meal in what can be a terribly crowded environment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    206
    117
    68
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Have the Cassulet”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Look you are in the center of the region know for cassulet, So why not try it at an establishment that has existed within the walls of a World Heritage preserved castle. The Canard was really great. Crowd in the place was fun, dining outside is nice on a warm day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mitch w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

After a stroll through the early evening, quieter, streets on a beautiful 'balmy' evening, we arrived at Place Marcou, which seemed very lively and jolly with lots of the restaurants already quite busy, even though it was still only 8.30 but we found a table at this restaurant, which had a reasonable menu.
Having eaten well over the last day or so, we thought a light meal would suffice, so I ordered a 'jambon serrano, with something that was a bit like 'bruschetta' it was on the Grand Salad part of the menu, but came without any salad at all, the waiter was happy to bring a Green salad but it was a meal in itself and greatly increased the price of what we'd hoped to have as a cheap meal. The best thing was watching other people getting a 'flaming' Creme Brûlée, which was very impressive.
The worst part of the evening was not the fault of the restaurant but involved a really nasty group of drunken German louts at a table in a nearby restaurant who shouted and jeered at all the other diners.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Good value in warm setting”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you decide to have dinner in one of the many tourist-trap restaurants on this square this one is certainly the best. The dishes on most menus in the old Cité offer basically the same. The difference is either the price or how well the dishes are prepared. We tried the Cassoulet which was tasty with nice crispy duck leg and Toulouse sausage grilled to perfection. The Cassoulet somehow leaves your mouth covered with a layer of grease and I could almost visualize my arteries clogging up while savoring it. The other main we tried was the wild boar stew which is very good especially if you like strong tasty flavors. The 3 course menus they offer are at a very reasonable price. Only disadvantage as with many of these places is that the desserts are factory made.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Best Food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We discovered this restaurant on our first day. The staff were very friendly and the food is wonderful, we recommend the Wild Boar stew, full of tender chunks of meat in a delicious sauce. The service was very quick and all the meals we are here were piping hot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Two-Hobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Trouvere also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Le Trouvere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing