We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is very close to station and very clean.”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The hotel is very close to station and very clean.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is close to station, easy to walk & well sign posted.My room was small, but adequate and very clean. The owner, Marc was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is about 20 minute walk to old city. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 162shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you Shirley.
We were very please to welcom you in our Hotel and happy you enjoyed the guided tours we recommended.
Take care,
Séverine and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    134
    75
    18
    9
See reviews for
55
162
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
longridge
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

For some reason many hotel's in France of this standard have shower curtains which don't make for a good shower, but that was a small issue. Marc and his wife were very accommodating and the breakfast was a fill your boots style buffet which is useful if you're about to cycle for a full day on the canal du midi. The room was clean and spacious enough for a two night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi Chris, We were happy to see you again after your 10 day trip on the canal du midi. Thank you for complimenting the breakfast. We also have bike rentals for 10€/ day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
574 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had booked the Astoria on the back of all the very positive reviews on Tripadvisor, plus the owners spoke English and the hotel was a very easy walk from the station. We knew when we booked that we had two different rooms for the two nights but this was not a problem.

We were expecting a 2* hotel but for the first night our room with facilities was in the annexe. We found it very basic with the ensuite quite cramped. Yes a good view of the back yard and garages plus the trains going past at regular intervals. Unfortunately the loo seat was broken and loose and the cleaner had missed something under the seat. It was easy to fix and clean ourselves so i didn't bother getting the owner back. Not a promising start.

Wifi worked well, we had a good sleep and the trains didn't seem to bother us. Only one group of people came into the annexe late and due to the nature of the annexe it was quite loud. In the morning the shower wouldn't stay up despite my efforts to fix it so I mentioned this to the owner. Due to the hotel being full when we came down to breakfast we were asked to sit in reception with a coffee for a while until a table was ready. When we ate breakfast I was a little put off as it didn't seem as though there was usually anything to cover the bread when you had to cut yourself a slice. The thought of everybody else holding the bread I was going to eat put me off somewhat. I was then rather choosy about what I ate.

Our next room was in the main building and felt a little more spacious, despite being slightly cheaper probably because there was no aircon. I imagine if we had been in that room for two nights I would have written a completely different review.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, but i feel we were unlucky on this visit. if you choose the Astoria I hope things go better for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. We are very sorry for these unexpected problems.
Yes, we had a large groupe on that day, and they were quite noisy. Unfortunatly, we can't do much about this if other people dont respect the sleep of other customers when they come back late.
Yes the loo seat was loose and we changed it the next day. We also changed the shower wich was broken.
When you decided to come for breakfast, all the noisy group was there and you had to wait 5mn. We offered you coffee to thank you for your patience.
We do the maximum to be helpfull and satisfy all our customers,
Sorry again, and happy that the next day was better.
Séverine and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Really lovely experience at the Astoria. Hosts were great and the room was clean and bright. This is a good value for money hotel and served excellently as we cycled along the Canal du Midi. Good shower and not an issue that we did not have an ensuite toilet. We were aware of this before we went so was absolutely fine. Whilst there is no air conditioning, there is a ceiling fan which proved up to the job. The breakfast was 8 euros, which whilst was expensive compared to other places we stayed on our trip, was in fact the best breakfast we had. Unlimited hot and cold drinks, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh bread, cheese and meats. Also had croissants etc. This is also a great location, right near the train station and the Canal du midi. The medievil city is only a 10 minute bike ride away. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliontheisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for this kind review. We are happy you enjoyed the location of the lovely Hotel Astoria, and also the unlimited breakfast and all the choice.
Severine and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is good location, great service and way more than what you pay. We reserved on-line and knew we would arrive by train well into the night. No problem - just follow the directions - and easy to see signs - and you are in your room without ever seeing any staff. At the very good continental breakfast the next morning we met the delightful, young couple with daughter that own and run the Hotel. It is within walking distance to the Citie and most of Carcasonne. The hotel is clean, simple, and well cared for, as are the guests. There just were no disappointments with our stay here. Would do it again!!!

Room Tip: Reserve ahead of time. We went in the down season and told we were lucky to get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you, we are very gratefull for this comment.
Yes, you informed us of your late arrival, and we gave you the code access to your room. Happy you liked the good location of Hotel Astoria and the good breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The owners were very friendly and helpful and both spoke English well. Room was clean and not shabby considering the good price. Breakfast was nice quality - croissant / bread / egg / ham/ cheese / jam etc if a little expensive at €8. Room came with fan as Air con - needed as the windows needed to be closed if trains keep you awake. Recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukphil12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for recommending the good quality price of our Hotel and the large choice of breakfast. Yes we are close to the train station and that is very convenient. And very few trains run a night.
See you again.
Séverine and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We found the management and staff really helpful, the rooms clean and functional, and the bed was comfy (or maybe we were very tired!), the plumbing and wifi worked fine. And its appearance is just a cute typical French Provincial hotel (think Allo Allo). Excellent all round. Its very very close to the station, and the Canal du Midi and only a short pleasant walk to the old walled town. make sure you go for a stroll at least to the foot of the wall by night too.

Room Tip: The hotel has an annexe just over the road. Based on reading previous reviews, we asked to be in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you Richard.
What else? Everything seemed to be perfect, and that makes us very happy.
Kind regards,
Séverine and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#22 of 39 in Carcassonne
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
129 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#15 of 39 in Carcassonne
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
2.2 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#27 of 39 in Carcassonne
119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#25 of 39 in Carcassonne
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: 18 rue Tourtel, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing