We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Carcassonne
1
Reviewed October 19, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Astoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 332 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is very close to the train station which was perfect as we arrived after dark. If you plan to arrive after 8pm give the owners plenty of notice as the office closes then and you will not be able to get in without a code. We booked the night before and arrived at 8:10pm, the owner said they emailed us to tell us they would stay until 8:30pm, however we had no access to the Internet so did not get this email. Luckily we did not show up after 8:30pm.

Reception spoke good english however were not very helpful assisting with our luggage. We had several small bags (not heavy) and we were obviously struggling with carrying all of them up 3 flights of stairs, but no help was offered to carry even the smallest item. There is excellent storage for your bike. I'd have to agree that the shower is a very poor design.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for a night while visiting the very impressive castle. (The castle is a long, long walk from this hotel.) Our double room felt a bit cramped, and the bathroom window which faced the street had barely adequate curtains thus possibly compromising our modesty. The breakfast was excellent, which was an added convenience as we had to catch an early morning train. Marc and Severine responded well to e-mails and it was great that both spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mannenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in Carcassonne for a couple of nights. Carcassonne is a fantastic place to visit, the castle makes it all worth the journey. Don't believe the websites that tell you that it's too expensive to eat up on the hill, because it simply isn't true. We found the prices to be competitive in the old city as it was down in the town, and the food isn't crap aimed at fly-by-night tourists, it's traditional and tasty.

As for this B&B, we booked a room on the top floor which had a view of the train line and a side street, so the view would be 2 out of 5. We didn't have the breakfast so can't rate that, and the room itself was perhaps a little tired, with woodchip on the walls and everything had obviously been painted a hundred times before in an attempt to freshen it up.

There was only one pillow each in our double room, the T.V. only goes up to 15 (probably because they're aware of the lack of soundproofing and how annoying it may be to other guests) and our room didn't have a toilet, which we were aware of before we arrived. It was alright, nothing special but conducive to a fairly good night's sleep.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank thraxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We are very pleased that you enjoyed this beautiful medieval city of Carcassonne, and had a good night in our Hotel.
Regarding your comments, you are quite right: there are 1 pillow per person, but you have the option to have more on request.
The sound of the TV is set at the factory as in all hotels. On request, we can unlock the sound.
We are at your disposal at the reception to make your stay as pleasant as possible, and provide solutions to your needs. Just ask.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Both Marc and Séverine welcomed us warmly to their cozy hotel in downtown Carcassonne. They had communicated our confirmation earlier to us and, upon our arrival, showed us to pleasant, clean rooms with nice washrooms. There were 3 couples in our group, and we were all more than satisfied with the accommodations to our needs, the breakfasts - especially the endless coffee, and the assistance given to us for finding our way around the city, to restaurants, La Cité, etc. Thank-you so much to Marc and Séverine. We would be more than happy to return here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We are very pleased that your 3 bedrooms and the breakfast gave you satisfaction. Guide you and give you as much information and gastronomic tourism is always a pleasure for us. Hoping to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor. We are a family of 4 on a long backpacking trip with a small budget for hotels so we have experience in the 2 star range! The room slept us well with a double and 2 single beds. The rooms aren't large but we didn't expect them to be. The owners speak EXCELLENT English. They rented us bikes for a terrific trip on the Canal (same price as the big shop in town only these were right here, excellent bikes, and came with personal care). We had every question answered, every need met. 100% happy. They have drinks for sale & tourist info & maps in English too. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, everything worked (thank you for hot water & water pressure!), the coffee delicious, the wifi easy to access, etc.. We recommend it highly.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank CarpeDiemMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for all these compliments. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We love our region and it is a pleasure for us to give you a maximum of tourist information. Very happy that you have enjoyed family room, as well as the possibility to rent our bicycles to explore this beautiful Canal du Midi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Astoria two times now on separate trips and have nothing but raves for this hotel and owners Séverine and Marc! It is clean, close to the gare and within 10-15 minutes walking distance to the cite. Whatever you need Séverine and Marc will try to accomodate, from arranging taxis, rental cars, and bike rentals. I did not have the breakfast so cannot comment. I will stay at this hotel each and everytime I come to Carcassonne. I can think of nothing negative to say about this hotel! * Ok one thing, the shower curtain tends to attack you, and I did get the floor wet, but good grief, that is hardly worth mentioning. I love this place and the people who run it!

Room Tip: If you are delicate and sensitive to sound, ask for a room in the main building or a room on the str...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

hello Terri and Jeanne,
We are very pleased to have received you for the second time in our Hotel. It was a great pleasure for us to advise and guide you in the region. We will put a shower curtain longer .... I promise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne
134 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#26 of 39 in Carcassonne
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
1.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#19 of 39 in Carcassonne
191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: 18 rue Tourtel, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: $47 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Astoria 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing