We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
galway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We spent a week in Clos de la Cite in May 2012. The location is excellent as it is only five minutes walk from the Cite which is the main focus of Carcassonne. The apartment itself was large and spacious and had a lovely balcony which could be accessed from the bedroom or the living room. There is plenty space to eat outside which we did on a few occasions as the weather was great. In terms of the town itself there are a number of very good restaurants in the Cite but our favourite was known mostly to locals called Jardin d'Ete. It was always packed and no wonder as the food was excellent and the ambience relaxed and understated. For those who like to self cater there is a fabulous supermarket only a ten minute walk away and for the mornings there is a gorgeous bread shop directly opposite the property. We will definitely visit again as it is good value accomodation in a great location. Other things to see and do centre around the river where there are lovely walks and the canal du midi. For a longer excursion the train is very accessible and only a short trip away is Toulouse and Perpignan.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for apartment over the swimming pool as it is the quieter part of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galwayirishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidHotel_RP, Responsable relations publiques at Cerise Carcassonne Sud, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We are pleased that you had a nice stay in our residence. Thank you for your testimony and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    320
    201
    56
    32
See reviews for
353
277
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed at this 'hotel' a couple of weeks ago and were very disappointed with the accommodation. We were given a ground floor studio that was totally void of character or any form of visual comfort. There was no fridge although it was a self-catering unit. The bed was a most unusual structure and it was difficult to climb in or out of the right side due to raised spars. The hotel is close to the old city and this was really the reason we booked the room. This residence could be described as no-frills tourist class accommodation.
We ate breakfast in the lovely hotel across the road. It was also a 3* but considerably smarter with friendly staff and high standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

bristol , england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have just returned from 7 days at the Residhotel and want to make the following comments.
This hotel is ideal for those travelling by car as there is a large carpark in the grounds and is on the main road. However we travelled by train and found the 40-45 walk to the station wearing.( the nearest bus stop is by the Cite gates and not very regular) In retrospect we would have been better staying near the old bridge within easy walking distance of the Cite and town. Also in a more charactful hotel as this does look like a prison!
The Residhotel has no character and the rooms are basic although clean and adequately equpped. We had booked a studio apartment but on seeing the sofa bed asked to move and we were upgraded to an apartment for 4 with a separate bedroom. This was a good size and nice and warm which was essential considering the cold weather we experienced.

We made our own breakfast so can't comment on the hotel breakfast.

We recommend the 1Euro train trip to Limoux and a trip to Narbonne.

Room Tip: we were in a ground floor apartment by the road which wasn't noisy but we had no view to speak o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retcouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for 6 days on a Newmarket Holiday. It is most conveniently situated if you are catering for yourself - a wonderful French bakery is just opposite and two supermarkets are within 10 minutes walk. Also it is a 10 minute walk up the hill to the walled city with its many excellent restaurants.
The block in which we stayed is set well back from the Rue Narbonne & so no traffic noise. The one bedroom flat was practical, and had all we needed, but was hardly charming . The breakfasts ( included in the b&b rate) were very adequate - a generous continental breakfast.
The main disadvatage( if you are a party or group of travellers) is that there is no common room or sitting room which is open all the time that the hotel is open. The reception desk is also only open certain hours

Room Tip: We had a top floor room with a separate bedroom with a pleasant view - very welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Residhotel is ideally situated less than a 10 minute walk to the centre of the old town (including a short steep slope and steps). It is true that first impressions are not ideal but the rooms are fairly spacious (don't go for the studios, but ask for a one bedroomed appartment even if there are only two of you). Also ask for a room with a wardrobe otherwise you just get three hooks on the bedroom wall and a hanging rail in the lounge. There are no drawers and this is something the hotel easily could provide at little cost. Beds are quite firm.

Rooms were very clean and serviced daily including change of towels. Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, fridge and microwave. Good breakfast and excellent patisserie just across the road. The restaurant LE BREAK just 300 yards away has a good value set menu at 16 Euros but this not much cheaper than restaurants in the old town where set menus between 15 and 20 Euros are readily available. Supermarkets (Lidl and Casino) a 20 minute walk away.

If you are travelling with Newmarket, the day trips to Collioure and Avignon/ Pont Du Gard are well worth taking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The place is surrounded by a gate. You need to use the intercom at the gate to gain entry. Plenty of parking. It was hard to find where the reception was it wasn't really signposted but as you enter the gates you will see a building on the left near the exit gate which looks like a house. The room was clean. We were there only one night. Needed to make the beds up for our girls. Also needed to take rubbish from room when you leave the rubbish bin is at the front near the entry gate but it's not a huge bin. There is a large grocery story about 5 mins away. Carcassonne castle is about 10 min walk. The receptionist told us that after checking out we could leave our car in the car park indefinetly which was really handy for us. It does have a heated indoor pool which my kids loved.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We are travelling around Europe by car and are used to staying in all types of places. I normally think that people are overreacting when they write bad reviews, but this place left me sleepy and in a bad mood. I guess you definitely get what you pay for, although i could have put up with all of the following if i had a comfy bed (was ridiculously hard).
- No fridge in a 'selfcontained' unit. (Realised this after we went shopping for dinner)
- Pull out bed kept rolling under the bed every time you rolled over in your sleep.
- Poorly installed shower. (no shower screen so water goes everywhere. must be constantly hand held, cannot use wall mounted)
- Dirty walls, scuff marks everywhere, cutlery, utensils and crockery had to be washed before use.
- Reception is only open between 8am -12pm and 4pm -8pm, we knew this but thought we could at least park the car and walk into town. Checking out before 8am is a no go as well.
I do not recommend.

Room Tip: Try not to get room 118.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChillCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidHotel_RP, Responsable relations publiques at Cerise Carcassonne Sud, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We are sorry that your stay did not completely satisfy you and let us give you some precisions. Some rare apartments, intended for the stays of a single night, do not arrange a fridge and they should be equipped with it soon. Some tracks on walls, due to the friction of furniture are going to be erased soon, we put this apartment first to be repainted. Concerning the bed, it was necessary to lift him simply to set up feet and so avoid the movement. Finally, the residence, for safety reasons of his hosts, is closed out when the reception is not opened, a code must be given to you to bring in your vehicle inside the residence. Your departure would have been able to take place before 8 am if you had contacted simply the reception the day before.
We hope that this precision will have allowed you to make you a more favorable opinion of our establishment and let us hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#16 of 39 in Carcassonne
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
0.5 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerise Carcassonne Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerise Carcassonne Sud

Property: Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Address: 1 Rue Darius Milhaud, 11890 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerise Carcassonne Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Aude department, the CERISE RESIDENCE Carcassonne Sud is situated in an exceptional location 10 minutes by foot from the Medieval City, a World Heritage Site. Its 76 apartments are spread over two buildings set in vast landscaped gardens. The former mansion house which has preserved the charm of old buildings houses the reception and the breakfast rom. For leisure, the residence offers access to its indoor heated swimming pool, a hammam and a fitness room You can take your meal in one of our restaurants partner, within walking distance, or to make you deliver your meal in room (more information at the reception) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cerise Carcassonne Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residhotel Le Clos De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing