We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dreadful experience”
Review of Le Patio

Le Patio
Ranked #4 of 129 Restaurants in Aigues-Mortes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $43
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 27, 2018

As far as I can recall, this was the worst meal that I have eaten in a restaurant. Following a bland starter, I was served a terrible fish dish for the main course and had to leave most of it. I decided not to try the dessert as my confidence in the chef had already vanished. I find it impossible to believe that this restaurant employs a trained chef. The meals are quite expensive but this should not be taken as a guide to quality. There are other restaurants nearby in the same price range that my wife and I have tried and which offers far better value for money.
It is pity because the restaurant decor is pleasant and the waiter did his best to please. However, the most important element of a restaurant visit was sadly lacking.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 837pfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 787 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2018

Quite good cooking, lovely patio & plants setting & playfull dishes présentation, witty service, good local wines advice.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Pantheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

We came for dinner in this restaurant who looked cute from outside.
We were the first clients of the evening!
They first warned us that nothing was available for kids.
Then the owner came to take the order forcing us to take full menus for the children. We complained saying that was a waste of food.
They just wanted to kick us out!
UNACCEPTABLE for a tourist location!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 5kariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiLenardo, Propriétaire at Le Patio, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018
Google Translation



Bonjour madame Karine R,
Je ne prendrai pas soin de traduire ma réponse puisque vous n’avez pas la franchise d'écrire dans ma langue, que vous comprenez très bien d’ailleurs.
Vous êtes venus hier au soir le 18 juillet 2018 pour dîner, vous nous avez demandés une table pour quatre personnes, nous avions de la place donc pas d'objection : nous vous avons simplement indiqué que nous n'avons pas de plat spécifique pour les enfants, vous nous avez répondus cela n'est pas grave vous avez du poisson.
Le propriétaire est venu vous prendre la commande : c'est moi-même, je suis propriétaire, gérant, cuisinier, je fais du service également, et cela m'arrive tous les jours : je vous prends la commande : 2 MENUS & 1 BIÈRE ??????? pour quatre personnes !!!!!!!!!!
C'est très bien de vouloir se faire plaisir au restaurant, mais pas au dépend de vos enfants (vous ne leur avez même pas proposé une collation) le plaisir se partage avec eux, et ils ont le droit de connaître diverses cuisines.
Vous vous êtes plaints me disant que c'était un gaspillage de nourriture, les assiettes sont revenues vides !!!!!!!!
Je ne tenais pas à vous expulser comme vous l’avez dit, sinon croyez-moi bien je l'aurai fait. Nous ne vous avons pas forcés à rentrer dans notre établissement et vous n’étiez pas obligés de rester.
Nous ne sommes pas tenus d'accepter des personnes qui ne consomment pas, et surtout les personnes qui demandent une table pour quatre couverts et où tout le monde ne mange pas (ce n'est pas une question d'enfant, il n'y aurait eu que des adultes je vous aurais refusé, et ce n'est parce que nous sommes dans un lieu touristique).
Nous vous souhaitons un agréable séjour, et quand vous allez dans un restaurant n'oubliez pas de demander : Bonsoir, j'aimerai dîner avec mon conjoint, mais nous avons des enfants et ils ne consommeront pas, cela ne vous dérange pas ? Le propriétaire est libre d’accepter ou pas, et que cela vous plaise ou non.
PS : Dieu merci, les enfants ne sont pas restés dans la rue pendant que les parents festoyaient au Champagne, véridique, cela s’est passé il y a peu dans un lieu touristique.
Le nouvel adage à la mode : pensons à nous, les enfants ce n’est pas grave, faisons-nous plaisir il y a toujours un paquet de pâtes pour eux dans un placard…
IL EST FACILE DE DISCREDITER UN RESTAURATEUR OU D’AUTRES PERSONNES, PLUTÔT QUE DE SE REMETTRE EN CAUSE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018

Yes. Le Patio is perfection in all ways - the welcome, the table service, the decor, the food, the wine(s). Its a must to visit for either lunch of evening meal. Thank you Le Patio. A perfect evening.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ourselvesGloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018

It is the third time that we visit this restaurant, once under the old ownership (excellent!) and now twice under the current owners. We came for lunch, and we had studied the menu beforehand over internet. But alas: only the day's menu was available, nothing from the menu card.
The entree was graved laks (salmon) with a scallop and mango chutney (only two small strips of salmon, served in a fancy deep bowl plate with balsamico all over the edge).
For the main course we chose the scallops for my wife (was good) and pot-au-feu (stew) with a chunk of hen meat and some slices of foie gras de canard (duck liver) - somehow the foie gras does not match well with the pot-au-feu.
The interior is nice, many plants that help structuring the small dining room. But no table cloth nor paper sets were in place. The price was much higher than at the previous visit and clearly not commensurate with other fine restaurants in the South of France.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hvf470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Patio also viewed

Aigues-Mortes, Gard
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
 
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
 
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
 

Been to Le Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing